Ratings based on 386 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very convenient location

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Pros: The staff was super friendly
Cons: The maintenance of the room.
Everything in the hotel was good. The only complaint would be about the housecleaning.... it was very minimal. The breakfast was great and the staff very pleasant. I would definitively recommend this hotel. It is walking distance to everywhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Palm Springs, CA

Nice hotel with complementary shuttle.

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Pros: The staff, the breakfast, and the shuttle.
Cons: The size of the rooms and the squeaky pull-out bed.
Location: The waterfront is very close, and the city center location made it a perfect pick-up spot for local tours.
My family and I stayed a week in this hotel while visiting Cape Town. The room was smaller than expected, and we needed to utilize the pull-out sofa bed. We had two kids using this bed, and I was very concerned that it would not be comfortable. I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the mattress on the pull-out. Although it was a comfortable pull-out... it squeaked. And not just a little squeak, it was very loud and very annoying. I woke up every time my child moved. Also worth noting is the glass bathroom wall. I read in other reviews that there was a glass bathroom wall that reduced privacy. I didn't think it would be too big of a deal, and it wasn't too bad... but wow, did we laugh a lot the first few days. You can clearly see the silhouette of the individual showering. You had to be careful of the lighting, as it would seriously impact the clarity of the image. The location of the hotel was very convenient. It was walking distance to a few good eats, and the complementary shuttle was also great. The staff at the hotel was VERY friendly and helpful, and the breakfast buffet was INCREDIBLE. They had a great variety. So convenient and so good, and it saved us a ton of money. The breakfast alone made this hotel one I would visit again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Nice hotel close to conference

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: It was very close to the conference I was attending.
Cons: see above
The breakfasts were excellent in quality and diversity, and the staff extremely helpful when I had a question. The first night there was no soap or shampoo & conditioner so was glad I had brought my own. I was surprised that there was no ironing facilities in the room as most hotels in the US have, and not many hangers. The bed was extremely comfortable, but I personally found the room a little too warm.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by Jim Schleich, Hotel Management
Dear Gabi Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience of our hotel following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read that overall your experience was positive about all aspects of your stay and that the staff could be helpful. We certainly will look into the areas mentioned in your review and do hope that we get the chance to welcome you back should your travels bring you to Cape Town again. Kind regards, Jim Schleich General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Conveniently located. Nice & clean.

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Staff were helpful & friendly. Room good size & comfortable. Bathroom nice & clean except shower door not closing probably, so water leaks out a bit. Good views from our room. Our room is directly underneath the restaurant on the 11th floor, so every morning we can hear staff move tables & chairs at about 5am for a short period then it's quiet again. Nonetheless, we were awaken by the noise. Overall we had a very enjoyable 4 days stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2017 by Kind regards, Jim Schleich General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Leyou Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience of our hotel following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read that overall your experience was positive about all aspects of your stay and that the staff could be helpful I do apologize that for the noise caused by the staff in moving furniture and have addressed this with the team to ensure that we do not create disturbance in preparing for the day. I do hope that we get the chance to welcome you back should your travels bring you to Cape Town again. Kind regards, Jim Schleich General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arora

Good location but bad staff

Posted May 28, 2017
Waited for 20 min for checkin. Horrible parking place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2017 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Dear Nitin, Thank you for your review. We apologize you were disappointed with the parking at the hotel and the time it took to check in. We appreciate you bringing these matters to our attention and will use your comments to improve our guest experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 23, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2017
Dear Verified Traveller Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to rate your experience. Kind Regards, Jim Schleich General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No use!

Posted May 20, 2017
I used gym for 4 days while I was there, For 4 days they never replace the fruit basket nor the fill the water, I will not stay at the same place again
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Dear Cengiz, Thank you for your review. We regret to hear you were dissatisfied with your stay and appreciate you sharing your experience. We hope you will consider us again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Place

Posted May 7, 2017
Great location, awesome breakfast, ( don't forget egg station. ) Friendliness just as discribed in other reviews. Quiet.Everyone helpful. Shuttle was nice touch.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, disappointing service.

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
We were checked into a smoking room after specifically asking for a non smoking room. No turn down service on first night that resulted in kids waiting for 20min to have their sleeper couch prepared and bedding supplied. At 9pm on second night we once again had to phone reception asking for turndown service.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We regret to hear you did not receive the room you were expecting and for the disappointing service during your stay. We value your feedback and have shared your comments with hotel management to review.
4 out of 5
by Adiel

Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2017
Dear Adiel Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to rate your experience. Kind Regards, Jim Schleich General Manager