Ratings based on 145 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Posted May 18, 2018
The Mount Nelson Hotel is a charming, well kept hotel of yesteryear with beautiful outdoor spaces located 15 minutes by taxi from the hustle, bustle, and noise of the waterfront district. Our comfortable room with small balcony overlooked the pool and city beyond.The room and bath are very spacious with a sizable closet with more than enough room to store suitcases and hide them from our living space. The only downside to the room was the bath didn’t have an outlet for the hairdryer so I had to use an outlet in the room...a minor inconvenience. Breakfast in the poolside restaurant is amazing offering just about anything you can imagine. We also had three very good dinners in the other 2 hotel restaurants. Best of all, though, are the hotel staff. They made us feel so welcomed and appreciated and took care of our every need with a warm, genuine smile. All the staff made our stay in the Mount Nelson Hotel most special and memorable. For us, it turned out to be the perfect pre and post safari destination for us to relax from a long flight as well as for exploring the amazing city and regions of Cape Town.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2018 by Louise Pheiffer, Hotel Management
Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay with us and your local experiences in Cape Town, and for recognizing our wonderful members of staff, of whom most have been with the hotel for many many years!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 17, 2018
The hotel takes you back in time and transcends to the grand hotel days. You can imagine the diplomats moving in and out. The staff is wonderful, helpful and makes the stay even more special. The grounds really put the finishing touch on the charm of the hotel. Definitely worth staying here and the breakfast options are good as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2018 by Louise Pheiffer, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and our delicious breakfasts along with all the historic charm this iconic hotel brings with her.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 23, 2018 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2018 by Louise Pheiffer, Hotel Management
Thank you for your high rating of your recent stay with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from uk

Beautiful traditional hotel

Posted Feb 18, 2018
Pros: It is very beautiful and relaxing The bar area is Lovely and the outdoor veranda very beautiful overlooking the gardens A lovey hotel
Cons: Not really the air conditioning broke down on and off for a few days bit we changed rooms
Location: The+location is right next to table+mountain and we had great views Everything very accessible
We stayed forc 8 nights we had a beautiful room with a balcony overlooking the pool and beautiful gardens We did have a problem because the air conditioning broke down and we moved room a coupe of times to get a suitable room The manager was very helpful and did his best and gave us discount for this problem The food and restaurant is great You do need patience when ordering a fried egg or omelette everything Moves at a slow pace but you just have to accept this I did have some Money 200 rand taken out of my bag which was my fault leaving it in the room and not the safe. I didn’t tell the hotel because I didn’t want anyone to get sacked We overall had a wonderful stay and would go back in a heartbeat
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2018 by Louise Pheiffer, Hotel Management
Dear Sheila, Thank you for your wonderful and detailed review of your stay with us, and for being so understanding with the airconditioning not working as it should have, and it was rather hot during February too! We look forward to your next stay with us, and to show your our true hospitality, with no cons this time, only pros! Warm regards Louise
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worth the extra spend

Posted Feb 12, 2018 on Hotels
We wanted to finish our trip to SA on a high and it was a rather stunning, epic high. This hotel has all that you can expect from a 5 star estate. The room was large and super comfy and the bathroom so large like you were in a ballroom. For a quiet day by the pool if you want to be away from kids use the upper pool. Dinner and drinks in the hotel were also fantastic and not that expensive. The scones are the best I have ever had and a must during your stay. Worth every cent, you'll love it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2018 by Louise Pheiffer, Hotel Management
Dear Mark, Thank you very much for your wonderful review, and we are delighted that you ended your South African trip with lasting memories of your stay and divine scones at tea.. Warm regards Louise
5 out of 5
by Sarah

Posted Dec 1, 2017 on Hotels
A wonderful time, room was lovely, large and comfortable. The service was good without being over the top and obtrusive. Breakfast buffet had an excellent choice and it was a great setting outside overlooking the pool. We wished we could have stayed longer
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2018 by Louise Pheiffer, Hotel Management
Dear Sarah, Thank you very much for your lovely review of your stay with us, we hope to welcome you back again soon, and for a little bit longer next time too. Warm regards Louise
4 out of 5
by Patricia

Posted Oct 16, 2017 on Hotels
It was very pleasant and enjoyable
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2018 by Louise Pheiffer, Hotel Management
Thank you very much Patricia, Warm regards Louise
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location a concern

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Hotel is full of history, elegant in its own way, but key concern is that its location is not nearly as convenient as the new five start hotels that have been built in the last 10+ years closer to the waterfront. You will need transportation. Very expensive for what is offered compared to the other deluxe hotels in the city. Do recommend the elegant Afternoon Tea...that's worth a visit to the hotel, but would not recommend for overnight stay. Rooms have been refurbished but do not match the efficient design and comfort of the newer first class hotels in the city that charge a similar amount or even considerably less.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Super location,facilities,and staff.Reasonably priced,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: Wonderful, friendly and helpful staff.
Location: Good. Within walking distance of centre of town or bus routes. Taxis always quick and obliging.
The check in staff were efficient and accommodating. They sped up our arrival time and were very generous with late check out.