Ratings based on 170 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

ideal location

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: location
This is a good hotel with clean and renovated albeit small rooms. The location is ideal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017 by Helz, Hotel Management
Dear Danny Thank you for choosing the Grand Daddy hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon. Enjoy the festive season and have a fabulous 2018.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland, US

Excellent location and services

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: Location and style.
Location: Just couple of blocks to City Sightseeing Bus Tours.
Hotel locate in the city cent of Cape Town. It is safe and very connivance. Hotel include full services breakfast. Hotel still keeps a colnue style.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017 by Helz, Hotel Management
Dear Jin Thank you for choosing the Grand Daddy hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon. Enjoy the festive season and have a fabulous 2018.
1 out of 5
by Kyle

horrible. avoid this hotel.

Posted Aug 18, 2017 on Hotels
had a difficult check in experience. would never recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
by Duncan

Great personality - not for the faint hearted

Posted Aug 2, 2017 on Hotels
Right in the centre of things on vibrant, edgy Long Street. Definitely not a place for kids and people without a sense of adventure. The street is fine during the day, but many beggars at night who pursue you to the hotel door. There are very good staff on the door at all times, but be careful at night. Hotel itself is a funky joy and great value. So much more fun than the touristy places on the Waterfront. Staff in all departments went out of their way to help. Bedroom looking over street was very well shielded from the noise of revellers. Rooftop bar delightful. Would definitely return.
5 out of 5
by Robert

Perfect in All Areas

Posted May 26, 2017 on Hotels
As a solo American traveling to Capetown, this hotel was perfect. South Africa, including Capetown is experiencing serious challenges in terms of tourist comfort from the lurking criminal element that keeps travelers on their toes, erring on the side of caution. The Grand Daddy Hotel is perfect in that it mitigates the fear of the unfamiliar through proper tips from its front desk personnel. Each and everyone of the staff members is very patient as they offer necessary advice in terms of do's and don'ts when navigating the area. The hotel itself is clean, quaint, and everything works and is efficiently placed. Honestly, I cannot find a weakness with this hotel. It made my six days well worth my trip and allowed for a pleasurable experience in one of the most fascinating locations in the world.
5 out of 5
by phil

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 24, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2017 on Hotels
My son and I had an excellent stay.
5 out of 5
by James

Loved the Airstreams on the roof!

Posted Mar 9, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed in the trailers on the roof. It was super fun and comfy. Good breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by Helene, Hotel Management
Dear James Thank you for choosing the Grand Daddy hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards Grand Daddy team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Heart of town

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Wotif
The Grand Daddy is a boutique hotel in the heart of Cape Town's Long St, full of restaurants, cafes and shops. The hotel is comfortable and has a wonderful décor. We were presented with a glass of wine on arrival. Staff were happy and accommodating, helping out with printing and scanning important work documents. Good internet which dropped out occasionally but came back quickly. The only small down side was that it was fairly noisy at times in such a happening street.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location and friendly staff

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
Very pleasant hotel to serve as a base for tourists in Cape Town. Room was rather small and lacked a chair (there's was a stool to use at the desk). On the other hand, there's a very large and quiet lounge on the 1st floor that was great for reading/office work. Staff was very helpful and friendly.