Ratings based on 260 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by brian

yes

Posted Feb 5, 2017 on Hotels
perfect proximity for so many Cape Town must do's
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ukraine

Nice hotel with excellent location!

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: Good location, very friendly stuff. My half day trip was arranged in spite of short notice, some tips and advises helped me a lot during my staying.
Cons: Bath was a little bit old, but everything was working though. WiFi was a bit dodgy and need to be improved.
Location: Very nice location, close to the Green Square Market, 5 min walking to Hop om, Hop Off bus, plenty of coffee shops and restaurants around!
It was only 3,5 days, but I really enjoyed my stay there. Brilliant location, friendly stuff, clean room and nice breakfast - highly recommended!
5 out of 5
by Marshall

Lovely, big room and balcony near sites. Poor WiFi

Posted Jan 18, 2017 on Hotels
Due to flight delays we missed a couple of days of our stay but while delayed in another country, we were able to email them and request that they not give away our room as it was over the NYE holidays. They were very quick in their responses and pleased to accommodate us. Very, very fortunate and grateful for their flexibility. Our second room floor was really lovely and large with an equally large balcony overlooking the street and corner of Greenmarket Square. The local area is very walkable and close to the sights/sites. Unfortunately, the television remote batteries were dead (it happens) but trying to find new ones was a challenge for the front desk (trying ones from a variety of other devices) and ultimately, it never ended up working and we had to change the channel manually each time. We are unsure if the limited channels were because of the lack of remote or that there really were only 4 channels: the Russian news channel and the sports channels. WiFi connection is very, very poor. You could try to use it in the room but it was very unreliable. We attempted to use it in the lobby but it was equally unreliable. The clerk reset the router but explained that difficulty with the connection was very common. The front desk clerk, meek but kind enough, could offer very little in ways of area details. Though she Googled a couple of things, we found that we relied on finding stuff on our own by trial and error.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Hotels
We did 2 stays. The first room we got was somewhat small for 2 persons. The second one was bigger but not really clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Small, friendly hotel in a great location

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Older hotel with a lot of character. Great location next to the big market. A bit of a walk to the waterfront but doable. Staff very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great location, wonderful staff

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Hotel was perfect location, safe area to walk around. Near to restaurants and cafes and open market. Hotel staff were fantastic and very helpful, felt they really cared about the guests. Included breakfasts were wonderful!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central hotel with friendly staff.

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
This is a quaint hotel (established in 1750) with a central location, next to Green Market Square, and within easy walking distance to Bo-Kaap, District 6, and many museums and art galleries. It also has a nice little bar in the lobby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Superb location for accessing tours!

Posted Nov 4, 2016
Pros: Location, friendly and safe.
Cons: Nil
Location: Hop on hop off, Bo-Kap, Green square markets, Long st nightlife and food nearby.
Welcoming staff, good breakfast free with room, 2 mins walk to Hop on Hop off bus stop and walking tours meet up point. Walking distance to food and Bo-Kap. Short taxi to waterfront. Great if you have little time and need to explore maximum! Reasonable value for the price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Okay

Posted Oct 25, 2016
The hotel is in a good place near Longstreet. But a bit pricey overall.