Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Superb views very efficient hotel

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Pros: Views, space, elegant room decor, big bathrooms, comfort, staff.
Cons: As noted, the menus in the restaurants could be just a little wider.
Location: Vredenheim, very nearby, has equally good views, two excellent restaurants, a big cat exhibit, but not, I believe, a hotel.
Called at Asara by chance to taste wine last year and was taken with the hotel. Views from the mountain facing rooms are probably unmatched by any hotel in the Stellenbosch area. Room sizes and aspects vary a little but all, as far as I could tell, have at least a decent sized patio balcony. The hotel is extremely comfortable and very well run. I especially liked the way my room was serviced during breakfast without fail every day. Perhaps the only area for improvement is the very slightly limited menu in the restaurants, although everything they offer is brilliant. The crickets and frogs are so loud at night that I first thought they were a piped sound effect! Not a problem however for sleeping as far as I was concerned. I finished my first stay at Asara thinking, firstly, "I wish I had a few more days", secondly, "I must try to come back every 2-3 years", and thirdly, "hmm, actually I'd really like to come back NEXT year". The estate's own wines are good value and good to very good quality, but there are plenty of more exalted (and much more costly) bottles from other estates if you fancy a treat at dinner. There are some great hotels in this area, but Asara is probably the one to beat, as far as I have discovered.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 3, 2015
Free upgraded room. Great. Breakfast was delicious.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Beautiful views - Mediocre customer service

Posted Nov 26, 2015
To start, I'm not super picky and I've never felt compelled to write a less-than-great review but I feel like this might help future travellers as I wouldn't neccisairly discourage someone from coming here but want to forewarn. When checking out (in my opinion) there was a discrepancy in my bill. There was a miscommunication that I explained very clearly to the woman at the front desk who talked to me rather condescendingly and made me feel like I was asking to much. To put this into perspective, the extra charge was $13 CAN so not a big deal especially in comparison to how much you spend to stay there. She proceeded to say she would need to call the manager and have him potentially remove the charge. I said "great please call him". She picked up the phone and spoke to her supervisor in Afrikaans so I had no idea what she was saying (I'm clearly Canadian) and that was the cherry on top. As soon as another desk clerk came around I payed the bill and left I'm 25yrs old, I love staying at nice places when business trips allow it and I'm more-so used to people being extra accommodating than being snarky. Really truly disapointed in how my stay ended. However! We had an absolute blast with the bell-men who took our luggage for us! They were so funny and welcoming, the only reason I can't fully shut asara down is for the scenic views and the bell-men haha. We also ate dinner at their restaurant on site, so nice! Food was pretty good, expensive but great atmosphere!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Korb

Exklusives Hotel in ruhiger Lage.

Posted Nov 17, 2015
Pros: Der sehr angenehme, unaufdringliche Service
Die Hotelanlage ist ausgesprochen schön, die Gästezimmer verteilen sich in kleineren Einheiten in einer Gartenlandschaft. Das Zimmer war angenehm geräumig und gut eingerichtet, sogar ein offener Kamin (der vom persönlichen Butler auf Wunsch befeuert wird) ist vorhanden. Die Terrasse des Zimmers gibt einen tollen Blick auf die Gartenanlage. Absolutes Blickerlebnis ist die Restaurantterrasse. Das Frühstücksbuffet lässt keine Wünsch offen - einfach perfekt. Im Restaurant wird qualitative Spitzenklasse geboten - allerdings waren an einem Abend einige Gerichte nicht verfügbar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by George from Denver, Colorado USA

fantastic hotel

Posted Oct 24, 2015 on Hotels
Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. One of the best hotels we have stayed in during recent trips. Food in the restaurant was well prepared and presented.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 18, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stuttgart

Schöne Zimmer in einem herrlich gelegenen Weingut

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Pros: Zimmer und Tasting-Room. Die Lage und das Weingut sind sehr schön.
Cons: Einiges, wie oben beschrieben.
Location: In Stellenbosch. Tolle weitere Weingüter besichtigen.
Bei unserer Anreise würden wir freundlich empfangen. Das war es dann aber auch schon. Nachdem die Kreditkarte belastet wurde und eine Stornierung nicht mehr möglich war, wurde uns mitgeteilt, dass das Restaurant "Richards" aufgrund Renovierungsarbeiten geschlossen hat. Eine Reservierung im Restaurant hatten wir einige Monate im Voraus buchen müssen, um einen Tisch zu erhalten. Leider hatten wir keine Information über diese Renovierungsarbeiten erhalten, was uns deshalb sehr geärgert hat. Das Abendessen mussten wir deshalb notgedrungen anstatt in einem gehobeneren Restaurant im "Sansibar" (Bistroniveau) verbringen. Kurioserweise stand in einem Brief des Hotelmanagers, welcher beim Check-In ausgehändigt wurde, dass das "Sansibar" wegen Renovierung geschlossen sei. In einem weiteren aktuellen Brief auf dem Zimmer stand, dass man eine Reservierung des "Richards" an der Rezeption machen kann. Vielleicht sollte sich der Hotelmanager mal darüber Gedanken machen, seine Gäste rechtzeitig und vor allem mit richtigen Informationen zu versorgen. Das Servicepersonal war gut, nur die Damen an der Rezeption haben Verbesserungspotential.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by FRANCISCO

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 21, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rogerio from Porto Alegre

Ótimo hotel numa linda região

Posted Sep 7, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel confortável, numa região bonita! Mas se tivesse que optar ficaria no Spier! Como hotel o Asara é melhor, mas o entorno do Spier é muito mais bonito!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robert from Stamford, CT, USA

Underappreciated Jewel

Posted Aug 27, 2015 on Hotels
Asara is an amazing place! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, the cuisine was outstanding, the wines delicious, the views incredible, and the experience "once in a lifetime" special! We look forward to returning the next time we're in Stellenbosch.