Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Fe

Excellant and Charming choice

Posted May 16, 2016
Location: Location is in a charming residential neighborhood but close to bars and restaurants. Cab service is reasonable and easily called.
Excellant and charming establishment. Feel of a B & B with hotel amenities. Staff is welcoming. Owners are present and very accessable. Breakfasts are terrific. Rooms are spacious and light. Bathrooms are very well appointed. We couldn't be happier with the choice.
5 out of 5
by Kristina

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2016
Hi Kristina, Thank you for your rating. Best regards,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Critical customer loved An African Villa

Posted Feb 23, 2016 on Hotels
There is a reason why this villa is rated #1 on Trip Advisor. The customer service was amazing. They really went above and beyond. I also liked the safety briefing when I arrived. These people care about customer service and your trip to Cape Town. They will print things for you, arrange taxis, arrange tours, discuss tourist options, do laundry for you, they have a honor system bar, and the breakfast was much better than it needed it to be. I highly recommend. I'm usually fairly critical but had no complaints (well maybe about the local interns at the villa, but they're still learning).
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2016
Hi, Thank you for the positive comments. The "well maybe" about the interns is something that has been brought to our attention by another review as well. We support the local University of Technology with their intern programme for students, to gain practical experience from Sept to March of each year. We have had issues with the latest students who did not have the same commitment to delivering a high standard of service that we are committed to give our guests. We have discussed the issue internally are reassessing our position with regards to future interns. All the best
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great spot for a get away!

Posted Dec 13, 2015 on Hotels
Really nice hotel with fantastic service by the inn owners! Nice location in a quieter part of town and very conveniently located near lots of tourist sites and local neighborhood places.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2016
Hi, Thank you for the positive review and rating. Kind regards,
5 out of 5
by Elsa from Lisbon

One of our best stays ever

Posted Dec 8, 2015 on Hotels
We had a fantastic stay at the hotel. The staff is super friendly and welcoming and you get a lot of great tips when you arrive. The service is just fantastic. The rooms are great, super comfy and with everything you need. Breakfast is delicious and cooked to order. We were supposed to stay 3 nights and ended up staying 5. Would have stayed longer if we could. Highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast Qld Australia

Wonderful Stay

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Pros: The staff, locality, rooms and comfort
Cons: Nothing I can think of.
Location: Perfect walking distance to many cafes restaurants and only 5 mins to the city and waterfront by car.
We were recommended by friends familiar with Cape Town and were not disappointed. The locality and the owners/staff were wonderful in welcoming us and with local information. The breakfasts in the private courtyard were fantastic and we would recommend it highly.
5 out of 5
by Derrick

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 6, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Inger

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 8, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Kimberly from Massachusetts, USA

Pleasant Stay!

Posted Sep 2, 2015 on Hotels
We started our trip to Cape Town staying at An African Villa. The property is beautiful, the service was great, and the breakfasts were excellent! The location of the property was in a quiet and safe neighborhood.
5 out of 5
by Evelyn from Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

A home away from home

Posted Aug 23, 2015 on Hotels
I stayed at An African Villa for three days and it has been the best guesthouse I have stayed in by far in all my travels. The decor is really impressive as the owners have taken great pride to use African artefacts in the house. the guesthouse is located on a quiet street and yet close to great eating places and also the hop on hop off bus stop. The room was spacious and comfortable and had tea and coffee making facilities which was great. However, what impressed me most were the people who ran the place. Cindy who did the morning rounds would take the trouble to inform the guests about the weather and checked with the guests their plans for the day so that our activities would not be marred by bad weather. She, Louis and Keith were also extremely helpful in providing recommendations of places to visit or things to do. In fact they helped me book a tour on very short notice and it was extremely pleasant. Breakfast is great in terms of the quality and variety provided. The kitchen also bakes a cake everyday and guests are encouraged to help themselves. The free port and sherry in the evening were also a great way to unwind at the end of the day. I would highly recommend this place to anyone wishing to spend a few days in Cape Town.