Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hampshire

Beautiful and relaxing

Posted Nov 26, 2016
We stayed for two nights at the end of our holiday. It was the perfect place to relax. Our room was comfortable and spacious. The grounds are beautiful, I loved the little deli shop with chocolates cakes and gifts. The Sansibar was great with 230 gins to choose from. The Mise en place restaurant was an experience with superb service. We went on a wine tour and tasting. The tour was free the tasting was very reasonable and apparently complimentary for those guests who booked direct with the hotel. We would stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Fourth visit

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: Views and room amenieties. Good to see still do turn down with fudge, water and weather forecast.
Cons: This was our fourth stay and a few changes had been made. Shame no longer served a glass of wine on arrival or bottles of water in reception and put in your car when leaving. Small things but used to make it more welcoming. Also since the old reception is now accomodation the only way to the pool is down a steep grass slope. Slippery when wet first thing in morning and also covered in a lot of birds muck so don't go wearing the complimentary slippers!
Location: Quiet location with amazing views. Need a car if you want to go elsewhere as out of town
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Delightful!

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Awesome views, friendly staff, luxurious rooms, amazing water pressure in showers, delicious wines....all made for a memorable stay! My only suggestion is that the Birthday cake we ordered would have been appreciated more served in the restaurant after dinner than in the room. All in all, a great stay!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Best in Stellenbosch

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: Everything was well planned and done well. From choice of restaurants and wine selection to pool lounging or staying in and watching TV.
Cons: Nothing that I can think of.
Location: Perfect location, beautiful scenery and has all the amenities you could want. No need to leave the grounds.
This estate is beautiful beyond words. The staff is great. The wine is delightful and the food is fantastic. All in all with having had high expectations of this choice, we were more than satisfied. The only negative is that our stay was to short.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Asara

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Nice hotel I would recommend to friends, restaurant has good food and generous portions, staff friendly no complaints
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from R

Breathtaking

Posted Aug 12, 2016
We stayed only one night and enjoyed every minute. From the luxury rooms to the gin bar to the gourmet breakfast, not to mention the view. You will not be disappointed!
5 out of 5
by JULIANA

lua de mel

Posted Jul 4, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel perfeito, para lua de mel não poderia ter sido melhor, mimos na chegada , restaurante excelente.
5 out of 5
by Johan from PRETORIA

Relax, Spoil , Beautiful

Posted Jun 6, 2016 on Hotels
The location of this Hotel is perfect. Out of town and very quiet. Staff is very friendly, the rooms were spacious, the bathroom spacious, wonderful with large tub and shower and heated towel rail. Under floor heating.
5 out of 5
by Richard L from Carmel, IN, USA

Nice option in Stellenbosch

Posted Jun 4, 2016 on Hotels
We had a delightful stay at Asara. The Vine Hopper picked us up from the hotel, which was also very convenient.
2 out of 5
by Bishanji from Johannesburg

Bad Customer Service. Won't book again

Posted Apr 29, 2016 on Hotels
The place is lovely but it's not graded by the tourism council very well. I have stayed in much more luxurious Accomodation previously. Their in room amenities comes with a price. Pretty embarrassing if you have clients that you have taken there. I will not utilize this venue for business clientele again. But will utilize much more superior and more accommodating venues in the area.