Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Walking distance from V&A waterfront

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Wonderful, charming little place for a short stay! Friendly staff and great location.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location and Wonderful Owner

Posted Sep 17, 2016 on Hotels
This is my second stay at the Avatara, and I came back because the owner, Cher, is so great and the location in Green Point is perfect for access to restaurants, runs on the Sea Point Promenade, and proximity to the Waterfront. Cher gives great recommendations about the area (everything from transportation to masseuses), and is flexible and friendly. The rooms are clean and comfortable - the only downside is that you can hear everything going on in the small, non-sound-proofed guest house. It's kind of a crapshoot in that way - my first several nights were quiet and I slept great, then my last night a family with a baby checked in and I could hear every squeal and cry from upstairs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Pros: Position and Landlady
Location: Very well situated near shops, bars & restaurants, close to green point park, stadium and the sea. Just 10 -12 minute walk to the V & A waterfront
Conveniently situated Guest House run by friendly, informative and helpfull owner - Cher. Was made to feel very welcome and a relaxed environment. Good breakfast each morning. Ground floor room was ok, but a little dark but with a very comfortable bed - an upgrade might be worthwhile.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very nice and close to shops and restaurants!

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Pros: Simple, clean and convenient!
Cons: Allow for a fixed international news channel eg CNN, other than local. There's a dedicated channel for DSTV but hard to agree with everyone
Location: Waterfront (20min walk), great restaurants and bars/lounges nearby but not next to hotel thus quiet area!
Excellent. Timely response from manager. Excellent staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Botswana

Cosy hotel

Posted Dec 4, 2015
Pros: Everything.
Cons: New spare bed, because I booked a family room.
Location: Very nicely positioned
We were met with incredibly friendly staff ,even though we arrived very early we were offered tea and breakfast while waitng for our room The only thing I can complain about is the spare bed they put into our room, my daughter coudnt sleep as it was extremlely uncomfortable. Breakfast was great. Room was very clean and tastfully decorated.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 19, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by garoma daba from Addis Abaab

I paid but didnot stay in Avatara Guest House

Posted Aug 25, 2015 on Hotels
Unfortunately i left Avatara Guest House without staying a single night - after paying for 7 nights full accommodation cost. I have never stayed in Guest houses, and felt very uncomfortable. In spite of my repeated request, the owner refused to refund me, at least half of the payment, as per the condition i agreed with Hotels.com. Though i missed my money, i satisfied my feelings by not staying as guest to someone whom i never knew at all.
2 out of 5
by Fariba from Sweden

Ripped off

Posted Feb 11, 2015 on Hotels
First of all this was not a hotel but a guest house and the picture of the marina is taken from The Marina, it's a 15 min walk to actually get there plus they don't have a pool .. So to pay that much was not worth it at all! And the walls were paper thin so u cud hear everyone in the house! The room was clean and their made was really nice however the owner pretty rude and only out to get her money and nothing else! Never staying here again !' Unfortunately the hotel we were at didn't have a room for us the last night that's y we ended up here n thank good it was only for one night. Nightmare
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Avatara November 2014

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Pros: The staff are excellent and very helpful. Cher the owner is very nice. The Avatara is an old house with a charm however, we would not rate 4 star.
Cons: Breakfast was basic cereal fruit meats no full cooked breakfast on offer just eggs served how required, an option would be a full English.
Location: The location is perfect for visiting the city, waterfront, table mountain, and other attractions.
The guest house was in easy walking distance to the waterfront because of location taxis were reasonable and we found it was a safe area to walk around.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worked for me

Posted Nov 15, 2014 on Hotels
Certainly pleasant and adequate and very spacious deck. But no view and a bit off beaten track. Also breakfast was not great.