Ratings based on 133 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Johannesburg

Comfortable, but slightly out of the way

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Pros: The washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher. The fact that parking is given. The security is good at the building.
Cons: Informing guests if there is significant construction work being done close to the apartments.
Location: The apartments are behind the Cape Town International Conference Centre. The V&A Waterfront is nearby (2,4km from there)
I booked the Canal Quays apartment on the recommendation of a friend. The staff was welcoming and aimed to please. They emailed the day before we had to check in to ask what time we wanted to check in. The apartment itself is very comfortable with a washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher, microwave, fridge. The TV features some satellite channels, but it is a limited selection. Daily cleaning services are provided. One of the reasons I booked the place was also the balcony overlooking the canal and harbour. Although the website stated that there will be renovations, this did not prepare us for the construction throughout the day building a hotel/apartment building right across the Canal Quays Apartment Building. They worked from 7:00 - 19:00. As a result, we had to keep the balcony door closed. Lucky the apartment had an air conditioner in the living room and the bedroom, but not being able to sit on the balcony was very disappointing. I also did not like the location and found it a bit out of the way. There is no public transport going past and there is only one route to get there as it is located behind the Cape Town International Conference Centre (CTICC). If you rent a car, parking is provided and may make it easier to get around. There is a walkway to walk to the V&A waterfront. It is a comfortable place to stay in, provided there is no construction and you rent a car.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2017 by Robyn Noel, Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sam, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! We are sorry to hear that there are a few items which did not meet your expectations on this occasion, and hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back on a return visit so that we may demonstrate improved facilities and services. Best regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmod, VA

More than we had hoped for

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Cons: Room darkening blinds/curtains in the bedroom would be nice for people who are light sensitive.
Location: Close to the CTICC and V&A Waterfront. Water Taxi stop at the hotel.
The rooms are actually small furnished apartments with full kitchen, washer/dryer, guest bath room and on-suite bathroom for the master. A little off the beaten path, it was quiet but still an easy walk to the the CTICC and other areas of interest. There is a new mixed use building being built that will affect the view of the water, but we did have balconies directly overlooking the canal which will not be affected (the new building will also add more shops and restaurants nearby which will be a bonus). The staff were incredibly friendly and responsive. They even offered to go the the nearby Pick and Pay and get me tissues and anything else I needed when I came down with a cold. We will definitely look to use Home From Home properties for future travels!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2017 by Robyn Noel, Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Karen, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in future. Best Regards
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to rate your stay with us! Best regards, Robyn Noel Guest Services Manager
5 out of 5
by Buyisiwe

Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017
Dear Guest, Thank you for giving us the perfect rating! we hope to welcome you back soon! Best regards, Robyn Noel Guest Services Manager
4 out of 5
by Mamotheba

good value

Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Hotels
A comfortable,clean apartment with modern decor. Value for money. Location wasn't the greatest in relation to the waterfront
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2017
Dear Mamotheba, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are happy to hear you had an enjoyable one and hope to welcome you back in the near future. Best regards,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Hotels
Rooms are very nicely organized, clean and comfortable. The peoples who are working are also very friendly and helpful. I have really enjoyed the hospitality and comfort. I definately recommend for someone who is coming for business or visit to Cape town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017
Dear Guest, We are happy to hear that you had a lovely stay with us. We hope to welcome you back in the near future Best regards, Robyn Noel Guest Services Manager
2 out of 5
by ASHWIN

Posted Jun 20, 2017 on Hotels
NICE APPARTMENT, TERRIBLE LOCATION. VERY NOISY DUE TO CONSTRUCTION WORK. NO VIEWS. THANKFULLY STAFF VERY UNDERSTANDING,ESPECIALLY SIYA. SIYA AND STAFF OF CANAL QUAYS WENT OUT OF THEIR WAY TO CHANGE OUR ACCOMMODATION. WE WERE RELOCATED TO ICON APPARTMENTS IN TOWN CENTRE. THIS WAS SUPERB. NICE AND CENTRAL.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017
Dear Ashwin, We are sorry to hear of your negative experience at Canal Quays apartments. We will extend our thanks to our staff who assisted with moving you to our sister Building at the Icon Luxury Apartments. Best regards, Robyn Noel Guest Services Manager
5 out of 5
by Thorne

MSC

Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
The experience was great. nice and big apartment. very clean and tidy. will definitely be back
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kuwait, Kuwait

Nice apartment close to V & A waterfront.

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: Convenience, location, amenities and space.
Cons: How to reach the main office and who to contact if there are issues. There was not a phone directory. The safe did not work.
Location: Close to the V&A. It was a 5 minute walk, not well lit on the canal side( had to cut through a vacant lot in order to walk downtown.
It was a convenient location to everything on the waterfront. It was a great one bedroom apartment but it was a dark walk along the canal until you were directly behind the apartment building. It was confusing for where you needed to check in. The staff at the check in area were excellent but it was different to get a hold off them. We were told to call a number but that went to the main desk for the apartment building and they were not as helpful. This is the 6th time we have stayed in the Cape, it was good but not our favourite.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Isolated - not a hotel. Few services

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: Big comfortable rooms
Cons: Wifi
Location: Isolated.
Hotel staff were very nice. Clean comfortable room. The hotel is a little isolated down a short dark road at night and a 10 min walk to any restaurants etc. The biggest complaint was the wifi download speed of 0.5Mb. Video was difficult and skype calls problematic. Ok for just email.