Ratings based on 251 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Carmen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Conveniently located

Posted Mar 19, 2017
The hotel had all the basics covered. Convenient to the hop on hop off bus, museums, and not too far from the waterfront. Breakfast was great. Room faced the square and was noisy. It was a bit run down, but it's an older building and the experience was perfectly fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seoul

Right in the middle of Cape Town !

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Orbitz
I love the whole experience, it's not a luxury hotel but I love the way the place is kept and looked after. I will go back again for sure !
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mount Lebanon

Great pleace to stay in SA' Mother City

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Clean, in the heart of Cape Town... friendly staff.. good english breakfast & rich
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Excellent position; bood breakfast. Very nice staff
4 out of 5
by brian

yes

Posted Feb 5, 2017 on Hotels
perfect proximity for so many Cape Town must do's
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ukraine

Nice hotel with excellent location!

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: Good location, very friendly stuff. My half day trip was arranged in spite of short notice, some tips and advises helped me a lot during my staying.
Cons: Bath was a little bit old, but everything was working though. WiFi was a bit dodgy and need to be improved.
Location: Very nice location, close to the Green Square Market, 5 min walking to Hop om, Hop Off bus, plenty of coffee shops and restaurants around!
It was only 3,5 days, but I really enjoyed my stay there. Brilliant location, friendly stuff, clean room and nice breakfast - highly recommended!
5 out of 5
by Marshall

Lovely, big room and balcony near sites. Poor WiFi

Posted Jan 18, 2017 on Hotels
Due to flight delays we missed a couple of days of our stay but while delayed in another country, we were able to email them and request that they not give away our room as it was over the NYE holidays. They were very quick in their responses and pleased to accommodate us. Very, very fortunate and grateful for their flexibility. Our second room floor was really lovely and large with an equally large balcony overlooking the street and corner of Greenmarket Square. The local area is very walkable and close to the sights/sites. Unfortunately, the television remote batteries were dead (it happens) but trying to find new ones was a challenge for the front desk (trying ones from a variety of other devices) and ultimately, it never ended up working and we had to change the channel manually each time. We are unsure if the limited channels were because of the lack of remote or that there really were only 4 channels: the Russian news channel and the sports channels. WiFi connection is very, very poor. You could try to use it in the room but it was very unreliable. We attempted to use it in the lobby but it was equally unreliable. The clerk reset the router but explained that difficulty with the connection was very common. The front desk clerk, meek but kind enough, could offer very little in ways of area details. Though she Googled a couple of things, we found that we relied on finding stuff on our own by trial and error.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Hotels
We did 2 stays. The first room we got was somewhat small for 2 persons. The second one was bigger but not really clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Small, friendly hotel in a great location

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Older hotel with a lot of character. Great location next to the big market. A bit of a walk to the waterfront but doable. Staff very friendly and helpful.