Ratings based on 257 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

House cleaning was very late in the day.

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Cons: Faster maid service, having placards that you can put on the door to please make the room.(In the past all hotels had these, no so much anymore)
Location: Loved Palo Duro Canyon, did the ZIp lines, and the Palo Duro stables were all great. The Texan show was really nice as well.
So we were on the 3rd floor, housekeeping usually came about 3 or 4pm late we would be out of the room all morning and come back in the afternoon and it was still not made. However on the day of checkout the hotel staff were bright and early 0900 knocking on our door to give us our bill. I have been in hotels all over the world (26 years in the US Air Force) and the standard is to slide it under the door. So on the one day I get to sleep in a bit late because we were leaving that day, check out is at 1100, they are knocking on the door at 0900, somebody wakes be up to give me a bill I already paid.
5 out of 5
by Eddy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 24, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and great staff

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: Consistent with what I expected.
Cons: Nothing I saw.
Location: N/A
We were traveling in 2 cars, with our teen-aged grandson. We were following the gps instructions when we came upon a closed route. We couldn't figure out how to proceed until I called the hotel and the front desk employee. She patiently gave us turn by turn instructions while staying on the line with us until we knew the way to proceed. The room was great and breakfast was as expected.
5 out of 5
by Ronnie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 10, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent.

Posted May 1, 2017
Decent. Not amazing. Clean but very basic. We would stay here again but would like something a little nicer next time
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Meh...

Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Hotels
The room was mediocre, some lamps and outlets didn't work. A/C seemed to be on the fritz and the room was hot during the day. There was Hair in the tub. The carpet was old. We ended up coming in really late at night after traveling 8 hours in the car with 3 kids, the lady at the desk was friendly and helpful. The next morning, a different shift, I asked about the possibility of a late check-out and was made to feel like it'd be ok to wait another hour, but really inconvenient if we did. Some of the breakfast food had been sitting out too long.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Nice hotel, good breakfast, close to Palo Duro

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Location: Palo Duro Canyon St park is why you stay here. Their was an excellent restaurant in town named Feldman's- ate their 3 nights in a row.
Nice hotel, good breakfast, close to Palo Duro Canyon State park. Clean rooms, good staff. The hotel lost our reservation from Expedia, so Expedia person had to call and re- email after we arrived. We had added a room the day prior, so we had a place to stay. But we may have been given the same room rate as Expedia if they had it in their (Holiday Inn) system. That was the only complaint.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Place to Stay

Posted Apr 15, 2017 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay in Canyon at the Holiday Inn Express. It was clean, comfortable, and convenient. The breakfast was well stocked with multiple choices.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
The air conditioner didn't work well.
3 out of 5
by Terry

Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Hotels
Comfortable, but air conditioning systemwas not so good. Window/wall unit, inaccurate thermostat.