Ratings based on 6 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Turkey

Great affordable hotel near to many attractions

Posted Jun 2, 2015
I really liked this hotel, the staff were great, the place was clean and well-kept, and great location within walking distance from so many places - I spent days walking and really appreciated how much was close by. While my car was broken into just up the road, it was not parked in an area covered by the hotel - so just make sure your car is in the locations that the hotel indicates is covered by their security. Definitely don't ignore this advice and do not leave GPS devices within vision.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by Bruce, Hotel Management
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for the good advice to other potential guests regarding car security. Regards, Bruce
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

I would recommend this guest house to most people

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: Small and cozy. The other guests were pleasant to talk to at breakfast. The staff was hard working. The location was convenient to everything.
Cons: Our room was over the kitchen. The staff would make a lot of noise preparing breakfast at 7AM. The WIFI should reach the bedroom. Nicer towels maybe
Location: The Waterkant had nice restaurants, bars and shops. Table Mountain was worth a visit. Make sure to visit wineries and the botanical gardens.
We were in "the suite" in rose lodge (28 rose st) for five nights. We arrived around 2PM and there was no street parking available. The staff looked for the key to the back gate but couldn't find it so we had to park illegally until the street cleared out at 5. After 5PM there was plenty of parking. If you do park on the street, do not leave anything in your car. The room was bright and comfortable, but the bathroom was open to the room (except for the toilet). If you are sharing the room, you will see your roommate naked. There was a separate tub and large shower but a small pedestal sink. The shower had a raised pebble floor that might be an issue for sensitive feet. The bed was a comfortable king with 4 pillows, 2 regular and 2 square. The safe was so far under the desk that it wasn't too useful. There was plenty of shelves and hanging space. The wifi did not work well in our room but worked fine in the dining room. Breakfast was good enough for our needs: Toast, yogurt, muffins, croissants, eggs, juice. The Bo Kaap neighborhood is very interesting. There are quite a few homeless people that conjugate near Rose st and Strand during the day. Other than aggressive panhandlers, we did not have any incident. The hotel is 3 blocks from the Waterkant which is a trendy gay neighborhood with excellent restaurants and shopping. I would recommend this guesthouse if you are an experienced traveler and comfortable in a city environment. We had a nice stay at Rose Lodge.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2015 by Bruce, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our guest house. Kind regards, Bruce and his team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, Oregon

Nice place. Good location

Posted Feb 14, 2015
Pros: Location and facilities were great. Staff were helpful. They arranged a pickup from the airport and it went smoothly.
Cons: Would have been nice if staff were closer to the rental unit.
Location: Very easy to access downtown and restaurants and tourist activities.
If I had known I would have stayed longer. Staff were very helpful. The price was very reasonable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2015 by Bruce, Hotel Management
Thank you ! Maybe you'll come back and stay longer next time :) Kind regards, Bruce
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice guest house

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Nice guest house in a very colourful and unique part of town, compared to the more touristy areas. Modern accommodation among the narrow cobblestone streets. Along with some of the benefits of this truly South African area, some danger lingers. Sunlight is your friend. Great dinning near by.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2015 by Bruce, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our guesthouse. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards, Bruce
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

A friendly place well-situated in Bo-Kaap

Posted Jul 21, 2014
We were very well received by Edward, who gave us good advice and information for exploring the area, booked our taxis, and made tasty muffins and croissants. The room was small but cosy. The kitchen area was clean and the choice for self-made breakfast was good. There is a closed garden where guests may smoke. The location is convenient for exploring Cape Town, and a few blocks from Long Street where you will find restaurants (Africa Café is even closer), and can hop on the sightseeing double-decker. It is also within a comfortable walking distance from the Castle of Good Hope and District Six Museum, and you can go to the V&A Waterfront or Table Mountain cheaply and quickly by taxi.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2015 by Bruce, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our B&B. We are so happy you liked our accommodation and look forward to your return visit ! Kind regards, Amanda, Daniel, Edward & Bruce
2 out of 5
by renate from firenze

B&B datato e buio

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: La posizione.
Cons: Tutto
Location: Ottima posizione. Consiglierei di prenotare il rose lodge molto carino e luminoso. L Il proprietario e' lo stesso.
Camere minuscole, assolutamente solo per viaggiatori singoli. Colazione self service scadente con prodotti da discount. Transfert oganizzato da hotel arrivato con mezz'ora di ritardo in apt.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by Bruce, Hotel Management
Siamo molto dispiaciuti che non erano soddisfatti del vostro alloggio. Vorrei che tu ci avessi detto quando siamo andati dentro deposito o il pagamento non era stato fatto e si potrebbe avere cancellato la prenotazione senza penale. La colazione a buffet non è certamente di qualità sconto, ma è self-service, come è reso chiaro al momento della prenotazione. Posso solo scusarmi se il trasferimento organizzato da me non era in tempo. Io uso una compagnia di taxi locale che di solito è molto puntuale. Ci scusiamo per gli eventuali disagi che avevi. Cordiali saluti, Bruce