Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 22, 2017
We loved our experience at Banksia, so charming & beautiful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new orleans

Great food tired facilities

Posted Mar 14, 2017
The room was comfortable except for the poor condition of the bathroom. Needs some basic maintainance to bring it back to a four star rating. Pool was disappointing and dirty. Hot tub not functional. The breakfast was excellent. Location very convenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent B&B

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Stayed a night due to its closeness to the University of Cape Town. Location is also very nice for vacation. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great hotel slightly off the beaten track

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: Quiet location, large rooms, luxurious furnishings
Cons: Shower drainage was a little slow
Location: Slightly off the beaten track but convenient for UCT and the Southern suburbs
The Banksia is located away from the main tourist areas, but is very convenient for visits to UCT or to Kirstenbosch gardens, and the waterfront and other City attractions are not that far away. The hotel rooms are large and well appointed, with high ceilings. Breakfasts are very good with fresh baked goods and ample choice. The staff are very helpful.
4 out of 5
by Geoffrey

Posted Dec 22, 2016 on Hotels
Very good friendly service. Great breakfast. Very quiet and restful environment and surroundings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas TX USA

Excellent B&B right next to CapeTown

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: Location and Value for money
Location: All things in Capetown which are a short drive away
This B&B is a wonderful place to stay. It is along the lines of the Vineyard hotel with beautiful surroundings. The staff is very helpful and the rooms are large
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 4, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Luxurious and Relaxing

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: A beautiful B&B. Words cannot describe. While this is not extravagant 5 star luxury, it gave my wife and I a feeling of being our extravagant luxury home away from home for a price perhaps 2 or more times less. The hotel appearance is charming both inside and out. The staff are very welcoming, friendly with warm smiles and willing to help. Suite 4 has a great view of Table mountain with a balcony, one of the best rooms but the others are either equally as good or not far off (most won't have the mountain view). The breakfast is superb, with the table setting looking like it's for a small wedding. The choice of cold (continental) was ample enough without needing a hot breakfast but one can also order a hot meal from the good menu selection to top up after the cold items. The breakfast compares to the best we have had anywhere around the world. We also had a nice hour in the spa bath and looking forward to our remaining 4 days here (spent 4 days here already) where we can laze around, bump into a staff member or fellow guests for a chat and enjoy the peaceful ambiance of this gem of a place.
Cons: Pool was not maintained and very cold and parking inside the gate can occasionally get too full
Location: Nice quiet location just out of the city centre. Near to shops for eating out and to the Rondebosch Common where people walk or run around
5 out of 5
by Martin from Dar es Salaam

Get away to Cape Town

Posted Mar 23, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice small hotel, great staff and location great view of Table Mountain from some o the rooms, could do with getting swimming pool cleaned we where unable to use it which was a bit disappointing since it is fully enclosed and looks good in the photos
5 out of 5
by Assaf from Kadima, Israel

Rewarding relaxation at Banksia

Posted Mar 9, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed for 2 nights and it's absolutely a genuine gem. Beautifully designed facility and rooms, friendly staff, excellent breakfast with a lot of variety. The neighborhood is a residential one, very quiet throughout the entire day and night. Value for money doesn't get any better than this place.