Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by sherese

Great spot with terrific views and friendly staff

Posted Mar 1, 2017 on Hotels
This is a lovely place to stay. The staff is so nice and the views of Gordons Bay is absolutely breathtaking.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 7, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 2, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Gabriel from Cape Town

Very Comfortable

Posted Jul 8, 2015 on Hotels
Very Comfortable
5 out of 5
by Martin from London

A memorable Christmas stay in Noordhoek

Posted Dec 31, 2014 on Hotels
I had a wonderful time in the guesthouse! I love the area as it's close to Noordhoek Beach, one of the best beaches in Cape Town and not far from Constantia Valley (for visiting wine estates and hiking Table Mountain). The room wasn't huge but more than enough for one person and the private terrace was just perfect. The breakfast was really good and the owners of the guesthouse, Marc and Marjolijn even organised a delicious Christmas braai (a traditional South African barbecue) for the guests. I wish I could have stayed a little longer.
5 out of 5
by Eugene from South Africa

Beautiful gem in Noordhoek

Posted Jul 10, 2014 on Hotels
We only stayed at African Queen for one night. We arrived early, and were greeted by Marc, the owner. He invited us in, provided us with a welcome drink as well as some very informative tips on things to do in the area. We then left our luggage (as our room was not available yet), and only arrived quite late again with Marc welcoming us back, our heater switched on in the room, and the luggage safely next to our bed. African Queen is your typical guesthouse. The rooms are located inside the house, with access through the main door. The room did not have a TV, but a communal TV Lounge is available . You are served with a continental breakfast. In our opinion, the warm heartedness of the owners makes this a special little guesthouse.
5 out of 5
by John Harding from Johannesburg

lovely stay, worth the extra drive

Posted Jun 28, 2014 on Hotels
I had a very brief stop over at the African Queen. The place is comfortable and neat while the owners are very friendly. Possibly not ideal for business as the location is somewhat out of town, personally I welcomed this and will in future just factor in some extra traveling time. I can definitely recommend a stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely guest house in a gorgeous setting

Posted Apr 29, 2014
The African Queen is a lovely guest house in a gorgeous part of the Cape Peninsula. And best of all--the hosts are incredibly warm and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Malcolm from Sussex UK

Very friendly and relaxed atmosphere

Posted Nov 25, 2013
Pros: The friendly, relaxed atmosphere. The room quality and overall cleanliness
Location: Ideally situated for exploring Cape Town itself and the Cape Peninsular. Plenty of restaurants without going to the City itself
I was made to feel extremely welcome by the owners and everyone there. The ensuite room itself was a good size with private terrace overlooking the gardens. The level of cleanliness throughout was excellent. The breakfast provided was of a very high standard with a great deal of choice. African Queen offers great value for money, with a relaxed, home from home feel. I would recommend it without hesitation.
5 out of 5
by Arno and Alison

Friendly luxory guest house

Posted Feb 2, 2013 on Hotels
A real home from home so we were able to relax immediately. Excellent service. Superb breakfasts. Hosts were happy to advise about local sights and provide tips about excursions. Located in an estate, a short driving distance from Noordhoek beach,easy access to Cape Town. Lovely paddock and pretty garden. High standard of cleanliness,property well maintained and decorated to a good standard.