Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 29, 2017
The hotel is extremely unique. It was not cheap foR me, but I really enjoyed the value I received for the money I paid. The staff upgraded my room when they know that I'm in my honeymoon
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted Jan 22, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was magical. Wonderful location with views of the mountains and local vineyards. Our room was spacious and luxurious with a beautiful bathroom and outdoor shower. The breakfast was superb. The eco pool was great and we enjoyed the hot tub.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 29, 2016
The lodge is a bit far from the town center and very quiet and beautiful environment. Guests can comfortably relax. We loved the place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from michigan

Fabulous for Honeymoon or Quiet Getaway

Posted Nov 20, 2016
This boutique hotel in the wine country has all the essentials for a relaxing adult getaway. First class food served on the terrace by the pool, beautiful grounds, and great service. We stayed in the river cottage, which is totally private and, except for the neighboring peacock, very quiet. One of the nicest hotels we have ever experienced. They do weddings, so I recommend checking for this to avoid a wedding crowd.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel and staff were both amazing. I wish we could have stayed here multiple days. The breakfast was great and the location is very relaxing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York UK

A blissful eacape

Posted Nov 2, 2016
This hotel had strong positive reviews and when we arrived, it was evident that the hotel is well off the beaten track. We had a two night stay and it was so relaxing that we could have stayed much longer. The setting is idyllic, about 2 miles off the main road with a mountain background. Quite simply there's nothing about this hotel that disappoints. Rooms are good, food is excellent and the staff are great. If we get back to SA, Angala will be in our schedule.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from England

Wow!

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Absolutely everything
Cons: Why did we only book for one night?
Location: Well located between Stellenbosch and Franschoek
Angala is simply breathtaking. A blend of stunning views, tranquility,understated luxury and good taste. The staff are superb and there are a number of lovely touches but wouldn't want to spoil the surprise. Although nothing was said, I assume our room was an upgrade effectively being a one bedroom villa with its own plunge pool, garden and stupendous views. Seems almost vulgar to talk about money but put simply, this was the best combination of quality and value we have ever experienced on out global travels. Just go.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing hotel - nothing special

Posted Oct 7, 2016 on Hotels
Disappointing - no character- no view - not worth the price - food was excellent
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Highly recommended boutique hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2016 on Hotels
Had a wonderful stay here for our honeymoon. Lovely little touches and we fell in love with the beauty and peacefulness of the hotel. We will definitely be back.