Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

1.9 out of 5
19% of guests recommend
2.4 Room cleanliness
2.6 Service & staff
2.3 Room comfort
1.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NS

Horrendous

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: View
Cons: Shut down
Location: Plenty
Horrendous horrendous horrendous horrendous horrendous.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not What it Used to Be

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: Nothing much.
Cons: Everything.
Location: The building sits on the Strait of Canso so there is a pretty view of the water.
Travelers should beware that this facility has changed dramatically over time. What once was a nice, comfortable place to stay and a great place for a meal is none of that now. New owners have shut down the restaurant though "breakfast included" is advertised on Expedia's site. While this was lower priced than competition down the street, it was still priced too high. Locals told us that the owners have bought the property (and one diagonally up the street which they have closed entirely) with hope that the Government will buy them to make way for a highway going through. The exterior is showing wear - paint is peeling from the sides of the building, the parking lot is in poor repair and as I mentioned there is no restaurant. And, when I booked on Expedia, the price per night was $89. The night before I left for the trip, it had dropped to $53/night. The owner charged us the $89/night and made us pay for the three nights in advance. Do not believe there are only two rooms left - the motel is empty of travelers.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Water Valley AB

Ok hotel for the money

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Price and close to Canso Causeway
Cons: Looking a bit old
Location: Port Hawksbiry and Cape Breton Island
Stayed a night, the room was clean and everything worked. Bed was comfortable and there was a nice view from the breakfast room in the morning
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2016
smelly room. This room seem to have not been using for a long time.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old rundown hotel

Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
Just needed a place to lay our heads after the Meghan Trainor concert- only hotel I could get! Smelled musty... probably their best night in years. It was old, dirty, (hair all over bathroom floor and in one bed upon arrival). Old dried up leaves on carpeting. Never saw free breakfast- felt like they could not get rid of us quickly enough and we felt it a wiser decision to eat at the Irving across the causeway anyway.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nobody there

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: As campers, we were happy to be warm & dry, out of the rainstorm.
They saw us drive in and turned on the lights. Receptionist was wearing a mans white t-shirt, over large. Sour odor in room, either the old carpet or the old sofa bed. One set of towels in bathroom, very thin.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ottawa, on.

older hotel, not well maintain,

Posted Aug 27, 2016
continental bk. orange juice (water with color and sugar) thumb down
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sherbrooke QC

Good location

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Very nice view of causeway and a good launching pad for cape breton. Would not spend anymore than one night as limited facilities. Breakfast was not very good either. Staff is nice and cordial
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
The carpet in our room has a very unpleasant odour. Continental breakfast wasn't much more than tea/coffee.