Ratings based on 504 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Nice hotel, friendly and helpful staff on front desk
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Terence Duckitt, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review of Mandela Rhodes Place Suite Hotel. I shall be sure to share your sentiments with the entire team. We hope to welcome you back soon. Best regards Terence Duckitt General Manager Comfort. Convenience. Excellence.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Perfect Hotel

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: Staff, room, service.
Cons: N/A
Location: Just around the corner from Long and Blee, the two best streets in town.
Lovely hotel, great stuff, and as I was Expedia + VIP, I was upgraded to a penthouse apartment at no cost! Amazing and will stay there next time I'm in Cape Town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Terence Duckitt, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us at Mandela Rhodes Place Suite Hotel. We will be sure to share your sentiments with the entire team. We are delighted that you enjoyed the upgrade. We hope to welcome you back soon. Best regards Terence Duckitt General Manager Comfort. Convenience. Excellence.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Fabulous hotel and friendly staff

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: The suite was amaking.
Cons: No improvements.
Location: Just beside Long Street, the Slave House Museum, St George's Market. Great location.
I would really recommend this hotel. Every staff member we came in contact with was warm ,friendly and very helpful. The suite we had was just fabulous. Clean, modern, spacious and very comfortable. Great location for all sight seeing and just around the corner from the big bus city tour bus stop. The hotel also has a complimentary bus to and from the V&A Waterfront.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2017 by Terence Duckitt - GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for your fabulous review of Mandela Rhodes Place. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Very good hotel in the center of Capetown

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Location, spacious and helpful staff.
Cons: Internet
The hotel is convenient for everything shopping, sight seeing and has a market nearby. Although the internet is a drawback the view of Table mountain out of the window and the helpful staff made us overlook it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by Terence Duckitt - GM, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback on your Mandela Rhodes Place experience. We understand the internet is a problem and we are in the process of the fixing this. Hope to welcome you back soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mandela Rhodes Capetown

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Thoroughly enjoyable. All staff were very knowledgable and helpful. Only needed to ask a question ie. Where to get crayfish? And the staff were quick to recommend places. Atmosphere great. Room fantastic. All restaurants in complex extremely friendly. Only thing spa facilities no longer available on site. Great introduction to Capetown.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by Terence Duckitt - GM, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for sharing your Mandela Rhodes Place experience with us. Delighted the team were able to assist you with all questions and requests. Yes, the spa was closed in Nov 2016 however we have an inhouse Therapist on call for any treatments required. Hope to welcome you back soon.
5 out of 5
by Robert

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The apartment needs renovation

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Excellent location, easily reachable anywhere. I booked Superior Room-two bedroom apartment. It was a bad condition of the apartment- in the bathroom was a smell of mold, the shower was dirty, dirty sofas-you can not use it, the apartment needs renovation.
5 out of 5
by Bonnie

Posted Jul 31, 2017 on Hotels
Very pleased with the room and service. Except for hotel restaurants choice is limited in the area but the location was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, wonderful facility

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: The location is the best! In the middle of everything, or quick access. Huge, with enough space and comfort. Full kitchen facilities
Cons: Treatment of guests. Too hands-off, which can be a shock to first-time visitors. And allow guests the ability to make local calls from the room?
Location: V&A Waterfront is a few minutes away, and the hotel provides free shuttle. Clubs and restaurants are close by, and shopping facilities are accessible
The location is wonderful, and the room is comfortable and pleasant, but beyond that, it's rather impersonal. Once you're checked in, you seem to be on your own. Everything seems to be outsourced: food, gym, etc. Very hands-off. The worse is the fact that you cannot make a phone call from the room. All calls have to be done by the front desk staff. When I asked about it, I was told that we cannot use the phone in the room to make (even) local calls. Tried to book a restaurant, and the receptionist FORGOT to do it, and we were left waiting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL USA

Excellent hotel for a very reasonable price

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Location, comfort, very spacy
Everything was absolutely perfect It is a 2 bedroom/2 bath apartment