Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beirut - Lebanon

Nice location and staff

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: the internet needs to be faster
Location: its an great location to stay at. you will be able to do everything by walking.
the location of the hotel is excellent, far from the traffic and close to water front and city center, the staff is very friendly and helpful. rooms are clean and well organized.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really friendly and comfortable stay. Lovely staff

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Great boutique hotel. Cool and comfortable. Great location and would suit singles and couples best. Highly recommended
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel wasted on poor service, noise

Posted Jun 7, 2017 on Hotels
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone who values night-time quiet or reliable, consistent service. Got conflicting information (and varying degrees of politeness) from the staff members about the rooftop bar hours, laundry service pricing, etc. No microwave. No way to make tea/coffee in the room. Dirty windows. And don't book for the rooftop bar. Alcohol contents are akin to that of a bar in a dinky college town. They offer only one South African spirit (a way-too-sweet brandy), their coffee machine was broken every day we were there, and the bar closed before sunset, even when the weather was nice (when the always-on-his-phone bartender got bored). They charge 100 rand corkage to bring your own wine to the (always empty) bar. Bought some wine in the winelands? Pay more than the cost of the bottle to drink it on the rooftop, otherwise drink it alone in your room. Fun! The piano bar and restaurant downstairs blast music until late. Wouldn't matter except you can hear everything from a sneeze to jingling keys on other floors, because the whole hotel is open and there are poor seals on the doors/windows. Admittedly, the hotel/decor is beautiful, and the location is excellent, but there are dozens of high quality hotel options in the same location for a similar cost, so I don't see the point in booking at the noisy, poorly managed Grey.
3 out of 5
by Fredrik

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 7, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful boutique hotel close to the waterfront

Posted Jun 5, 2017
We had a lovely stay at the Gray. Only a 7 minute drive to the waterfront, and it had a bakery and several other restaurants within a 5 minute walking distance. A small, but beautiful and comfortable room and shower.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tiny room but great location

Posted May 23, 2017 on Hotels
The room was teeny tiny - completely different from the pictures of the rooms featured on the website. We had two large suitcases for a four night stay and had nowhere to put them (couldn't even put them under the bed as it was completely solid underneath). The bed was comfy and there was a decent sized flat screened TV - however, the TV was pointless as there was literally only one DSTV channel available to watch. On the plus side, the hotel staff did allow us to check in earlier as our flights arrived long before 3pm. It was also kept clean and a mini bar fridge is also available, although a kettle and some tea and coffee would not have gone amiss. There are two restaurants on site and the weekend revellers were noisy at times so not great if you're a very light sleeper (which luckily I'm not). On a more positive note, the location of the hotel was superb. It was close enough to walk to Cape Town Stadium, as well as the vibey Long and Kloof Streets. It's also a short Uber ride away from the V&A and Lions Head.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very dissappointed!!!

Posted May 22, 2017 on Hotels
I was very disappointed to discover that the swimming pool was under repairs and unusable, this was not made clear at time of booking. I booked the hotel specifically for the pool and bar access. I feel let down by both Hotels.com and Grey Hotel. I would like a refund or complimentary accommodation from Hotels.com
5 out of 5
by Miriam

Charming

Posted May 21, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely little place just off of the main drag in town. There's several bars and restaurants and cafes right nearby, and even more if you're willing to walk just a little bit further. If you're willing to skimp on things like fancy room-service and giant rooms, this place is cute and very dollar-friendly.
5 out of 5
by George

Nothing Grey - it is a beautiful Black & White!

Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
We love your hotel! Here are our top 3 reasons: 1. Love the décor of your rooms - stayed in Rooms1, 2 and 3. Room 3 is awesome, overlooking the Table Mountain from the balcony - wow! 2. Love the service from Avril, even when we were up early at 5am for taxi to airport. Lisa was excellent, and gave us an upgrade for 3 nights, after realising we had a tough night before due to the noise level from the kitchen. 3. the surrounding was so convenient for what we wanted - the mall, Cape Quarters was next door with its supermarket; the colorful Bo-Kaap community was our neighbour; and the Table Mountain was a short ride away
5 out of 5
by Hannah

Great city boutique hotel

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
Perfect city centre boutique hotel with plenty of surrounding cafes/restaurants. Easy walk to Bree/Long street and to V&A Waterfront area. Comfortable modern clean room. Great value for money.