Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

De Zalze Lodges

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: Location and the free wine tasting was an excellent way to spend a Saturday afternoon!
Cons: Again I think it is a matter for trying to go for a room overlooking the golf course
Location: 10 minutes from Stellenbosch which has great array of restaurants and there are also places much closer to eat at Stellenbosch Village.
If you can try not to stay in one of the rooms that face back towards the vineyard but rather choose one which overlooks the golf course. We felt the room was quite pokey for the price and our experience wasn't improved by the fact that the aircon didn't work properly and we had two disrupted nights sleep as we were too hot - of our four nights stay we spent the other two nights in luxury suites with functioning aircon so the positive aspect was that they did all they could to sort things out hence high rating for the staff. If you want to eat in the on-site Terroir restaurant make sure you book well in advance!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from k

Great location

Posted Nov 27, 2014
Wifi kept crashing No hot water in shower Waited 30 minutes to get table for breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great wine

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Wine tasting was excellent. The Chenin Blanc was outstanding a five star award winner. Breakfast was truly outstanding and the staff very friendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mothupi from Pretoria Gardens, South Africa

Relax and enjoy nature

Posted Apr 23, 2013
Pros: The friendly staff
Cons: There is a golf course which I could not use because I do not ply golf!
Location: Located about 35km from Cape Town International Airport and about 4km from The University of Stellenbosch in The Zalze Golf Estate.
I wanted an hotel which is in the countryside, and I got one. The staff at reception and in the restaurant were all friendly and helpful. They answered all the questions we posed about the environment, places of interest, the meals and the drinks. I enjoyed the winetasting available to hotel guests.
3 out of 5
by Russ from Johannesburg

Smokers' cough

Posted Feb 26, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Room reeked of stale smoke
Location: On a wine farm - a beautiful location in a stunning part of South Africa
My wife and I spent a night at the hotel recently, and although the location is lovely nestled between a vineyard and a golf course, with beautiful mountain views, our room was very dark with only one small window located under the terrace of the room above, and it reeked of stale cigarette smoke. We asked to be moved to another room but were told that the hotel was fully booked. We literally slept with our door open to try move air around so we could get some sleep. Very disappointing, although the common areas of the hotel seemed clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Amersfoort

Goed hotel bij golfbaan met prachtig uitzicht

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Pros: Mooie ligging, veilig, goed zwembad Mooi in het groen ( wijnvelden).
Location: Veel golfbanen, wijndomeinen, heel goed restaurant " le Terroir"
Tweede keer geboekt. Personeel wat minder attent. Ideale ligging voor bezoekjes Stellenbosch, Kaapstad. Zeer geschikt voor golfers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mooie locatie

Posted Jan 11, 2016
Cons: Jammer dat de WIFI niet op de kamer werkte
Prachtige plek, fijn zwembad, gratis wijnproeverij.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Erwartung nicht ganz erfüllt

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Vielleicht hatten wir Pech, es war das letzte freie Zimmer: klein in unmittelbarer Nähe zu Sauna/Gym Raum. Dieser stand auch für ausgecheckte Gäste als Umkleideraum zur Verfügung: am ersten abend bis 23.30 Gepolter und Lärmen, an Schlaf war nicht zu denken. Rezeption teils sehr freundlich (weibl) teils unterkühlt,reverviert (männl.) Frühstück: OK, aber wir hatten durchwegs bessere. Kaffee Refill etwas unwillig. Das Beste ist die Lage am Golfplatz und das Schwimmbad
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stockholm

Service o bekvämligheter inte 4 stjärniga

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Mkt bra service från resturangpersonalen men resturangen i sig håller inte "middagsmåttet" (dock läcker frukost). OBS - Terroir var fullbokad (o vill man då inte ta bilen ...). Låg servicenivå i övrigt (bl a service vid poolen) & ringa faciliteter.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stefano from Bolzano

Spettacolo in Campagna.

Posted Nov 28, 2013
Bella sorpresa, ottima posizione tra campagna e campo da Golf. Merrita inoltre cenarci e ottimi vini.