Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Sorry.

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Pros: The owner.
Cons: Invest in quality toilet paper. Check on maintenance of rooms
Location: Captain Meys was walkable to almost everything during the 2017 Jazz Festival. It is near the Washington Mall, restaurants and the beach.
The location was excellent, right in the middle of town. Also, the hotel owner was very friendly, but to be honest the experience felt a little depressing. It almost had a boarding house quality to it. You could hear people talking clearly from the room next door. They no longer serve breakfast and our room was a bit dusty, wall paper was coming loose and our shade kept breaking. There was a tiny television balancing awkwardly on the edge of the dressing table. Also, the toilet paper was the texture of newspaper. I appreciated the heat coming on in the evening, since it was super cold outside, but eventually the room became sweltering hot. I have stayed at the Captain Mey's before and had an excellent experience. I am hoping this most recent experience was an anomaly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Close to tourist shops and Beachfront

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: It fit right in with all the other historic homes.
Cons: There was no staff on site. Had I been informed prior to arriving with instructions on the itinerary, it would not have been a surprise.
I enjoyed sitting on the porch. The plants provided privacy from tourists walking by, The center of town one can cover in a day. The guide at the old train station was very enthusiastic about the history of Cape May, he made our day. If you are looking for peace, like any other attraction, stay away from the bigger hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from West Chester, PA

Lovely Victorian, a genuine Cape May experience

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Captain Mey's is a classic old Victorian home right in the center of the historical district, one block from Washington St Mall, two blocks from the beach. We stayed in the Peter Stuyvesant room, with a bathroom attached, and an air-conditioner in the window. Keep in mind that these are not hotel rooms, so they are a bit small, but quite lovely. The decor of the entire home is beautiful. Coffee,Tea, water available, and a mini-frig. We mostly stayed to ourselves, aware of other guests but not interactive. Didn't see any staff, but were aware of their activity when we weren't around. We've stayed in several different Cape May locations, would definitely come back to Captain Mey's Inn.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from norton, ma

Great location!

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: Location! Atmosphere and character.
Cons: A larger refrigerator, a microwave, and a working ice machine. Also new sheets!
Location: We walked or ran on the Promenade every day along the beach, went to restaurants overlooking the ocean, a free concert at Congress Hall.
I loved the location within walking distance to shops, restaurants and beaches! We enjoyed hanging out on the wrap around front porch. The negatives: the wifi stopped working when we checked in and no one was around to talk to. The sheets were very old---the elastic was worn out do we had to keep adjusting them. The pillows and chair cushions were old on the porch furniture. The place would be great if this stuff was updated. The bathroom was small. A hook on the bathroom door would have helped with the lack of space. Lastly, parking was a huge problem. There was one space available when we came back but a van was parked along the side and we couldn't maneuver with our truck. Every time we parked, it took us multiple times of backing up and turning. I would absolutely give the place 4 out of 5 stars! A few minor things could help improve the place. I would also have enjoyed muffins with my coffee! The cleaning staff was terrific. We would definitely return! I can overlook what the place lacked for the location!
5 out of 5
by Amanda

First Time B&B Guest

Posted Sep 8, 2017 on Hotels
I have vacationed to Cape May, NJ for over 20 years and this was one of the best trips yet. The owner was very friendly upon arrival and even though our room wasn't ready we were able to park in their small lot, their lot is very small, I would recommend taking a car that can get in and out of tight spaces easily. The room was decent size with a small bathroom but we came for the beach, not to stay in a luxury hotel room. We had clean sheets, towels, and everything was very clean. One thing that was a let down, it's no longer serves breakfast but advertises as a B&B. Either stop at Wawa on your way in or get breakfast on the island. It's in a great location to the beach and the Washington St. mall so everything is close by! One perk that hasn't been mentioned -- they provide beach towels and chairs during your stay. We borrowed some chairs on our last day and they were perfect! It was a great stay and it eased my worries of not staying at a hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bucks County PA

conveniently located with onsite parking

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: near the beach, convenient to "downtown" and on-site parking
Cons: on site management.
Location: see above
Called a bed and breakfast, including the sign outside. No breakfast provided or anything else beyond a coffee maker. The best option provided is onsite parking. No staff onsite. Keypad to open the front door is mechanical and difficult to both see and operate. Basically operated as a "automated"property. The parking lot is difficult to navigate and un-managed so occasionally more cars onsite than the lot could properly handle and park.
3 out of 5
by Michael

Not a B&B. Just OK.

Posted Aug 9, 2017 on Hotels
The building itself is nice and old. Interesting. Great location. It's not a B&B though, it's just a self service Inn. I guess to be fair, they don't advertise it as a B&B anymore, but Hotels.com does. It also still charges as if it were a B&B. We didn't know this until we arrived and the lack of service and breakfast really makes it lose the charm. The window unit A/C was incredibly loud, as in woke us up repeatedly throughout the night when it turned on. The extra bed for a child was not great.
4 out of 5
by Michael

Posted Jul 12, 2017 on Hotels
The room was nicely decorated and very clean. I would probably book one of the larger rooms upon any next visit. William the Silent's room was a bit too small - only one chair for sitting and the bathroom did not have any counter space for personal items.
2 out of 5
by Richard

Hungry Mornings

Posted Jul 9, 2017 on Hotels
Hotels.com advertised as a bed & breakfast, after arriving the owner said they are no longer a B&B, they are an inn, no breakfast served
3 out of 5
by Patrick

Poor Service/Cleanliness

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
When we arrived, we were greeted by the very friendly owner who showed us the Kuerig machine and led us to our room. I did not know that this Bed & Breakfast did not come with any sort of breakfast at all, which was disappointing. I thought all B&Bs were supposed to come with at least muffins or something in the morning. But, there was free Kuerigs all day. It all seemed great, until we came back after a few hours at the beach around 6PM to find that our sheets smelled SO bad. It was difficult to describe... but if you've ever accidentally left something in the wash too long and it begins to grow mold -- that's what it smelled like. That mixed with BO. We phoned the owner who said she was available should we have any questions to see if we could get some new sheets. She informed us that she could not until the next day. We were only there two days. They were so bad we couldn't even sleep on or near them. We slept on top of the bed with a blanket we found in the closet. The next day they changed the sheets and they still really smelled. We wound up doing the same thing again. I'm not sure if their washing machine or dryer was not working well or something. Other than checking in, we never saw any staff and did not even know how to check out, so we just left a key on the desk. Very odd experience from a B&B, and $250/night seems like a lot of money to spend on such poor service and cleanliness. The good: the wrap around porch is very nice and it's in a wonderful location.