Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Almaty

December trip

Posted Dec 30, 2017
Great hotel. Room is big and clean. Great location. Very helpful staff. I would recommend all to stay at this hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2018 by Nadia Vorster, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us at Hollow on the Square and hope to welcome you back at our property. We appreciate your feedback!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton Canada

Clean ans modern hotel

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Had a pleasant stay, staff was very accomodating as I had to delay check out due to unforeseen circumstances. Linens on bed were top quality. The only complaint was wifi waa very aporadic but that seems to be a common experience in South africa!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

I wouldn't again

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Hotel was kind of in a scary neighborhood and after sundown the city becomes a ghost town. The room I booked was in another building around the corner not actually inside the Hotel, very odd. Second day I was there the water didn't work at all. When I asked to move rooms, I was told no but you can use an empty room to take a shower. Most of the time the Wi-Fi didn't work ether. When I asked to get a little reimbursement due to the water situation I was told no. I also asked if I can get a free ride to the airport and told no. Poor customer service!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel clean and close to the tourist points

Posted Sep 14, 2017
It is close to the waterfront, you can walk, and it is close to several tourist places, the attention was great, all very friendly and the hotel very clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2017 by Jess, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your lovely review of our property! We look forward to having you visit us again soon Warm regards, Jess & the Hollow Team
4 out of 5
by Aijaz

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fabulous breakfast

Posted Jul 7, 2017 on Hotels
hotel room was spacious, with good amenities. Breakfast was superb!! Staff were always pleasant and helpful.I liked that restaurant staff remembered us from one day to the next and were very cherful.
3 out of 5
by Angelica

Not four star standard

Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Hotels
For being a 4 star hotel I don't think the conditions were the best. The shower was dirty, there were no robe or slippers, the front desk did not have an adapter to borrow, air port shuttle was almost twice as expensive through the hotel compared to when I ordered an Uber myself. The isolation to the door was extremely bad, I woke up several times from people coming in and out of the elevator in the hallway outside my room. On plus side, the breakfast buffet was really good and roomservice had good food to very affordable prices.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from India

Hopeless & Useless hotel in Cape Town

Posted May 4, 2017
Firstly location is very very bad. Had booked room for 4 nights had to check out within 2 days. Within two nights had to change my room twice.Bathrooms were pathetic. Despite checking out within two days instead of four I was not even refunded because of their bad rooms they have.
5 out of 5
by Randle

Lovely courtyard hotel with central location

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
My stay at your hotel was very good. The restaurant is very good and I love the treed courtyard and central location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maidenhead, UK

Great Hotel, lovely staff.

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, great location (15 mins walk to town), great food, great atmosphere.
Cons: NA
Great hotel, friendly staff, nice location. Great bar / restaurant attached for meals at great value.