Ratings based on 164 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by phil

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 24, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2017 on Hotels
My son and I had an excellent stay.
5 out of 5
by James

Loved the Airstreams on the roof!

Posted Mar 9, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed in the trailers on the roof. It was super fun and comfy. Good breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by Helene, Hotel Management
Dear James Thank you for choosing the Grand Daddy hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards Grand Daddy team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Heart of town

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Wotif
The Grand Daddy is a boutique hotel in the heart of Cape Town's Long St, full of restaurants, cafes and shops. The hotel is comfortable and has a wonderful décor. We were presented with a glass of wine on arrival. Staff were happy and accommodating, helping out with printing and scanning important work documents. Good internet which dropped out occasionally but came back quickly. The only small down side was that it was fairly noisy at times in such a happening street.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location and friendly staff

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
Very pleasant hotel to serve as a base for tourists in Cape Town. Room was rather small and lacked a chair (there's was a stool to use at the desk). On the other hand, there's a very large and quiet lounge on the 1st floor that was great for reading/office work. Staff was very helpful and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago suburbs

We really liked this hotel but....

Posted Nov 26, 2016
We accidentally booked the rooftop airstream suite which was too small for us. (We are big people with big suitcases). Unfortunately we couldn't move rooms since the hotel was fully booked. Staff was very kind in helping us receive a refund and book a room at another Expedia hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Very Unique & Excellent Staff

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: I love the restaurant and the bar staff. The roof top is the perfect ambiance.
Cons: The only thing I didn't like is that my airstream Trailer never had any tea or coffee, but there was a hot water pot. Housekeeping never replaced glasses the and trailer needed to be cleaner. The floors were dirty.
Location: Excellent location near the Hop on Hop buses, green market, Sandton mall and shops.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great & Fun filled place.

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is great treat. Loved the rooftop bar and Trailer park. Rooftop movie night on Mondays. The staff is great, they go out of their way to help. The food is great. But it's great all over Cape Town. The hotel was recently remolded and exceed my expectations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from as

Quirky, an experience not to be missed

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Location: We'll located. Don't miss the slave church museum next door or the preserved mansion museum just round the corner.
Let's face it, it's a converted caravan, so there's not a lot of space, or soundproofing, and the bathroom is a little cramped, but it's a vintage Airstream van perched on the roof of a nicely renovated old school hotel, and set beside a rooftop bar and cinema. If that doesn't turn you off, you'll love it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 5, 2016 on Hotels