Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unique, Great Value Hotel in the Bo Kaap

Posted Aug 1, 2017
This hotel was a great mix of modern and antique, with the furnishing achieving the latter and the bathroom and air-conditioning doing the former. The room was spacious and clean, with the antique furniture really adding a unique character. The location of the hotel was central for everything Cape Town by foot (although be ready to walk up hills as part of your time in the city, it is not flat...), and only 20 mins from the main airport. Couldn't have asked for a better experience and great value for money.
4 out of 5
by Richard

Posted Jun 30, 2017 on Hotels
Fabulous bedding and bathroom. Lovely old building with character close to trendy Bree St. La Tete restaurant was awesome, Some construction noise opposite but it'll be gone soon.
2 out of 5
by Amanda

Very disappointed

Posted Jun 20, 2017 on Hotels
We booked this hotel because of its location, apparent value-for-money, and reviews. The location did not disappoint but much else did. We used Hotels.com to book a “luxury double suite” with a “separate dining area,” in-room WiFi, and complimentary breakfast. We got a regular single room with no separate dining area. WiFi was only available right next to the door AND we were never able to log on (with U.S.-based iPhones/iPads). When we told the proprietor she said “that’s strange” and did nothing to rectify the situation. Finally, on our first morning the proprietor said she could not provide complimentary breakfast at the rate we paid (which was low, granted, but we were way off season). She said this was a listing error by Hotels.com, and instead offered us breakfast at 75 ZAR. That did not address the fact that what we signed up for was *free* breakfast. (Also, FYI we discovered that a good breakfast can be had within 2-3 blocks for ~60 ZAR plus tip.) In fairness, the good points: super-convenient location, clean, good shower, well-done in-room coffee/etc. and toiletries. Then there is personal taste: if you love antiques you may love this hotel, but if you like “light and bright” this is not the place for you (even the artificial lighting is dim). Take a good look at the website. And be wary. Some of our issues may be the fault of Hotels.com (I’m contacting them separately) but still, I got the sense that the proprietor cares more about antiques than guests.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by Nobu, Hotel Management
Dear Amanda Thank you for the review. Our guests are important to us and we are sorry for the inconvenience caused with the WI FI. As this is a antique Hotel, the lightning is sufficient to create the correct amber. Thank you for staying at our establishment and we look forward to welcome you back! Regards Management and Staff
4 out of 5
by Eric

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 28, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mcc

On a very very busy road

Posted Jan 12, 2017
On arrival, after a 24hr journey,there is no welcome, just immediate demand for full payment. so unnecessary Entering the room first thing I see is small internal curtain on 1 window falling down but main problem no hanging area for clothes, as well as no hangers, room is dominated by large 'cupboard' is only drawer space All floors are wood, no matter what room you get as soon as other guests go to breakfast you hear the noise, we can all get used to heavy road noise but not other guests dragging chairs out at breakfast, the room for this is next door to 4 bedrooms We moved to upstairs room, at 5.3ins I could not get into bed without chair! In morning 2 guests sat outside our bedroom door from 8am chatting, American guests, this area is meant for this but not good if your sleeping as the time difference for you takes few days to adjust to. Found breakfast poor, staff poorly trained. Tea was either small amount of hot water in cup or one large pot!!! Juice not available but on noticing another guest with orange juice and pointing to, still could not get any. I arrived and hotel was empty found service and what was on menu not available, when hotel became full was worse, long wait and young girl makes no effort to understand No excuse I spent 3 weeks in many different places, never a problem with language, I felt they did not have item so she pretended not to understand so basically no orange juice or cranberry only a mango juice
5 out of 5
by Amy

Lovely old hotel with fantastic service

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
It was amazing. We received excellent service and it was lovely just to chat with the people who worked there. Rooms were gorgeous and the whole place just had a great feel. We will definitely stay there again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Characterful place from which to see cape town

Posted Sep 21, 2016 on Hotels
Comfortable room Good location Good breakfast Great helpful staff
5 out of 5
by Paul from St. Paul, MN

Outstanding Service and Comfort

Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels
Dutch Manor was an outstanding place to stay. The wifi was consistent and fast, which was needed for working during my stay. The service was excellent - tips for restaurants in the neighborhood, delicious breakfasts, well kept spacious room that was quiet and comfortable. I would certainly stay here again next time I am in Cape Town.
3 out of 5
by IP from Bredasdorp

Good Hotel - Bad Service

Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
We did not have a good experience at the hotel. I visited the hotel a week in advance to make sure about the room that was booked and all was confirmed and in order - room 5. However when we arrived, we were given another room(no 6) with 2 single beds, the remote was missing from the room and an annoying bathroom fan was running the whole night long - nobody could shut it down - very noisy! The next morning when we ordered croissants for breakfast we were told "waiting on delivery" - that was the same story for 3 mornings in a row! How difficult could it have been to quickly go out to a store and buy these items? Also, they couldn't serve something else that was missing from the menu. We asked them to have it ready for the next morning but no effort was made to get it. One of the chefs also were quite annoyed when we repeatedly asked for the items and they couldn't deliver - really bad service and a bad attitude.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback and for contacting me personally about your experience. I apologized and mentioned to you that I was on my annual leave the time you stayed with us, which is no excuse for bad service you received. You requested a compensation for a free night and I agreed. It is very disappointing that you went ahead to write about your bad experience after I agreed to make it up to you. Please be informed that, there will be no compensation to you anymore and I hope that publishing your review made you better. .Please do not contact us concerning compensation. Thank you
4 out of 5
by mark

Charming historic hotel short walk from city

Posted Aug 3, 2016 on Hotels
Charming hotel short walk from city centre. Good friendly staff.