Ratings based on 260 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unloved building

Posted Jun 26, 2016
I thought hotel looked lovely but we were in apts.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The hotel DID feel like it was busy closing down

Posted Mar 31, 2016 on Hotels
Our stay did not start off good at all. The photos were misleading to where the apartments are situated. No where was it mentioned that the apartments are across the road from the hotel itself. Due to the hotel closing down it was not in the tip top shape that was expected from guests not knowing that.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Hotels
It was horrible, we got there and they told us the hotel is closing in 3 days. We could not order room service, no bar service no restaurant. You could still use the pool but who wants to be at the pool and you cannot even order a drink? Our room was small with a broken sliding door, we complaint and they moved us to a bigger room, sea view. The view was beautiful. We went out the first day, got back at 2 pm and our room was not cleaned yet, we told them to leave it as we are going for a afternoon nap. Then house keeping woke us up knocking on the door at 3 pm. We were very disappointed, we did call hotels.com and they spoke to the manager, they moved us to a better room but needless to say, the hotel is closing down, so what does it help we complain? They do not care and they wont mind if you do not want to come back to their hotel as it is closing down anyway. Really not happy, we had to walk 3km to the closest shops just to get a cappuccino as we could not get it at our hotel. Breakfast was also bad, grab your own knife and fork and a table. Chipped cups, milk was sour. Cutlery dirty, kitchen looked dirty and you could see that it was already shutting down, They only had the basics for breakfast. We had the last 2 mornings Breakfast else where
4 out of 5
by Peter

Safe choice

Posted Mar 25, 2016 on Hotels
Second time in this hotel, so it must be ok. Good location, nice with balconies. Despite having the room facing the boulevard, the windows were well isolated, so we could get a good nights sleep.
1 out of 5
by Adam from Johannesburg

Shocking and embarressing

Posted Mar 24, 2016 on Hotels
This is part of email I sent to the hotel after our stay I write to you as a completely unsatisfied and somewhat irate client. - my worst hotel experience - the staff at reception were nothing short of surely - the dingy room we were given, which was only slightly bigger than a shoebox, I can confirm that both the toilet was broken and the shower door was broken - breakfast, what was available was nothing short of AN ABSOLUTE JOKE!! From uncleared tables to having to use paper cups for the orange juice to the disgusting yellow / brown corn that was in one of the chaffing dishes to the condiments just spread over the counter. Happy to share entire email with you
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Nice location, disappointing hotel

Posted Mar 22, 2016
Pros: The location and the potential.
Cons: It could be run as a top hotel until the end rather than sacrificing quality for a quick buck.
Location: Beaches are within walking distance, V&A Waterfront a short drive, Sea Point within walking distance. Free parking on roof deck of hotel.
Upon arrival, the front of house staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was disappointingly small, dark and extremely noisy and next door to the cleaners room so 7-7.30am, a huge amount of chatter going on. Plus, the door was not locked at night and would bang in the breeze throughout the night. On one occasion, my towels were all removed and none replaced. I requested a room with a sea view but no response. The next morning, a buffet breakfast and the hot breakfast was cold only a half hour into breakfast time. The dining area has wonderful views over the ocean but windows are all dirty. The pool was also dirty so didn't swim but used the sundeck however, the lounger cushions were left out in the rain overnight and were soaked. I might as well have been in a B&B as that's all that was available. Bar was closed, restaurant was closed and no frills at all. The location is great though for easy access to beaches and shopping. The hotel is staffed by an agency apparently and some staff did their best under the circumstances as the hotel is closing down. However, their manager/supervisor should take some blame for not instructing staff in how to deal with queries when suddenly closing down a facility like the bar.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

redelijke uitvalsbasis voor sight seeing

Posted Mar 13, 2016 on Hotels
Kamer matig, krap, uitzicht op trappenhuis en betonrot. Ontbijt prima. Zwembadomgeving: niet uitnodigend (shabby),wel prachtig uitzicht op zee.
3 out of 5
by Mike from Durban

Not impressed

Posted Mar 12, 2016 on Hotels
Service could be better, food was two stars
1 out of 5
by Zenomi

Posted Mar 11, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is closing down in 3 weeks , bookings should have informed us when reservations was made
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The worst stay in a hotel for many years

Posted Mar 6, 2016
No wifi in room not able to get phone signal air con compressors very very loud all night out side the window furniture falling apart I could go on but you get the idea dirty sun beds