Ratings based on 365 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Air conditioner in the room did not work.

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Maintenance staff where unable to fix it, and claimed to have no knowledge of it being broken. However there was a portable fan in the room, which indicated to me that other guests had already reported the issue and it had not been fixed. Also the room was not ready for check-in at 3pm (was supposed to be ready by 2pm) and so we had to wait for 20 minutes in the lobby an hour after the specified time. Other than that the place was clean and spacious.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Frankfurt

Run down hotel

Posted Jan 5, 2018
This hotel is in desperate need of renovations!!! As we arrived the floor was sticky dirty, the safe was broken, the door to one of the befrooms was stuck and did not close, not to mention that it was mold all over the place. Several emails send to the manager of the hotel thru the expedia plataform but none was answered. Safe could not be fixed so they gave us the master key. Door was just fixed after the 4 day of our stay. Be aware that the 2 bedroom superior apartment does only have ar condition ( and TV) in the living room. There is no washing machine in the apartment as stated in the hotel description and the instructions in the room folder. Also there is no coffee machine nor dishwasher and utensils and pots/pan are minimum ( 4 set of mix and match utensils and 1 old pan). Windows are paper thin which makes the apt very noisy. Furniture was very bad quality and was partly broken ( a chair had the seat broken and the couch had the back damaged) Expedia said that the hotel will deliver us a bottle of wine but this never happened. There wasn’t even a bottle of water in the apartment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 15, 2018 by Robyn Noel, Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. All your comments are essential to educating our staff about good and bad service. We will ensure your feedback will be given to all. Furthermore, I will personally supervise that all your other complaints are addressed so that we may improve our facilities and services
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Fantastic

Posted Jan 1, 2018
Great location close to waterfront very central.Very spacious apartment
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2018 by Robyn Noel, Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Colin, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us - we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Pleasing stay, comfortable and clean

Posted Dec 27, 2017
We stayed at Icon for 3 nights over Christmas Slightly tricky finding the entrance to building and the car park however accommodation itself was lovely. Clean and bright, lots of light. Housekeeping very good. Staff helpful. Beds comfortable. Kitchen well stocked with clean crockery and utensils. Good location in centre of town. 10 min drive to table mountain and the beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 15, 2018 by Robyn Noel, Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and for choosing our establishment. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you again as a guest
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Great place to stay in the middle of Cape Town

Posted Dec 21, 2017
Pros: Location, Service, Comfort, Cleanliness and Spaciousness
Cons: Bathrooms could be a bit more spacious.
Location: There is a Pick and Pay supermarket down the street. There are also many cafes and restaurants nearby. It is also near the Convention Centre.
When we arrived at Icon Luxury Apartments, the check-in process was smooth and we were greeted with friendly staff who was very willing to give us some helpful tips about the area. The apartment we had was clean and spacious, while the bed was comfortable. The apartments are also conveniently located along Lower Long Street. Check-out was also a very smooth process.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 15, 2018 by Robyn Noel, Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
I appreciate your positive feedback. We do take pride in catering to our guests' needs the best way we can. If you're traveling to our area again soon, don't hesitate to call us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Luanda, Angola

Was robbed by housekeeping + safe was tampered.

Posted Dec 14, 2017
Pros: I like Icon's location, security and covered garage. It's also convinient that Icon has both a Food Lover's and a Vida e Cafe on the ground floor.
Cons: - Black out curtains in the bedrooms. - Always have a 2nd key available for guests who request so, despite staying in a single bed apt.
Location: Walking distance to parliament garderns (20min), green market Square (10min), water front (30min), Christian Barnard MH (10min.) - Uber, cabs and bus
Not my frist stay at the Icon, but first time I was robbed there :-( 3 days before departure I had problems in openning the safe, hotel manager came to rescue and got it open - we found it odd and decided to check our luggage; nothing missing them but items had clearly been searched. 2 days before departure we had issues again with the safe (jammed due to excessive trys with wrong code) and had to call the manager again. Nothing was missing from safe but this time arround, after going through our luggage, we noticed that small items (L'Oreal mascaras) were missing and that £20.00 have been stolen from our coin purse , both stored in a closed (but not locked) trolley. We filled a report with the hotel management and asked them to get the police involved. 1 day prior to departure, the safe wasn't tampered with but, our things were searched again. :-( The thieve was tenacious in searching our things thoroughly. Totally inadmissible such behavior from housekeeping. No one else had our room/apartment key and we certainly had no stranger/visitors in the apartment during our stay. My advice to future guest of Icon is to 1) do store all your valuables in the safe, as Icon will only pay for items in safe (if stollen). 2) make a list of all small belongings just to check if something is missing. 3) before leaving the room, store all your belongings (expect clothes) in suticase and lock it with a lock/code and preferably a suitcase jacket too. Better safe than sorry.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2018 by Robyn Noel, Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Adriana, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. . I am very sorry to hear that several things throughout your stay did not meet your expectations. Please note that your concerns have been passed on to management for further investigation and feedback
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas USA

Posted Dec 9, 2017
My wife and I stayed a total of eight days and the experience was great! Clean,safe with excellent customer service! Close to beach and all tourist attractions! Will certainly stay again! Thanks Icon staff for a job well done!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2018 by Robyn Noel, Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and for choosing our establishment. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you again as a guest
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Home Away From Home

Posted Dec 1, 2017
Pros: The wonderful staff are the most important but we also enjoyed the spacious units and lovely views of Cape Town.
Location: A short walk to Long Street, Kloof Street and the V&A Waterfront
What a perfect stay! Lovely people and fresh, modern building. This is a great property for business and pleasure. A wonderful location in Cape Town that makes it simple to walk and sight-see. Many Thanks to a kind and friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2017 by Robyn Noel, Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Haven-Brown, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We hope that we get to welcome you back soon! Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely location

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Plug for hairdrier near a mirror!
Ideally placed at the bottom of long street to enjoy the night life and also the hop on hop off buses are fairly close. V&A waterfront is also walkable. The food lovers market is great for breakfast...but beware it isnt open on weekends. The travel desk near reception is really useful too and their collection from the airport was faultless.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2017 by Robyn Noel, Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Lynn, Thank you for your kind review. We will continue to provide our guests with the best possible experience and we hope to see you again soon Best Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Icon Luxury Apartments

Posted Nov 28, 2017
The stay here is comfortable and modern. The staff is very friendly and helpful. There is a market with a large variety of ready made food within the structure, an atm, and coffee shop making it easy to get what you need.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2017 by Robyn Noel, Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anthony, I appreciate your positive feedback. We do take pride in catering to our guests' needs the best way we can. If you're traveling to our area again soon, don't hesitate to call us. Best regards