Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2017
A short visit but a nice experience with some spa treatments and beautiful grounds to walk despite the chilly spring temperatures
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oneonta, NY

A winter get-a-way

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: Bed was comfortable. Clean. Ocean view.
Cons: Construction could of started later . New Bungalows on premises.
Location: Lighthouses, state parks, Portland and countless restaurants and activities to do.
The Inn By the Sea was a beautiful, quiet, quaint Inn that gave us a wonderful two night stay. Beautifully situated out looking the sea. Wonderful food at Sea Glass. Fresh baked cookies after housekeeping services.Close to Portland and many attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Marco Island, FL

Elegant hotel, great views, wonderful food.

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: My suite was warm, comfortable, clean and stocked with neat additional amenities like binoculars and an umbrella.
I chose this hotel for its proximity to the church I would be attending for a funeral. Upon hearing of my circumstances the staff was so supportive and helpful. The elegant warm décor of the rooms and common areas was very soothing and the ocean views from the rooms are spectacular. The restaurant and bar were top notch as well. I will go out of my way to stay here again rather than closer to the airport on future visits.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Buzzi- Thank you for this great review- we are so pleased you enjoyed your accommodation, found the decor elegant and particularly that you found the staff was supportive and helpful We are pleased you hope to visit again and look forward to your return! Warm wishes- Michael Briggs, General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 4, 2016 on Hotels
Staff very friendly and helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Inn. No complaints whatsoever.

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Location: On coast. Lighthouse view. Great beach.
Two floor room with upstairs loft bedroom/bath. Best bed and linens. On site restaurant is wonderful. Also recommend the blueberry martini! Fresh Maine blueberry puree in the martini.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth it

Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Hotels
Not worth the money. Very uncomfortable bed. Pretentious food that was overpriced and badly concrptualized. Service was very good though. However, will not return.
5 out of 5
by Daniel from Grand Rapids, MI

Summer in Maine

Posted Jun 26, 2016 on Hotels
We arrived at Inn by the Sea for the last couple of days of our Maine vacation. The inn is beautiful, though not as close to the water as we anticipated (it's probably 1/4-1/2 mile walk over well maintained Boardwalk). That said, the grounds were very pretty and well maintained. The rooms were very large and also well maintained. We had dinner one night at Sea Glass, and enjoyed it (it's quite small inside, but outdoor seating is nice). Food was good, as was the service. Overall, we'd stay here again.
5 out of 5
by Naly

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 14, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Tugdual from Paris

Fantastic hotel in the Portland area

Posted May 8, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel staff immediately made us feel at home. Highly personalized welcome. Very cosy and friendly atmosphere. Room had a fireplace and gorgeous ocean view. Very large bathroom.