Ratings based on 381 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FL

NOT as advertised .. see below ... says it all

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Pros: The name and ad
Cons: Honesty in advertising. --- Cleanliness and comfort of room is unknown to me; had to click something there. We left before that point.
Location: Location was good; centrally located in a seemingly nice neighborhood.
Customer: I feel I should be issued a refund for this reservation .. your listing is highly misleading. This is certainly no "waterfront resort". After arriving and seeing the place in person, we left and found a more suitable accommodation. Maybe a fine establishment;but definitely not as advertised. Response: Sir, did you go behind the resort? We are on the widest canal in Cape Coral which is pictured in all of our ads and is in no way an attempt to mislead anybody. A resort is a hotel with amenities such as our fishing rods, propane grill, bicycles, hammock, tiki huts, etc. This may not be a stereotypical resort but we go to great lengths to describe and picture what we offer so that people aren't confused. I am sorry that something was misunderstood in any of our ads, if you could tell me what exactly threw you off we can have it changed to better describe the hotel for the next guest. Thank you, Kyle Customer: Canal is waterfront now? Guess the ditch in front of my house makes it waterfront too? Fishing rods turn it into a "resort" - hey, I'm already there I have my own fishing rods too. As you stated this is not the "stereotypical resort" ... meaning you know what someone thinks when you say resort ... yet you try to redefine the term for your advertising purposes. As I said, highly misleading; and with your statement its now clearly intentional. Anyone see a picture of a canal in this listing? I'm sure they'll add one real quick. Actually, veryfew pix in listing
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

"Motel" would be a more appropriate name

Posted Aug 23, 2017
I didn't expect much for the price which was fair, but this is actually a motel not a resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Kyle, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. I would like to take a moment to tell you about the amenities we offer, which is the defining difference between a motel and a resort. We have a heated pool, a 2500 sqft deck that goes over the canal with propane barbecue, hammock, laundry facilities, cornhole, bicycles and fishing rods. A motel is strictly where you sleep. We look forward to your next stay and assisting with use of any of our many amenities.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Certainly not a 4 star!

Posted Aug 17, 2017
the room and bed smelled of smoke, floors were filthy, the shower head would spray outside of the shower and soak the tolette and the rest of the tiny bathe room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Kyle, Hotel Management
Please take the time to mention any problem you have while on site, we have many rooms available if the previous guests were smokers or there's a maintenance item needing attention. We look forward to your return so that we can show you a great stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bridgeport, West Virginia

A nice motel in a quiet neighborhood

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Everyone was freindly ready to help. A clean room which they kept supplied the whole stay. Swimming pool, nice deck on the canal, barbecuing. Could even fish.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by Kyle, Hotel Management
Bob, Thank you for taking the time to give us this nice review, we survive with great reviews from fantastic guests as yourself. We look forward to your next stay!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pay extra and stay somewhere else

Posted Jul 20, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel cleaner left the room dirty everytime she came to clean. She would come make up the bed , give me new towels and replace toilet paper. There were remnants of food left under the microwave movable table since I got into the room. I waited 15 minutes after check in on the rain because there was no one in the office.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review, we will address this situation directly. Kyle Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2017
We were hoping to kayak but were told there no longer kayaks available due to poor guest behavior-bummer!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by Kyle, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for the review! We miss our kayaks, its unfortunate when the actions of a few ruin it for the rest of us. We look forward to your next visit!
3 out of 5
by Glenda from N.Y.

hot water heater unmaintained causing flooding

Posted Jul 11, 2017 on Hotels
Nice except for the flooding. I would of been happier if I would of been accommodated with a free night or a discount.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017
Glenda, We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! When the water heater above you failed, as they do about every 10-15 years regardless of maintenance, we offered a complimentary double upgrade to the Guest Suite for the remaining three days of your stay. What room you stay in is something that I can address, the amount of money you pay to hotels.com is not. I offered all I could, which was about a $140 value. Thank you for your review, Kyle
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oviedo Florida

!!! Amazing Value !!!

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: The beautiful balcony over the canal was an easy favourite spot for everyone in our group (5) to hang out have a private conversation or just relax.
Cons: I was completely happy with the stay I experienced, all I have to say is keep up the good work!
Location: We only stayed for two nights and for a specific event but the famous Fort Myers was only 15 minutes away... and what doesn't that city have to do?
This place is small yet beautiful! Very relaxing and perfect for a weekend get away. I can't believe how big the suite was and all the amenities for the price! We did use the grill for barbequing chicken. The grill was clean and all ready whenever you needed it. The hotel staff is what impressed me the most. Hard working and VERY kind and welcoming, they seem to really enjoy their job. Thank you to Naydu (the hotel maid) for always having a smile and being so welcoming. We immediately felt at home.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by Kyle, Hotel Management
Jordan, Thank you for such a great review! It gives us pride to see these great reviews that let us know our effort is appreciated. See you next time!
3 out of 5
by William

Should stay 'hidden'

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel is older and there have been some low cost renovations. Not a resort by any stretch of the imagination. It was apparently built prior to central HVAC and have window units now or an in room unit in our case. It was not doing much to cool down the room. The bed was very firm, but not quite hard. The dresser was in disrepair. And they charge $15 if they have to wash your dishes. This visit served it's purpose, we needed a cheap place to sleep. It was just that. If you want anything more, I recommend going somewhere else.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017
William, Thank you for you comments. In regard to central HVAC we have central HVAC in about half of the units now. I apologize that the dresser wasn't in perfect condition. We do try to keep up with our rooms as customers leave and at times guest don't mention that something in the room is in disrepair. We here at the Hideaway will talk about the possibility of removing the verbiage about $15,00 fee. Thank you
3 out of 5
by Debra

Nice area--But hotel is dated...

Posted Jun 10, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel wasn't all that bad...but the furnishings are dated---and the sleep sofa was not in very good shape. The recliner was also broken...but for the price, what did you expect?
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017
Debra, Thank you for your comments. We have recently purchased 3 new sleep sofas and I'm sorry that you had one that hadn't been update yet. We hope that you do come back and stay with us again. We try to listen and make improvements according to what we here from our guests. Thank you for taking the time to comment!