Ratings based on 144 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

A thumbs up to the New Tulbagh Hotel

Posted Apr 10, 2018
We have been travelling round Zimbabwe, Botswana and South Africa for several weeks and we feel this hotel offers best value for money . Our room was spotless with crisp white bedding and the breakfast, which was included in the price, was the best on our trip. The only downside was that our room was next to a very noisy lift , however, for us this is a good place to spend a few days
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 23, 2018 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 9, 2018 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Gert

Posted Dec 26, 2017 on Hotels
The stay was as expected.The one serious issue was the so called secure parking. .I t turned out to be public parking controlled by a parking vendor during the day. He leaves at 6pm where after there was no security except for a hotel staff member who works at the bar occupationally glancing out the window The staff at the hotel was not clear on how it works. The hotel lifts need attention!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Cape Town hotel

Posted Dec 23, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness and location.
Newly decorated room on first floor facing front. Construction nearby so some noise began about 7 a.m. Very good buffet breakfast. Friendly staff. Excellent location for shops and harbour.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Qld, Australia

The New Tulbagh - nothing new about this hotel

Posted Dec 14, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Service, security, comfort, linen laundry, customer satisfaction, corporate good will
Location: CBD near convention centre
On checkin I asked for a room away from the noise coming from what I thought at the time was a construction site next door, 'okay' was the reply, but alias the jack hammer like noise continued all night - it was the old lifts in the hotel making the noise. The room couldn't be locked, the AC didn't work and the linen was stained. Next day I told them of my concerns,'sorry' manager wasn't there, it was a Sunday, so I cancelled the remaining 4 days of my booking, and checked into another hotel. Guess what, they would not accept the cancellation and still charged for the 4 days that I wasn't there.
5 out of 5
by morgs from pe

Posted Nov 28, 2017 on Hotels
great . staff wad great. especially primrose and Andrea
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017
Good Morning Thank you for the positive feedback! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back soon! Kind Regards, Gerhard Koegelenberg Reservations Executive
2 out of 5
by Brendon

Bad experience

Posted Oct 25, 2017 on Hotels
Room was dirty, towels had holes in them. There was no duvet cover but just two flat sheets below and above the duvet inner. I expected a much better experience given the cost per night. Parking was an issue as the parking lot was always full. Breakfast was good
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy, bad food, and rude staff

Posted Apr 28, 2017
The hotel is extremely noisy, the blonde lady at the front desk was not only unhelpful but plain rude, the food at the buffet is not only bad but the same menu every day ( at least they are consistent in something) and the area although walkable if full of beggers and drunk people, on the flip side is very clean and has cable tv and free Internet.
4 out of 5
by Marelle

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
Lifts did not work properly, but a sign was posted to this effect. Breakfast was excellent.