Ratings based on 404 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great location . It was right in the heart of ....

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Pros: The staff were so friendly and warm. I felt that I was at home. The room was spaceous. It also contained fridge, extra sink and cutlery ...........
Location: Prime location. Shopping, local transport, restaurants, sight-seeing bus. local walk and visit Company Garden. Visit Fugard Theatre. Fantastic open ma
They helped made my birthday memorable by supplying cake and a bottle of bubbly. One was greeted every morning in the restaurant. There was always a waitress on hand to help with one's choice of food. If a favourite food was not on display, it could be ordered specifically, i.e. porridge.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Gemma Thank you for taking the time to notify us of your experience during your recent stay at the Adderley Hotel. We pride ourselves in the standard of product and service we have on offer to our valued guests and always a pleasure to receive such a wonderful review. We highly appreciate your feedback and comments about our friendly and warm staff, spacious rooms and prime location. We are happy that we could have been part of your Birthday celebrations. We would like to host you again at Adderley Hotel on future visits to Cape Town. Kind Regards, Dewald van der Berg General Manager aha | Adderley Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Australia

Comfortable hotel near many amenities & places of

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Site - close to places of interest & hop on-off buses, grocery shop (shoprite) Staff - very helpful & friendly
Cons: Room a little too dim for writing
Location: Many places of interest to visit - V&A waterfront, Company Garden, flee market, museums & library, cafes of various ethnic groups ( e.g. Kurdish)
Reception staff Tanjii & Palesa and manager Deewald were most friendly & helpful - they are really caring types of people, such a joy to be around with. They could sense our insecurity & uncertainty about going around in a new place, and went out of their way to offer help...thank you!!
5 out of 5
by Malcolm from Bath

Great stay in a great city

Posted Mar 2, 2016 on Hotels
Easy to find - good location - great service - excellent breakfast - what more can you want
4 out of 5
by Jim from Johannesburg

Good hotel for a base but area had seen better day

Posted Feb 29, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was very good in a area that felt at first a little intimidating but overall was ok. Advised not to walk around at night and get a taxi. We had an issue with the Adderley car park as we were clamped without warning as we had parked in what we thought was an Adderley space but turned out to be private. Warning notices appeared the day after we parked and no warning was given about the clamping.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, close to everywhere.

Posted Feb 19, 2016
Pros: Location
Was visiting for medical reasons and the hotel was conveniently located for my needs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Hotel is tired but the staff are excellent and make up the difference. Anything that was requested was carried out immediately with great humour and friendliness!!
2 out of 5
by Abhishek from India

Big impressive room with mosquitoes!

Posted Feb 5, 2016 on Hotels
Big impressive rooms, but with quite a few mosquitoes.If carry machine to avoid mosquitoes, then ok. Internet very slow. Area good bcz of shopping and restaurant, bad bcz of the front street not safe as many beggers and jobless people move around. Strictly Avoid moving alone after 6pm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 13, 2016
Pros: Spacious rooms, comfortable bed , good air con and very friendly staff
Cons: The pool area is very tired and we felt the pool was not clean enough. Also in need of some updates and new linen
Location: good parking facilities , close to shops , bars and restaurants.
Good sized room with lounge and kitchenette, extremely friendly staff and in a pretty good location with just a short taxi drive to the waterfront and within waling distance of shops , bars and restaurants. Hotel is a little tired in some areas and in need of a little updating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hyderabad, India

Family and Couple Friendly Hotel Next to Gardens

Posted Dec 20, 2015
Pros: Free internet works well in rooms Guest services including airport transfers Hotel location Restaurant balcony overlooking Adderley road
Cons: The front desk took a long time to reply to our emails to organize our visit, but a phone call would have probably cleared up any doubts.
Location: The hotel is near the nightlife area of Cape Town and has lots of restaurants and options nearby including sushi, Mexican, KFC, and local fare as well
This hotel is located just two blocks off Long street, at the end of Adderley road adjacent to the Slave Lodge museum and VOC Gardens. It is a great location that allows guests to easily walk to the nightlife of Cape Town and also visit many museums on foot without the need of a car or taxi. It is about a 5 minute drive from the Waterfront and a 10 minute dive from Table Mountain. The hotel also offers a full breakfast (not just a couple rolls and cereals like other international brands) and happy hour. The rooms are very well done with views of Adderley Road, refrigerators, microwaves, and basic plates and utensils. Unfortunately the flat screen is a little small and at an awkward place on the wall but you really won't be watching much TV with so much to see and do in the city. The reception is helpful to arrange airport transports and day tours. The airport pickup is worth the added expense to have a dedicated driver waiting for you with your name on a placard. The hotel also offers wifi and this worked reasonably well in the guest rooms. It isn't the fastest connection but you can pay for an upgrade for a higher limit and speed. Room service was also tasty and reasonably priced. The food options cover all your standard international fare (mostly European with a few Asian options) but may be difficult for vegetarian South Asians. Security in the hotel and the area in general was noticeable; guards wear yellow vests and stand at most corners.
2 out of 5
by Bennie from Swaziland

Poor but Okay

Posted Dec 16, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel front desk staff was not helpful or was not knowledgeable of how to fix things that were wrong with a booking cost of transportation or a room maintenance issue. The description on Hotels.com has false advertisement per what the front desk people were acknowledging. We had to call management to take care of things which made the stay better. The food was okay. The bartender/waitress was very nice and helpful. The rooms were nice expect for the A/C issue of dripping water throughout the night. We had to change rooms because it was not fixed correctly the next day. The location was good and walking distant to a lot of shops and restaurants. They need some type of door bell inside of the suites because the maids claim they knock on the door but they just open your door and walk right into your room then say something to let you know they have entered. So make sure to use the "Do Not Disturb" sign.