Ratings based on 211 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Very enjoyable stay. Location is excellent! Very clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lexington, MA

Live music very loud

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: A cute mid-century style motel, right on the beach.
Cons: The music at Rusty Nail should be monitored and kept at a reasonable level
The live music played at the associated restaurant, The Rusty Nail, was entirely too loud. In fact, I believe that it may have exceeded the laws governing legal decibels. There was no getting away from in (in our room) for the four hours that the music played non-stop. Under no circumstances will we consider staying at this hotel again. Which is a shame because the rest of the hotel is very adequate.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good alternative to overpriced cape may hotels

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Nice place convenient to everything. Room was nice. Bathroom needed to be updated but overall great place
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milnesville, PA

Perfect location..relaxed atmosphere.

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: The free beach chairs, towels and umbrellas!! Great pool and location is perfect. Safe area to explore. Safe to go out after dark.
Cons: The rooms are standard fare..nothing great. Bathrooms are a little cramped. No exhaust fan in bathrooms, but window does open. No other complaints.
Location: Ocean right acrosst the St. Shops and stores nearby. The whole area is very safe and clean. No "bad neighborhoods" to avoid..lol. Nice restaurants..
Stayed for a week in late summer with my girlfriend..still had great weather..hotel is close to everything..beach right acrosst the St. You can easily walk to the historic areas of Cape May where all the little shops and stores are, as well as old Victorian homes and mansions. Hotel staff will set up beach chairs and umbrellas on beach for you free of charge! Trolley tours to see supposed "ghosts"..lol. Lots of good restaurants and things to see and do. Great view of sunset at the end of the beach. Lighthouse nearby that you can tour. Be sure to check out "sunset beach". The "Rusty nail" restaurant/bar is right on hotel property..they even have a fire-pit and live music! The whole vibe is very relaxed..no crazy college kids partying or carrying on..lol. Perfect for folks over 30 looking for a nice quiet vacation. Not much in the area for kids to do, so something to consider if you're bringing the family.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Hotel room could be updated. Suggestion to owner offer a gluten free menu for celiac patrons.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Great place to stay location and the staff were awesome will go again soon
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from phila

Great location with umbrella and cabana service

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Renovated rooms recently, very clean, nice patio fire pit area with entertainment and indoor club
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great family hotel close to beach

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Pull out couches are not comfortable. Bathrooms are small.
Cons: Pull out couches should be upgraded.
Location: The hotel is on the quieter end of the boardwalk. The access to the Rusty Nail (restaurant) is great for casual indoor and outdoor meals.
We come back to the Beach Shack every year with our large family. Although the rooms are not that deluxe and the pull out couches are old and uncomfortable, you can't beat the location, service and access to the Rusty Nail (restaurant). The beach attendants are helpful and attentive. Check in is easy and smooth. Parking is good and the attendants are helpful. The rooms are a bit old and in need of renovation, but as beach hotels go, the hotel is clean and decent. And, despite it always being fully, the rooms are quiet and the guests are respectful of each other.
5 out of 5
by Amanda from Northfield

Great little getaway

Posted May 26, 2016 on Hotels
Great little getaway for our anniversary. Definitely will go here again if the price is right!
5 out of 5
by Bridget from Philadelphia

Cape may wedding

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
Booked this hotel a few days before a friend's wedding in cape may. The staff were friendly and checkin check out was super easy. The deluxe room was a perfect size for four adults. The property is in a great location across from beach. We really liked the outdoor space at the Rusty Nail! I would recommend this property and I would stay here again.