Ratings based on 199 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great family hotel close to beach

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Pull out couches are not comfortable. Bathrooms are small.
Cons: Pull out couches should be upgraded.
Location: The hotel is on the quieter end of the boardwalk. The access to the Rusty Nail (restaurant) is great for casual indoor and outdoor meals.
We come back to the Beach Shack every year with our large family. Although the rooms are not that deluxe and the pull out couches are old and uncomfortable, you can't beat the location, service and access to the Rusty Nail (restaurant). The beach attendants are helpful and attentive. Check in is easy and smooth. Parking is good and the attendants are helpful. The rooms are a bit old and in need of renovation, but as beach hotels go, the hotel is clean and decent. And, despite it always being fully, the rooms are quiet and the guests are respectful of each other.
4 out of 5
by Pamela from Upstate NY

Off season beach vacation

Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Hotels
The price was right, even if the weather didn't totally cooperate (off-shore low created by the hurricane made it blustery & cool which we weren't expecting in early October). But that gave the surfers some good waves and that plus the red sunsets through the clouds gave me lots of great photos. Wish the Rusty Nail would have had music a little later in the evening. And the parking lot could really use some lights at night. Otherwise a good deal and close to everything.
5 out of 5
by Sally from Massachusetts

Posted Oct 15, 2015 on Hotels
After 18 years since visiting Cape May, I was surprised how much I adored this place, thinking I really should be returning to one of the Victorians. Couldn't have been more wrong! The location was perfect, the room well appointed, and the staff was so very welcoming, gracious and accommodating. My family and I already have hopes to return in September 2016.
4 out of 5
by Darlene from Melbourne

My Stay at Beach Shack

Posted Oct 14, 2015 on Hotels
Room was comfy and had everything you needed for an extended stay. Was nice to have dishware available. The coffee in the room was not that great though; terribly weak. We had ants in the room in the morning. Still overall a good stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 5, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 20, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Amy from Havertown

Short beach trip

Posted Sep 5, 2015 on Hotels
The room was expensive and run down. That being said the pool was great, the location was great and the beach was amazing. I would stay there again, just know you're staying in a tourist trap and you'll spend a lot of unnecessary money.
5 out of 5
by Susan from West Chester

Family Fun at the Shack

Posted Jun 18, 2015 on Hotels
What a fun place! We took a family vacation over a holiday weekend and chose the Beach Shack based upon its reviews, dog friendliness, and facilities. We were not disappointed. The staff tried very hard to accommodate our every request, the pool was delightful and heated, and the facilities were very family friendly. A giant sandbox, on site restaurant, fire pit and plenty of chairs for lounging added to the fun. Families were everywhere having a great time. They even set up your lounge chair on the beach! We thoroughly enjoyed our family weekend and everyone agreed we would be back!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

great location and close to the beach

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: great location
the hotel is decently clean with bright colors at the outside, pool and the bar area. hotel room is not modern and updated but at least its clean. love the location and the beach is right across the road with bench and shades service. live music by the bar area beginning at evening time, its a little loud but its very nice to get a drink and sit down by the fire. Overall experience is good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Jun 7, 2015
Had a great stay, very spacious room, and great surroundings.