Ratings based on 225 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location. Plenty of free car parking.

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Pros: Great location.
Cons: Wifi and sound insulation.
Very poor sound insulation in room, wifi never worked and wash basin in bathroom very small.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Good hotel, let down by bar and catering

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Front desk staff very helpful & professional. Rooms ok, bar area looks good but only had one beer on draft and that did not work for the 4 days that I was there. That left a choice of 1 bottled beer. Cocktails limited to choice of 6 and bar closed at 20:00. Not suitable for thirsty travelers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic views and location

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Pros: Location. Views of the ocean from the balcony. Best view on the rocks over the ocean from the restaurant. Lovely crisp linen; fantastic housekeeping
Cons: The card keys for the rooms kept having to be re-made.
Location: On foot to spectacular walks by the ocean. Great coffee shop and breakfast spot below the apartments. Hotel restaurant on the rocks!
Location, Location, Location. The best in Cape Town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2015 on Hotels
Absolutely great view of the ocean. Lovely and friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from castelletto sopra ticiko

Hotel molto carino, proprio sul mare

Posted Aug 8, 2015
L'albergo è carino e si sviluppa dal livello strada giù verso il mare. Il personale è gentile, anche se il cambio di gestione ha portato via l'acqua gratuita in camera ma almeno ha lasciato l'ottimo Lindor ;-)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NH, USA

On (top of) the Water

Posted Aug 7, 2015
Pros: The staff, the location, and the views are great. The valet parking was also convenient.
Cons: My room was relatively small, but as a single traveler it was no big deal. Room 603 would be cramped with two people.
Location: The location is in between the beaches of Clifton and the Sea Point beaches. The hotel has easy access (5-10 minute walk) to restaurants and stores.
The views from the Ambassador are breathtaking. The hotel is built into the cliffs above Bantry Bay. Spray from the waves coated the windows of my room. The staff were fantastic and went out of their ways to be friendly and helpful. The one bummer was that the hotel no longer has a restaurant. Breakfast was served directly across the street at Bootlegger's Coffee shop. The food was fine and it wasn't much of an inconvenience to walk across the street every morning. The rooms have refrigerators so I went to a local super market (there are two within easy walking distance) and filled the fridge with essentials. I learned towards the end of my stay that the hotel has been sold to a Dubai developer. The plans are to tear down the hotel and build 8 luxury apartments on the cliffs. This is the reason the restaurant has closed. The dining room has been turned into a sales office.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Joy from Surrey

Love Cape Town

Posted Jun 24, 2015 on Hotels
Amazing Hotel with the best views ever.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Amy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 17, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Deon from Bryanston

Below average hotel.

Posted Jun 2, 2015 on Hotels
Rooms are small. Bar fridge was empty, the hotel needs a lot of maintenance. Nothing good to say about this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

nice hotel in a very nice area

Posted May 25, 2015
Pros: very nice location of cape town
Cons: beds are a bit old
Location: it is located in Bantry Bay, 10 mins away from V & A waterfront which makes it in a very nice location
I have stayed in this hotel for 5 nights, the hotel staff are super friendly, and rooms are clean, but a bit small all in al it was nice experience.