Ratings based on 128 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy, bad food, and rude staff

Posted Apr 28, 2017
The hotel is extremely noisy, the blonde lady at the front desk was not only unhelpful but plain rude, the food at the buffet is not only bad but the same menu every day ( at least they are consistent in something) and the area although walkable if full of beggers and drunk people, on the flip side is very clean and has cable tv and free Internet.
4 out of 5
by Marelle

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
Lifts did not work properly, but a sign was posted to this effect. Breakfast was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from l

Good hotel

Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Orbitz
It is a good hotel, it is clean and confortable. The only negative is that it is kind of danger outside. We had an attempted of assault just one block from the hotel. The hotel is very nice, but danger around there for tourist
3 out of 5
by Gerald

Comfortable Stay

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
The stay was good. We had a problem initially when checking in due to a water leak and maintenance work - the hotel decided to move us to a sister hotel just off Long Street promising it was an upgrade. Turned out the alternative was in a very noisy area with very tiny rooms and we were moved back to the Tulbagh after we asked to cancel the booking and look for an alternate accommodation. Funny enough, once we mentioned cancelling a room was found for us in the original hotel that was not affected by the water leak. Hotel is in a convenient location for connectivity around the city and beyond.
5 out of 5
by Noloyiso

Awesome experience....

Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Hotels
it was amazing, the service, the food, the neat rooms, close to ICC, everything was just perfect for me. i wish i can get a booking for next year's Jazz festival days.
3 out of 5
by Afsaneh

they say you get what you pay for

Posted Feb 23, 2017 on Hotels
breakfast was great. make sure you have to pay extra for parking. the elevator is too noisy. It is hard to sleep and you have remind the staff to stop the elevator in the evening hours if you happen to have your room close to the elevator.
5 out of 5
by Sylvie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Australia

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: lovely building
Cons: administration let our stay down
Location: close to convention centre
perfect location for needing to attend the convention centre. i chose this hotel for location and the offer of hotel shuttle to collect from the airport and take us to our cruise ship meeting place. NOBODY showed up to pick us up even though I had 3-4 emails confirming our airport pickup which was a disappointing start. no apologies. hotel organised a taxi once i rang them after waiting patiently over an hour.
1 out of 5
by danie

Posted Jan 26, 2017 on Hotels
worst service and the rooms were old, load and uncomfortable. Not worth the price. they should loose the word New in their name
2 out of 5
by Sally

Do not recommend.

Posted Jan 24, 2017 on Hotels
Disaster from start to finish. Started with booking apparently not being available due to invoice having been sent to incorrect email address. Room musty smelling. Turned out carpet was wet. Shower tap leaking badly. Moved to new room. No hot water. Dinner meals very poor. Bar service very slow. Tackled in unprofessional manner (again) about booking not being paid for - again their mistake. Requested porter, but no-one helped.