Ratings based on 154 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location and atmosphere. Rooms somewhat old.

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: A bit of an "old town" walk not too far from the facility. Restaurant and pub have live entertainment, which sounded interesting but we didn't use.
Staff were excellent. Beautiful location and grounds but our building had old, somewhat tired rooms. Bed was in good shape but was not particularly comfortable, i.e. no pocket coils or top padding.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greenville, ME

Very well used facility.

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Definitely needs some upgrading, i.e. the bathrooms. Also would like a bigger TV screen and a microwave and small frig.
Location: Centrally located for all amenities, especially the Cabot Trail. Baddeck is a quaint fishing village with great shops and many restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saskatoon

Nice resort, beautiful grounds

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros: Relaxing, enjoyed walking the grounds and looking at the flowers, and watching the sunset from the beach.
Cons: The buffet breakfast was pricey for the items offered.
Location: Alexander Graham Bell Museum is the big attraction near this resort. Very interesting.
Very enjoyable time spent in a unique resort. Many different styles of buildings, our block was 2-storey motel style with a verandah across the front. Older fixtures and decor, but everything very clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A old hotel w/a great staff

Posted Sep 30, 2016
The staff of this hotel keeps this old hotel chugging along. Their care and attention is what keeps this hotel booked. The rooms are clean the beds are old and uncomfortable. The bathrooms are clean but in need of new showers and faucets. I wish I could recommend breakfast but the hot food was cold. It was an expensive cup of coffee and yogurt.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta

beautiful setting !

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: you can walk down to the water, the grounds are beautiful..
Cons: the bed was old i believe and needs to be replaced
Location: the lobster spper restaurant is very close and they have a pub on site with entertainment.
beautiful area, the hotel looks awesome overlooking the lake, it was clean and in a nice area. The room was large, but had only one bed ( not king) and the bed was very saggy.. the bedding and the towels were very nice. The bathroom was clean but average looking.. I did not eat in the restaurant we went next door ( walking distance) to the lobster suppers restaurant ( which was very nice and had a view of the water).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nova scotia

Close to shops, water

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff and cleanliness of facility
Cons: Nothing. They seem to handle things well
Location: Close to water, shops, walking trails
Great experience. Enjoyed the location, cleanliness and pub
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from British Columbia

well located in picturesque setting

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: very helpful and friendly staff. Nice location
Cons: update fixtures in bathrooms ,improve lighting ,and flooring
Location: Alexander Graham Bell museum Good stating point for Cabot Trail
Nice location on large property with main office ,common area ,dining room, and pub in main building and several separate outbuildings in various stages of repair .The buildings closer to the water seemed to be a little newer than the ones closer to the road. Our rooms[closer to the road] were clean and comfortable but could use some updating. Ground floor rooms can be noisy depending on the behaviour of your adjoining neighbours. Access to upper suites is gained by exterior stairs, that when used, cause vibration and thumping that can be annoying at 2am in the morning. Sound transfer between floors was also an issue
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Staying in the barn

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: There appeared to be lots of up grade rooms through out the complex, but at a cost!. The TV was smaller then a Mac computer screen
Location: Lots of restaurants in walking distance, so you don't have to stay in the room
We in fact stayed in a barn that was converted into rooms, these were the standard or traditional room that you get when you book with Expedia. The rooms decor was early 50's, nice black and white tiles in the bathroom. No fire sprinkler's and the windows there screwed shut, with only one egress this was a little disconcerting. Not interested in returning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakville, ON

OMG!

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Location: Cabot Trail!
Snagged the one night booking from Expedia knowing little of the hotel. This is a classic summer lodge/resort in Baddeck, Cape Breton. Been there awhile but well-maintained and staff are top notch. The late-night supper at the pub with live music was an unexpected bonus. Really great place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Enjoyed the pub and live entertainment. Room in the Argyll building had a very musty odor.