Ratings based on 230 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford, England

Good hotel next to Company Gardens

Posted Jan 10, 2018
Pros: We liked that it was not too huge and impersonal.
Cons: Everything was fine it was good value for money.
Location: The hotel is across the road from the Planetarium, near Greenmarket Square where the local market is held & lots of bars & restaurants close by.
The hotel is quite close to Greenmarket Square and although not close to the Waterfront the hotel has a free shuttlebus which goes there several times each day. The staff were very helpful, the rooms were kept spotlessly clean. The breakfast was perfectly adequate with fresh fruit, hot food, cereals etc. We ate in the hotel a couple of the times and the food was very good. The staff also recommended a great Italian pizza place just round the corner.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2018 by Cape Town Hollow Team , Hotel Management
Dear Barbara Thank you SO MUCH for your positive review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will see you again in the near future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Poland

Posted Dec 28, 2017
Hotel is in City Center, staff was great and helpfull, breakfasts were tasty, hotel's restaurant is quite good, room was very clean and I had a view on Table Mountain.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2017 by Jess, Hotel Management
Dear Artur Thank you so much for your recent review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will see you again in the near future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fargo ND

Good location in the former colonial area

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Staff was very friendly and helpful. The public spaces were very nice as were the guest rooms. However the bathroom was badly in need of of an update. The food in the restaurant was good and reasonably priced. We enjoyed our stay and would return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2017 by Jess, Hotel Management
Dear Haxel Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as our staff and facilities. Our restrooms/toilets/bathrooms and public area floors are all done with a product called “Stucco Italiano”. This is a screet type of floor that is low sheen sealed finish and is a very modern/clean look and was done when we did a complete refurbishment of our property recently. It has been specially designed to accommodate high traffic areas such as hotels. Personally, I prefer this style over tiles as one can see exactly where the dirt is in the corners. Tile grouting can look really horrible over time! Thank you for visiting us and hope to see you again soon :) Warm regards, Jess & the Hollow Team.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Great location, Great staff

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: Staff were all friendly and extremely helpful.
Cons: The quality of the bathroom in our room.
Location: Good location for attractions near the Company Gardens and for eateries on Long Street.
This is a great location for central Cape Town (as opposed to the more tourist oriented V and A waterfront), particularly the "real African" eateries on Long and Kloof Streets. What really set this hotel apart was the staff who were all extremely friendly and helpful, going above and beyond to obtain tickets to key attractions for us that we could not purchase directly or online. The room was very comfortable although the bathroom was pretty basic; the included breakfast was very good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2017 by Jess, Hotel Management
Dear Graham Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad that you appreciated our friendly and hardworking staff as well as our prime location. We were delighted to assist you in booking your excursions :) Our restrooms/toilets/bathrooms and public area floors are all done with a product called “Stucco Italiano”. This is a screet type of floor that is low sheen sealed finish and is a very modern/clean look and was done when we did a complete refurbishment of our property. It has been specially designed to accommodate high traffic areas such as hotels. Personally, I prefer this style over tiles as one can see exactly where the dirt is in the corners. Tile grouting can look really horrible over time! Thank you for visiting us and hope to see you again soon :) Warm regards, Jess & the Hollow Team.
5 out of 5
by David from Azerbaijan

Good place to stay

Posted Sep 24, 2017 on Hotels
6 nights, no complaints at all. Road noise no issues, the geese in the park like to awake at sunrise though but this is quite pleasant. Chocolate turn down service most nights. Recommended stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2017
Dear David We are so appreciative of your lovely comments regarding your recent stay with us! It really means a lot to the staff. Please visit us again soon! Warm regards, Jess & the Hollow Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide, Australia

An Old Hotel recently Renovated

Posted Sep 13, 2017 on Wotif
CapeTown Hollow Boutique Hotel is centrally situated near peaceful Company Garden and close to the Art Gallery, Jewish Museum and Slave Museum....all worth a visit. The Red Tourist Hop-on- Hop off bus stops outside the hotel. Pubic heated swimming pool only 3 minutes walk. Very comfortable modern hotel with friendly and efficient African Staff. Food was high standard. I shall definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2017 by Jess, Hotel Management
Dear David Thank you SO MUCH for your positive review! We thoroughly enjoyed hosting you and hope that we see you again soon! Warm regards, Jess and the Hollow Team
5 out of 5
by LW from Somerset West

perfect night away

Posted Sep 2, 2017 on Hotels
great stay, but pillows terrible. They should have decent feather pillows!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017
Dear LW Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us! WE are so glad that you had a good time. We have now implemented a little pillow menu in the room information folder, so you are able to let us know your preferred pillow and we can supply that for you next time you visit us. Thank you for the feedback! :) Warm regards, Jess & the Hollow Team
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I would not recommend staying here

Posted Aug 30, 2017 on Hotels
The staff on check-in where disinterested in helping us and patently ignored my colleague standing right next to me. The desk clerk was then surprised when I asked for a second key-card even though the booking was for two adults. The room was not tidied each day or the tea and coffee restocked as per most normal hotels. Our room was next to some pipes or pumps that made a noise a couple of times an hour. The safe in the room did not work. This was at least rectified the same day after I reported it to reception. We were given a voucher for a bottle of wine for use with a main meal during check-in for the hotel restaurant, which the restaurant later refused to honour because main meals to them only means the evening main meal, i.e dinner. The only positive for this hotel is the location, which is right across the street from the Company Gardens and the restaurants of Kloof street are a short walk away.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2017
Dear Guest We are so sorry that we did not live up to your expectations. We are really trying hard to make guests feel comfortable and to enjoy their stay, but we understand that we do not always get it right. We hope that maybe one day we could make it up to you. Warm regards, Jess & the Hollow Team
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 24, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing view, great staff

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Amazing view, great staff! We were there for three days and would definitely go back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2017 by Jess, Hotel Management
Thank you so much! We hope you visit again soon