Featured Image

Reviews of Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel

5 out of 5
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
31 Francolin Rd, Camps Bay, Cape Town, Western Cape

Overall score and ratings

4.6

Wonderful

Rating 5 - Excellent. 70 out of 88 reviews
5 - Excellent 80%
Rating 4 - Good. 9 out of 88 reviews
4 - Good 10%
Rating 3 - Okay. 4 out of 88 reviews
3 - Okay 5%
Rating 2 - Poor. 3 out of 88 reviews
2 - Poor 3%
Rating 1 - Terrible. 2 out of 88 reviews
1 - Terrible 2%

4.8/5

Cleanliness

4.8/5

Staff & service

4.1/5

Amenities

4.6/5

Property conditions & facilities

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Absolutely fantastic
Absolutely fantastic. Wonderful view of the mountains. The room had a private sun deck with an outdoor dining area. Staff were fantastic.
Stayed 3 nights in May 2021
Response from Greg on May 25, 2021
Hi Osagie, Thank you for joining us last week and for taking the time to write a review. It was a pleasure to have you stay. Yes we have only one mountain view room and the view is sensational. You can even see the Table Mtn cable car from there. The rest of our rooms and suites are all ocean view. We hope you will join us again and try one of those next time. Take care of yourselves and travel safely. Warm regards, Greg and The Atlanticview Team

2/5 Poor

Liked: Cleanliness
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Disappointed
There was no toilet paper on arrival. Our mini bar was not stocked. The site said we’ll have Netflix but no Netflix. The chef wasn’t there to cook. The hot breakfast was of low quality.
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2021
Response from Greg Owner on Apr 27, 2021
Dear Zoe and girlfriend, Thank you for staying with us for 1 night (19 hours to be exact) last weekend. You enjoyed a last minute special and reserved our ocean view Room/mini-suite 3 at a rate of R2250. or $155 USD. Thats about 50% off our rack rate and clearly not high enough to keep riff riff out. The kitchen is closed from 16:00-18:00 every day to prep for dinner. The chef was in as he even said hello to you in reception. Housekeeping was not finished detailing the room when you arrived and finished off what they had to do within minutes of your arrival and you complained? Publicly? We are taking longer to make up rooms as more cleaning and sanitizing is necessary. Minibars are cleared out as per the South African health authority rules after every stay. The mini bar contents is removed, sanitized and only restocked after the fridge has been sanitized as well. The process takes time. All of our luxury rooms and suites have South Africa's DSTV which in my opinion as an American, one of the best satellite services globally that I have ever seen. Our Master Bedroom and larger luxury suites have Netflix as well as breathtaking panoramic views. The suites have kitchenettes. The less expensive rooms which you chose do not. You slept on a super king Tempur-Pedic mattress which is the ultimate in sleeping comfort together with custom made 100% 400 ct percale bed linens. After carefully checking with our team you didnt complain about toilet roll or minibar stock nor breakfast which apparently you enjoyed and finished. You had one of our beautiful signature breakfast trays to start and ordered hot breakfast afterward. You consumed all of it and never complained nor commented. In your review you didnt specify what was wrong just complained. Without constructive feed back and detail how are we to improve what we do? This was not helpful to us or readers. The two of you consumed R1200 ($85) worth of Jack Daniels so would have been hung over at breakfast. My team confirmed. During turndown you left strap ons and other toys on the bed and bedside tables for my young staff to see. They were shocked. Clearly no respect for others. You were rude and abrupt to some of my team for no reason. We all think you both should sober up and find some self respect along the way. You are not welcome back and do not belong on our establishment. Travel safely bu don't come back here!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
One of the most Amazing Places Ever. The owner were the Best and very accommodating.
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2019
Response from Greg on Apr 8, 2021
Dear GH, Thank you so much for staying with us earlier this month and for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate it and are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. Please do come back and join us again some time very soon. Warm regards. Greg and the Atlanticview Team

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
excellent
I had an amazing stay i will definitely recommend this
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2020
Response from Greg on Sep 22, 2020
Hello Nonhlanhla, Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time for your review. We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you can return sometime soon! Warm regards, Greg and the Atlanticview Team

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Wonderful place to stay with all the beauty in the hotel and views. I'd stay here again if I return to South Africa. Every area was plus plus plus.
Stayed 3 nights in Mar 2020
Response from Greg on Mar 18, 2020
Hello Connie, Thank you so much for your lovely review and for staying with us. We are delighted to hear your enjoyed yourselves. Please doo come back and visit us again soon! Warm regards, Greg and The Atlanticview Team

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Excellent proposer. We will be back. Very accommodating staff!
Stayed 3 nights in Nov 2019
Response from Greg on Dec 5, 2019
Hi Todd! Thank you so much for staying with us. I hope you can join us again soon! You are always welcome. Warm regards and safe travels, Greg and the Atlanticview Team

1/5 Terrible

Disliked: Staff & service
Stayed 1 night in Nov 2019
Response from greg on Nov 27, 2019
Dear Timy Hakim, You walked out without paying your bill and refused to leave at check out time. You inconvenienced one of our arrival guests by leaving your room 3 hours late. Your childish and hysterical display at our reception desk was recorded and we reported you to the police for theft and damage to our room. You are not welcome back in this establishment nor are your dubious friends who have also been recorded.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 7 nights in Oct 2019
Response from Greg on Nov 7, 2019
Thank you for staying with us. So glad you enjoyed it. Come back to visit us again soon! Warm regards and safe travels, Greg and the Atlanticview Team

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2019
Response from greg on Oct 19, 2019
Thank you for staying wit us recently and for taking the time for your positive feedback. Do come back and visit us soon. Warm regards, Greg and the Atlanticview Team

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Wonderful stay
We had a wonderful time here - nothing was too much trouble for the staff and, although there was some renovation work going on it didn’t spoil our visit at all. The views are spectacular and a short drive down into Camps Bay (at a very reasonable cost in the hotel car) gives you plenty of excellent dining options. Can’t recommend this place highly enough (although I’d rather keep it quiet!!)
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2019

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Really good hotel, very nice and clean rooms, attentive and friendly staff. Flawless service, definitely recommended.
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2019
Response from Greg on Oct 8, 2019
Hello Vito! Thank you so. much for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. It was a pleasure meeting you both and having you join us for a few days. Take good care of each other and don't forget to have fun! Warm regards and safe travels, Greg and The Atlanticview Team

5/5 Excellent

Business traveler, Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Lovely friendly staff, amazing views, the hotel faultless.
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2019
Response from Greg on Oct 7, 2019
Hello! Thank you so much for staying with us taking the time to write a review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves so much. Please do come and visit us again soon! Warm regards and safe travels, Greg and the Atlanticview Team

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2019
Response from Greg on Sep 29, 2019
Hello and thank you for staying with us. Happy to know you enjoyed your visit. Please come back again soon. Warm regards, Greg and The Atlanticview Team!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
It was a small hotel so there was a high level of individual attention to each guest. Not too intrusive but just the right level of service.
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2019
Response from Greg on Sep 15, 2019
Dear Guests, Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to end through your review. We appreciate it. We hope you liked all the new features to our rooms and pools also. Please come back and visit us very soon. Warm regards, Greg and The Atlanticview Team

2/5 Poor

Traveled with partner
Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Amenities, property conditions & facilities
Upon checking in they told us there are renovation works going on and we could get a full refund and get a room elsewhere. Really, on such a short notice? The owner could have informed us about the renovation works going on when he sent us an email asking what time will our arrival be. There were renovation noise, dust and workers walking around right outside our terrace during our 3 days 2 nights stay. Sound proofing doesn’t exist. Could hear other guests’ kids running about and shouting at night. When we got back from sightseeing on the 2nd day there were renovation dust in our bathroom basins and all over our toiletries. No apologies and the staff even asked why we chose to stay there even when we were aware of the renovation works. It’s terribly disappointing. The food offering was mediocre and quantity was pathetic. For the price we paid (for the most expensive suite, the best they claimed) we could have gotten somewhere much much better than this place. Owner just wants to make money and couldn’t care less about their guest experience. Never coming back again and highly wouldn’t recommend anyone to stay here. Guess the people who left raving reviews about this place probably hadn’t seen better.
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2019
Response from Greg on Sep 11, 2019
Hello, We regret you say you had this experience however we do not allow children into the property so you must have mixed us up with some other property you stayed. I was in the suite next to you and because some of our restorative work is a little behind we offered you a choice if you wished to stay or have a full refund and we find you alternative accommodation so that you wouldn't be possibly disturbed. Your reply which we have on camera said oh its okay we won't be around much anyway and will only be sleeping here. That was the case as you were out each of the two days you stayed. The workers were held off until you left each day so that you wouldn't have been disturbed. We do care about out guests clearly. We had a severe gale force wind one of the two nights you stayed and you left your bathroom window open which is why dust blew in. This sort of wind which Cape Town is known for shoes upset tourists and spoils their holiday. This is beyond our control. There were 110kph gusts. When informed my management team did apologise and cleaned up the dust for you almost immediately. No one asked you the question why did you stay here. You have over dramatized the open window scenario and you opened it yourself in gale force winds. What did you expect? You only enjoyed our complimentary breakfast which most guests say is far too much to consume. That is just the starter tray that is delivered to your suite. You two ladies are quite petite and you could have asked for anything you liked or more and my team would have brought it for you. I understand you two young ladies saw a wedding planner during your visit and all of us at Atlanticview wish you both much future happiness inspire of your untruthful review.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Great place will definitely go back in Summer
Amazing
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2019
Response from Greg on Jul 16, 2019
Hi Musa! Thank you for your review and for staying with us. It was a pleasure to have you join us for a few days and we would be delighted to have you come back and join us again. Warm regards, Greg and the Atlanticview Team

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2019
Response from Greg on Jul 16, 2019
Hi Jan, Thank you for staying with us. Did you try our new warm pool? Its 27c all year round! We hope you can join us again soon. Warm regards, Greg and The Atlanticview Team

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 2 nights in May 2019
Response from Greg on Jun 2, 2019
Hello Chris, Thank you so much for staying with us recently and for taking the time to review us. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed everything during your visit. Please do come back and visit us soon! Warm regards, Greg and The Atlanticview Team

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Fantastic luxery boutique hotel in Camps Bay
A really nice place. Everything is superb about this place. Service, ambiance, food, location. Views are spectacular. Car service into Camps Bay and from/to the airport is very convenient as well. Highly recommend it. Only thing I can think of improving on is the music that is played throughout the place … the 'elevator' music might be ok for a retirement home or for, well, an elevator, but not for a place like Atlanticview. A more contemporary, hip, music choice would be much better.
Stayed 1 night in May 2019
Response from Greg on May 30, 2019
Hello Peter, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time for writing a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come back soon. The classical music during the day is probably what you were referring to. Its background music and we chose this rather than the same electronic music you hear in every restaurant in Cape Town. We are updating the background music system in the next few months and will be making changes to the programming. You are welcome to contact me directly with any input we should consider as we are always open minded when it comes to guests suggestions. Do come back and visit us again soon. Warm regards, Greg and the Atlanticview Team

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Awesome place, view.
I love this place. The staff is awesome and friendly and the rooms are so cozy. The food was great and home-y. The scenery is beautiful and the sound of the waves is very relaxing. I highly recommend it and will be staying here again.
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2019
Response from Greg on Apr 15, 2019
Hi Rebecca! Thank you for your lovely review. You were a wonderful guest and we enjoyed your company also. Thank you for staying not once but twice with us. Safe travels and do come back soon! Warm regards, Greg and The Atlanticview Team

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Fantastic hotel with incredible views. Staff are all very friendly and welcoming. Great food and wine too.
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2019
Response from Greg on Mar 19, 2019
Thank you so much. We are delighted to know you enjoyed everything. Do come back to visit us again soon! Warm regards, Greg and The Atlanticview Team

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
A little gem above Camps Bay
What a little find Above Camps Bay ,lovely small boutique hotel. Canapés and free drinks 7-9 each evening to start the night off. Breakfast great
Stayed 6 nights in Mar 2019
Response from Greg on Mar 12, 2019
Hello Mr H! Thank you for your review and for staying with us. I personally enjoyed booking you in and our conversations on the phone. I hope your reunion with the family went well and you all enjoyed your trip. Do come back and visit us again. It was our pleasure to have you join us for the past week! Warm regards and safe travels, Greg and the Atlantyicview Team!

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 5 nights in Mar 2019
Response from greg on Apr 1, 2019
Thank you so much for staying with us. We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay. Please come back soon! Warm regards, Greg and the Atlanticview Team

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
There was a great vibe at this Boutique hotel, with free sunset drinks every night! The view is spectacular and the location is great - just above Camps Bag and minutes from Table Mountain (you can see the cable cars on a clear day!). Fabulous service from friendly staff, we would love to go back!
Stayed 5 nights in Mar 2019
Response from Greg on Mar 9, 2019
Hi There! Thank you from all of us at Atlanticview for staying with us and taking the time to write such a kind review. We do appreciate it and hope you will be able to come and join us again soon! Warm regards, Greg and the Atlanticview Team!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Fabulous view. Lovely atmosphere. Would love to return.
Stayed 3 nights in Jan 2019
Response from Greg on Feb 4, 2019
Hi Emma, So happy to hear you enjoyed your visit with us. Do come back again soon! You were a lovely guest and the team enjoyed your visit I think as much as you did! Safe travels! Warm regards, Greg and the Atlanticview Team!

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Very nice place but the gym could use some love Miss matched weights None the same weight was a challenge!
Stayed 3 nights in Jan 2019
Response from Greg on Feb 4, 2019
Hi Charles, This is Greg the owner of Atlanticview. Thank you for letting us know. Those are my partners weights he left in the gym because guests asked about free weights. Someone must have taken one for whatever reason. Ive asked for pics and info so we can replace whatever has been taken or missing. Apologies for any inconvenience. We really do appreciate you letting us know. Without info like this we cannot rectify the problem and make it all better. Thank you again for staying with us. Travel safely and do come back to visit again! Warm regards, Greg and the Alanticview Team

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 2 nights in Dec 2018
Response from Greg on Dec 17, 2018
Thank you for staying with us! Please come back and visit us again soon! Warm regards, Greg and the Atlanticview Team!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Dec 2018
Response from Greg on Dec 10, 2018
Thank you Ryno! Best wishes from all of us at Atlanticview! Greg and the Atlanticview Team!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
An absolute gem of a boutique hotel
We had a fabulous 2 nights at the Atlanticview Hotel celebrating our 15yr wedding anniversary. They made us feel so welcome with a bottle of fizz and a room upgrade which was completely unexpected. The complementary wine and canapes were a lovely touch each evening and the breakfast served in our room each day was the best breakfast we have ever had and so indulgent. We cannot fault the staff in any way, they were friendly and couldn't do enough for us, service to such a high standard that we have rarely seen elsewhere. A fantastic boutique hotel in a quiet residential spot overlooking Camps Bay Would definitely visit again and would recommend to all friends and family
Stayed 2 nights in Dec 2018
Response from Greg on Dec 7, 2018
Hello Michelle! Thank you so much for staying with us and for such a sweet review. My team reported to me that they enjoyed your visit as much as you did which means you were delightful guests and it was their pleasure to serve you and ensure your holiday was tops! I shared your review with our team and they were delighted to read what you said. Thank you! Please come back and visit us again. Warm regards and safe travels, Greg and the Atlanticview Team

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
This hotel is beautiful and the staff are so lovely!
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2018
Response from Greg on Oct 15, 2018
Thank you so much. We really appreciate it and hope you can come back and join us soon! Travel Safely and warm regards, Greg and the Atlanticview Team

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2018
Response from Greg (owner) on Oct 1, 2018
Hello Hein, Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to review our little paradise. Please come back to visit us again soon! Warm regards and safe travels, Greg and the Atlanticview Team!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2018
Response from Greg on Sep 27, 2018
Hello Peter! Thank you so much for your review and for staying with us. We are so happy you enjoyed yourself. I hope you had a safe trip home to the UK and that you will be able to visit us again soon. Warm regards, Greg (owner)

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Overall great stay! Staff were extremely friendly and very accommodating !
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2018
Response from GREG AND THE ATLANTICVIEW TEAM on Sep 11, 2018
THANK YOU!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
I felt like a princess but the hotel was a bit far from the shoreline.
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018
Response from Greg (Owner) on Jun 2, 2018
Hello Your Royal Highness! Thank you for staying with us and allowing us to make you feel special. We do hope you will come back again very soon! Warm regards and safe travels, Greg and the Atlanticview Team

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
The best Cape Town has to offer
There is not enough words to describe how amazing this accommodation was- it was absolutely breathtaking! The staff was astronomically helpful and went above and beyond to make my stay an extremely enjoyable one- you’re the BEST! Greg was an absolute delight and beyond amazing as was his staff 🤗-I absolutely love this gentleman and his knowledge for this area and Africa as a whole was extraordinary. I will truly miss Alanticview and all it’s hidden beauty and amazing staff and guest. Thank you all for the remarkable and memorable experience.
Response from Greg (Owner) on May 16, 2018
Hello There Anonymous! We know who this is. So glad you enjoyed everything. It was my pleasure to share what I did with you so you make the most out of your holiday. We appreciate you taking the time to write and for choosing Atlanticview. Its great to know we delivered and that is what we try to do. Guests also are the reason we enjoy what we do and you are one of those wonderful people. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope the rest of your African adventure was as good. Keep in touch and do come back again! Warm regards and safe travels, Greg and the Atlanticview Team

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Quality.
Fantastic stay,wonderful hotel and staff, even the guests were brilliant. Recommend it to everybody. No problems with water, the pools were great. Hope to be back as soon as possible. Greg, you should be very proud of you hotel and especially all your employees, including Manssor. Many thanks. Mark and Susan.
Stayed 14 nights in Feb 2018
Response from Greg on Mar 15, 2018
Thank you so much Susan and Mark! You were great guests too! My team said you were a delight to have stay and I am happy we delivered for you. I am proud by the way and hope you can visit us again soon! Warm regards and thank you Greg and the Atlanticview Team

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Nice little boutique hotel at the top of camps bay
The AtlanticView is a small boutique style hotel. The room was nice with a comfortable bed with lots of pillows. The room had small balcony overlooking the pool area and looking out to the fantastic ocean view. Amenities wise it was fine, although the TV was very limited- BBC news as the only international news channel.. The staff were very nice. Definitely would recommend.
Stayed 2 nights in Feb 2018
Response from Greg on Feb 19, 2018
Thank you so much for your feedback. We really appreciate it and hope you will be able to join us again some day again soon. Warm regards and safe travels, Greg and the Atlanticview Team

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2018
Response from Greg (owner) on Feb 11, 2018
Hi Cara, Thank you so much for staying with us. We hope you can join us again some tomes soon. Warm regards, Greg and the Atlanticview Team

1/5 Terrible

Liked: Cleanliness
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Worst hotel experience!
Booking Experience: Greg (owner), took our inquiry about airport shuttle as an opportunity to upsell us a wine ($350) and cape point tour ($350) through his travel company. As strange and distasteful as this upselling was, we didn’t think much about it at that time and went ahead with booking the tour and the airport transportation. Room: Our room, which was advertised as romantic and exclusive, was essentially an extension of the lounge. It was so awkward that when we opened the door to leave the room, the door would slam into guests who were sitting at the bar enjoying their drinks (see pictures). Customer Service: After not receiving a response for 24 hours, we decided to once again follow up with the staff. We spoke with Wesley (GM) who told us that Greg will switch us for a per night fee of $300 (we paid $390 for our room). We explained to Wesley that the room is not as advertised and that we were told that we would be able to switch without any fees, he became very aggressive. Greg: Later that night we ran into Greg in the lobby. He began by introducing himself and complained about how hungover. We were not interested in hearing about his benders so we cut to the chase and expressed our discontent with our room. He also became very defensive, and almost verbatim re-iterated the same points that Wesley had a little earlier that evening.
Stayed 3 nights in Dec 2017
Response from Owner on Jan 18, 2018
Dear Readers, These guests were rude and disruptive. Negotiating for this and that and standing up tour guides after booking with them and in general so nasty a disposition they had we asked them to leave. Anyone who behaves like these two have in our property and threaten us with bad reviews cause we wouldn't upgrade them for free will be asked straight out. No question about it. Thank you for understanding.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Beautiful view.
Great staff. Great attention to detail.
Stayed 1 night in Dec 2017
Response from Greg on Jan 19, 2018
Thank you so much Michael. It was lovely meeting you during your visit. Please come back and visit us again soon. Safe travels from Greg and the Atlanticview Team

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Very satisfied with our stay
We had an amazing stay. The view of the ocean from our room was stunning. The room was spacious,clean and nicely decorated. Very comfortable bed. Delicious breakfast, very well prepared and presented. Very friendly and helpful staff. Perfect location in camps bay. Unfortunately most things are not within walking distance, even walking to the beach in Camps bay can take 20-30 minutes. The hotel offers transport to most common destinations but this costs extra. I would highly recommend this place.
Stayed 4 nights in Nov 2017
Response from Greg on Jan 19, 2018
Thank you so much for writing your review and staying with us. It was lovely meeting you and a pleasure to have you join us for a few days. Travel safely and do come back again soon. Warm regards, Greg and the Atlanticview Team

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stunning view over camps bay gave a feeling of pace and quietness whilst still only a 10 min drive away. The breakfast was excellent and the complimentary drinks and canopes offered a chance to meet other guests in a very enjoyable setting. Everyone was really friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The best boutique hotel we have ever visited.
Stayed 3 nights in Nov 2017

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Perfect
From the moment we got picked up at the airport until the time of drop-off the entire staff treated us like family. Hands down one of the best hotel experiences we have ever had.
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2017
Response from Greg and The Atlanticview on Nov 13, 2017
Hi Patrick, Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted to hear we lived up to our expectations and hope to see you again soon. Warm regards and safe travels, Greg and the Atlanticview Team

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Amazing
Staying at The Atlanticview Boutique Hotel was simply amazing. From the comfort of the room to the spectacular views, everything was great. The location is quiet and made for a relaxing stay. We tenjoyed the wonderful breakfast, and the wine and canapés each evening. However, what made the stay special was the impeccable service provided by the staff. They were friendly, helpful, attentive, and truly seemed to care about us as guests, not customers. Never did we see the staff hurried, flustered or not in a great mood! Staying at a large, ritzy hotel could never equal the experience of staying at the Atlanticview Boutique Hotel.
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2017
Response from Greg on Nov 13, 2017
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments and for staying with us at Atlanticview. Please come back and visit us again soon! Warm regards, Greg and the Atlanticview Team

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
The Little Hotel with the Best Service
I had one day in Cape Town coming back from Hermanus and flying the next morning. Got in at 11am but unfortunately checking-in was only at 2pm. So the hotel staff advised me to go for a tour of Cape Town on the tour bus, which I did and spent the afternoon at Table Mountain. The weather was good and the air was clear and fresh. Upon returning, I spent the rest of the day resting in my room and had dinner, which was very good. The next day, i took the hotel transport to the airport. Next time I come around, I will definitely stay at Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel!
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2017
Response from Greg and The Atlanticview on Nov 13, 2017
Hi Angela, Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted to hear we lived up to our expectations and hope to see you again soon. We will look forward to it! Warm regards and safe travels, Greg and the Atlanticview Team

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Lovely boutique hotel with stunning views
Very helpful and friendly. Rooms comfortable a tad crowded but lovely. Breakfast and room service amazing 5 Star delicious, !!! Thank you Hein and staff
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2017
Response from greg on Nov 13, 2017
Hi Kristine, Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted to hear we lived up to our expectations and hope to see you again soon. Warm regards and safe travels, Greg and the Atlanticview Team

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Luxury and Design overlooking Camps Bay
Everything about this place was fantastic. Especially the staff. Everyone made us feel so welcome. They were extremely attentive at the hotel and in ensuring our stay in Cape Town was enjoyed completely. Loved the building, interior design and the Oh so excellent views. The complimentary drinks and hors d'oeuvres in the evening were a nice surprise.
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2017
Response from Greg and The Atlanticview on Nov 13, 2017
Hi Peter, Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted to hear we lived up to our expectations and hope to see you again very soon. Warm regards and safe travels, Greg and the Atlanticview Team

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Amazing views, friendly staff
We stayed in the Penthouse suite, the panoramic views of Camps bay were amazing from the balcony, room and some public areas. The breakfast was 10/10 served in our room, the presentation and quality was excellent, a real wow. We also enjoyed the evening sampling of wines and exceptional canapés in the bar area, served by the incredibly friendly and knowledgeable staff. Concierge provide very reasonably priced lifts in quality cars to Camps Bay and surrounding areas, essential as it is a fair distance to walk, and uphill on the return!
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2017

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Too far from restaurants, bus & beach
It was very quiet with great views which is good for complete rest. It was inconvenient to the beach activities & bus line.
Stayed 4 nights in Aug 2017
Response from Greg (owner) on Aug 12, 2017
Hi Robin, Thank you for your review and for staying with us. Just wanted to point out you say in your review it was convenient to the beach and bus etc but in your title you say opposite. Whatever we are glad you enjoyed it. Warm regards, Greg

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Amazing, friendly and helpful staff
Andrew picked us up from the airport, friendly and helpful. Everything was ready, beautiful room with underfloor heating, fantastic view and a very comfy bed. Monsoor took us on a wine tour the next day which was amazing, his friendly attitude made it a very memorable day. We only stayed two nights, but all staff were super friendly and made us want to stay longer. We will be back.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2017