Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from m

Good clean basic hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Very clean room but quite basic. Staff very helpful and friendly. Not all rooms have a view Expensive for what it is Food very good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ontario canada

Beautiful view of lake from dinning room,

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Stayed 3 nights , close to main shopping/ eating area , good location for Cabot trail drive or drive to louisburg Fort
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2015
We felt the room was over priced given the room quality and location. I don't think we'd stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Halifax, NS

Great views of lake Bras D'Or

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Excellent views and a heated pool you can stay until 10 PM. The staff was very helpful and professional. The building is not the newest but it's well maintained and very clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Start of the Cabit Trail

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Pros: Good view. Reasonable food.
Location: On the Cabot Trail and the Bras D'Or Lake Scenic Drive.
This is a pretty big place with different types of accommodations. We experienced old rooms but they were clean and comfortable. We thought our room would be noisey because it had a loud ice machine, a dehumidifier, and entry/exit doors next to it and looked out onto the wing parking lot. Actually, it turned out to be quite quiet. They do take coach parties so make sure you book for dinner if you want to eat in. They have a pool and laundry facilities but the latter costs $3 Canadian to wash 1 load and $1 Canadian to dry.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great location

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: Location and view
Location: Walking distance to baddeck - great restaurants and Alexander Graham Bell museum well worth a visit
Comfortable room, friendly and helpful staff, within walking distance of Baddeck
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newfoundland

Nice accomodations with lots of amenities

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Great location, beautiful grounds. Older hotel but well maintained. Only down side, was given 1 of 2 smoking rooms when I specigically requested non-smoking.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view of the lake.

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: lovely setting on hill overlooking lake.....breathtaking views
Cons: restaurant staff and service.....they were a complete joke.
Location: Baddeck NS......what a great little town.
excellent view of lake, hotel nothing special. More of like a motel in a very nice setting. Overpriced in my opinion for outdated room with no elevator.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Could not ask for more

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Staff, location, food, atmosphere.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Alexander Graham Bell Museum a must. Sail on the lake. Simply walk around the town - helps you chill out,
Very friendly and helpful staff. We had one night at the lodge and the staff ( Anne) helped plan our visit to make best use of our time. The staff also put on entertainment in the evening which introduced my wife and I to the Island. Well done Kendall - Very helpful. The room had everything we needed and the food was delicious. Ask for a room facing the lake, it costs a bit more but its worth it to sit in the evening and simply take in the ambience. Great place to stop over.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burlington

Hotel on the Cabot Trail

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Location and view of the lake
Cons: Dinner reservation was handled poorly.
Location: Conveniently located on the Cabot Trail with lots of opportunities for outdoor activities at the hotel.
Had a comfortable stay in the room but had to wait 45 minutes for our reserved table and then felt rushed by the restaurant staff to finish the dinner so that they could close.