Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

My 6th visit and looking forward to the next!

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Entire staff was excellent. Supurb hill top ocean view. Beautiful local art throughout the common areas. Good value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Mont Joli has a beautiful view of Cap Haitien

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: The pool and the view are captivating. I love Cap Haitien!
Cons: More access/accomodations to the sites and transporation. Prices are a little high for drinks and/or once you leave to get anywhere or do anything
Location: Cidadelle Wonderful restraunts and clubs...Lakay!
There is rolling electricity so you have to get used to that but it's overall clean and beautiful! The staff is very accommodating. There are no elevators and the rooms are spread out so you have to be willing to walk a bit or if handicapped get a room near ground level.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the money.

Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
1st I wanted to change my reservation because of the election problems going in Haiti, they refused to grant me the change and had me pay an extra day just to change my reservation. Once I arrived, they didn't welcome us with complimentary drinks ( like stated online) - that's was a turn off to me as it is false advertisement. 2nd the first room they had us, the AC wasn't working so they put us in a different room. 3rd one of the bed from the new room had holes. 4th the pool was dirty and was not working. Huge disappointment. 5th for being the most expensive hotel in Haut Cap Haitien, they could have done better with updating the rooms, the bathroom and facility. And have a working swimming pool. 6th the employees were very friendly. 7th I think should get a refund.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Consumer service

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Pros: Location and the mountain view
Cons: The room needs some update. The kitchen manager does not know about consumer service. The service and buffet breakfast need some improvement
Location: You are in the center of the city . Everything is nearby.
I was at the hotel from July 22 to 26, 2016. The hotel is well located. I had a good time!
3 out of 5
by Michael from Colorado

Good option in Cap-Haitien

Posted Jul 16, 2016 on Hotels
Overall Mont Joli was a good place to stay. The hotel is in a relatively quiet and safe location. There was no wifi in my room, but I was at the far end of the hotel. I felt the The dinners were a little pricey for the quality. For dinner I recommend heading to one of the restaurants down by the water. Breakfast was standard fruit, eggs, french toast, and pasta. The AC worked great, and there was hot water for showers. WIFI, hot water, and air conditioning are my top three criteria for any hotel in the Caribbean. One small annoyance was the bed size. The bed frame was too small for the mattress size. This resulted in me hitting the ground every time I tried to sit at the foot of the bed. The view from my room was amazing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Leonade mi amor

Posted Jun 9, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing bar, fantastic food. Great views of the city. Great bar/restaurant service. Very nice decor in the lobby and dining areas, nice pool/ lounge area. Unfriendly front desk/bell boy service. The view from the restaurant took my attention, Leonade took my heart. Her service and smile were captivating. I won't forget her.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Monte joli

Posted Apr 9, 2016
Hotel is located to downtown.and is probably considered nice compared to other hotels in area. Ammenites were ok, rooms could have been cleaner, bathrooms need to be renovated but we're acceptable for area.experienced power outages several times but this was quickly resolved each time. No water once also one morning. Staff was nice and friendly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PauP

Not worth the cost

Posted Apr 7, 2016
The reception staff were not very friendly or help, Everything was run down. I think it was a nice hotel at some point in the past. I only got 1 soap and small 1/2 bottleof shampoo for two days, no phone in the room to even call the desk for assistance, my TV remote never worked even after I took it down for new batteries. The electricity went off a few times so there was no lights in the room. The room only had one light a table lamp that didn't have a switch. The breakfast was good and quick but the diner menu was vary limited. Overall the hotel was not worth anywhere near the price I paid.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 8, 2016
The hotel no good no ATM the bed no good the place is terrible place to recommend to an other friends
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great Views and Friendly Staff

Posted Feb 27, 2016
Pros: The seclusion of it being a little bit away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Also, the amount of privacy that one can get from this location.
Cons: A little bit of updating in the rooms themselves, but please maintain the architectural integrity of the place, because I love it.
Location: There are sports activities areas, beaches, restaurants, markets and architectural sitings.
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Hotel Mont Jolie. The staffs were extremely friendly, they want to please their guests. The hotel itself is a little bit on the dated side; however, that is accounted for part of its history and the beauty of seeing a place like this that has been in existence in Cap-Haitien for such a long time. Mont Jolie is very well located- it is away from the hustle and bustle of the city center. It is a few minutes walk to La Kay, which is a restaurant that I enjoyed every night while I was there. Having the rooms facing the ocean is excellent; the rooms stayed cool for most part and I did not have to use the air conditioner.