Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 8, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Kurt from Los Angeles

Very nice hotel

Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels
This is a great boutique hotel. The staff and owner were very nice and helpful. Daily breakfast was great. The only critique I have is the WIFI. The WiFI was terribly slow, did not work in the room, only in the very small common area.
4 out of 5
by Lenin from Newcastle Australia

A very pleasant stay

Posted Feb 22, 2016 on Hotels
I really liked the neighborhood,apart from the Saturday night when I had to leave early,the next morning, and there was a band playing outside on the street, going around the block and back again,owners were very friendly and helpful.Would definitely stay there again,value for the money.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 2, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Zwelethu

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 22, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 7, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Turkey

Great affordable hotel near to many attractions

Posted Jun 2, 2015
I really liked this hotel, the staff were great, the place was clean and well-kept, and great location within walking distance from so many places - I spent days walking and really appreciated how much was close by. While my car was broken into just up the road, it was not parked in an area covered by the hotel - so just make sure your car is in the locations that the hotel indicates is covered by their security. Definitely don't ignore this advice and do not leave GPS devices within vision.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by Bruce, Hotel Management
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for the good advice to other potential guests regarding car security. Regards, Bruce
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

I would recommend this guest house to most people

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: Small and cozy. The other guests were pleasant to talk to at breakfast. The staff was hard working. The location was convenient to everything.
Cons: Our room was over the kitchen. The staff would make a lot of noise preparing breakfast at 7AM. The WIFI should reach the bedroom. Nicer towels maybe
Location: The Waterkant had nice restaurants, bars and shops. Table Mountain was worth a visit. Make sure to visit wineries and the botanical gardens.
We were in "the suite" in rose lodge (28 rose st) for five nights. We arrived around 2PM and there was no street parking available. The staff looked for the key to the back gate but couldn't find it so we had to park illegally until the street cleared out at 5. After 5PM there was plenty of parking. If you do park on the street, do not leave anything in your car. The room was bright and comfortable, but the bathroom was open to the room (except for the toilet). If you are sharing the room, you will see your roommate naked. There was a separate tub and large shower but a small pedestal sink. The shower had a raised pebble floor that might be an issue for sensitive feet. The bed was a comfortable king with 4 pillows, 2 regular and 2 square. The safe was so far under the desk that it wasn't too useful. There was plenty of shelves and hanging space. The wifi did not work well in our room but worked fine in the dining room. Breakfast was good enough for our needs: Toast, yogurt, muffins, croissants, eggs, juice. The Bo Kaap neighborhood is very interesting. There are quite a few homeless people that conjugate near Rose st and Strand during the day. Other than aggressive panhandlers, we did not have any incident. The hotel is 3 blocks from the Waterkant which is a trendy gay neighborhood with excellent restaurants and shopping. I would recommend this guesthouse if you are an experienced traveler and comfortable in a city environment. We had a nice stay at Rose Lodge.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2015 by Bruce, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our guest house. Kind regards, Bruce and his team
3 out of 5
by mr was from Durban

Mr

Posted Apr 1, 2015 on Hotels
parking too far you have to walk,no one to talk to just left alone
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2015 by Bruce, Hotel Management
Our parking is really only a few minutes away and we are always around for a chat or to give you advice or help :) Otherwise, you can always stop in at our reception. Kind regards, The team at 22 on Rose
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, Oregon

Nice place. Good location

Posted Feb 14, 2015
Pros: Location and facilities were great. Staff were helpful. They arranged a pickup from the airport and it went smoothly.
Cons: Would have been nice if staff were closer to the rental unit.
Location: Very easy to access downtown and restaurants and tourist activities.
If I had known I would have stayed longer. Staff were very helpful. The price was very reasonable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2015 by Bruce, Hotel Management
Thank you ! Maybe you'll come back and stay longer next time :) Kind regards, Bruce