Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Leigh from Johnson City, TN

Posted Aug 4, 2013 on Hotels
This place is a mediocre, midrate hotel masquerading as an upscale lodge, with neither the quality nor the service to match the prices. It’s perfectly adequate....for maybe $125 a night. My bill was $290, and for that I expected MUCH more. As other guests on this site have noted, the rooms are tired/old/generic/basic. The view is indeed nice, but the room looks like it belongs at a Super 8. Did not match the price. What was even more disappointing than the room, however, was the way the manager Matthew handled our concern. This kid needs a lesson in customer service and has no business managing a hotel that charges these prices. Also, they will nickel and dime you - local calls cost $1/call (I have literally never had to pay for local calls at a hotel in my life), and they want you to pay $15 for the fitness room. And, of course, no breakfast included. In terms of its strengths, there are a few: friendly front desk staff, great view from the room, nice hiking trail, energetic and friendly young man (Liam) to help with our bags, nice toiletries (in an otherwise crummy bathroom). (After I wrote this review, the general manager, to his credit, contacted me and apologized and offered a free night.)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Over priced and in need of repairs.

Posted Jul 29, 2013 on Hotels
The carpet smelled bad and the room interiors are in need of updating. For the premier price, this was a big disappointment.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

cabot trail

Posted Jul 19, 2013
Cons: views
Location: location was great
Had a great stay at the hotel did lots of strolling around went to the beach , hiked the middle head trail nice view over looking the water only thing taught the room was a little pricey
3 out of 5
by Dave from Dartmouth, NS, Canada

Disappointed in Nova Scotian paradise

Posted Jul 18, 2013
Pros: The location and views
Cons: The room/ bed
Location: Amazing like a living post card
The hotel is in a beautiful location with amazing views. The room was disappointing because of the bed(which was worn out)the air conditioner(which was to loud and was covered by the curtains) and the door which lacked proper locks and didn't close easily. Glad I stayed but probably wouldn't stay again. Over priced! Thanks Dave Dartmouth Nova Scotia
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rustikal, traumhafte Lage und sehr gute Küche

Posted Jul 16, 2013
Die Zimmer sind vielleicht nicht die allermodernsten, dafür mit einem romantischen Charme. Die Lage könnte schöner nicht sein und lädt zu purer Entspannung ein.
3 out of 5
by Rachel from Halifax

Location is all..

Posted Jul 15, 2013 on Hotels
The only real hype about Keltic Lodge is the location, which is a real shame. This place has every potential to be absolutely incredible, and with the prices they certainly seem to think they are. Unfortunately, it doesn't seem the rooms have been renovated since the early 80's, and could be likened to 'truck stop motel' style at best. Having said this, I could entertain the thought that the location and scenery is worth the money alone.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Front desk staff.

Posted Jul 13, 2013
Pros: location, the eating/dining facilities, swimming pool
Cons: front desk staff
Location: one of the best in the world
front desk staff not very aware of the whole site and what it had to offer and definitely not familiar with what each type of accommodation had to offer etc. Also made mistakes with respect to our prepaid accommadation through ExPedia etc. Some front desk staff were not hired from local community , which was regrettable , since they knew nothing of the local area etc. Some were even hard to understand due to thick foreign accents.
4 out of 5
by Francine from Montreal, QC

The Inn at the Keltic Lodge

Posted Jun 29, 2013
We stayed at the Inn. The room was comfortable but it necessitate a few upgrades.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Jun 28, 2013
Wonderful experience. Great food, service, and entertainment. Really enjoyed my facial at the spa. Left the hotel feeling totally refreshed.
3 out of 5
by little J from Ontario

expect what you will get from a 2.5 star hotel

Posted Jun 19, 2013 on Hotels
we stayed at the inn. the room is a little old and very basic. the sheets were clean, but not so much the washroom. the washroom wasn't dirty per se but could be better even comparing to some budget hotel. you are paying for the great location , which is awesome . the food options are very limited. you probably have to go to the restaurant in the hotel , which is pricy and the food was average . staff was nice and helpful . given the limited options in the area , i would recommend this hotel. but set your expectations low before you go.