Ratings based on 168 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel hidden away

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Hotel looked very none descriped from the outside but was fresh and clean on the inside. Newly renovated and no carpets which we liked. Staff were very friendly
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Halifax, NS

Good place to start the Cabot Trail!

Posted Aug 14, 2016
The staff are willing to accommodate any needs or issues. It's a country, family friendly inn. The higher end rooms may be worth the price. Great pool!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2016
For the area, the price was good, but the hotel is straight outta the 70's. it needs some updating/maintenance...the deadbolt and coffee maker didn't work, the TV is WAY old school and only got 3 channels (that came and went with the weather) and the beds were becoming tacos. The bedding and other linens were clean and the man at the desk was very nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2016
A lovely, if outdated place to stay. It was not fancy and the mattresses were obviously old but not uncomfortable. Staff were friendly and accommodating. The pool was clean and refreshing. Games room available too. Good local restaurants nearby.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cranky reception at the counter

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Cleanliness. Attitude
Cranky treatment at check in. Didn't get the Kitchenette I reserved. Got a room with one bed and needed a cot. Room was not well cleaned. Cobwebs on TV hutch.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Beautiful location!

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Pros: Location, location, location!
Location: Beaches, restaurants, HIghlands National Park
The Riverview is located in a beautiful part of Cape Breton Island. It sits atop a hill overlooking a verdant valley. While we were worried that we had the one room with no air conditioning, we found the pool very refreshing. Of course, at night it cools off, so we were happy to have the window open and let in the fresh air. A few km away is a picturesque beach and two good restaurants.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Easy to miss, but ok when you find it

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Riverview in is set back from the highway and signage is easy to miss. This is an older property that hasn't changed much since it was built. Vinyl flooring, dated carpet, tiny bathroom. But it seemed clean and our two small dogs were welcome.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dated and poor

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: inexpensive
Location: There is nothing around it such as restaurants.
No AC, entire place was very dated, walls thin, towel was a hand towel IMO. It was cheap and should have spent a few more dollars.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M

location!

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Clean, spacious room in perfect location. Although we had no children with us, it looked like owner has gone out is his way to have some outdoor play things- trampoline etc
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vancouver

In middle of nowhere

Posted Jul 1, 2016
15 minute drive to closest food, we chose to forgo stay and our money and move on to next town Baddeck.