Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Location: beach, restaurants, Lion's Head, waterfront
With all the choices that Cape Town has to offer, I will not be staying here again. Between the lack of hospitality from the owner, terrible internet, very limited TV, and no real amenities, I would not recommend this guest house. The location is great and the house has been restored to a high quality, but there are much better places to choose from in this magical city.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2016 by Rita Turner, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write your review ,although not as positive as from our usually satisfied guests .If I offended you by showing my annoyance after waiting for your arrival for more than 2 hours I apologize. I am sorry that you could not make use of our wi fi even after we had our technician come to Barry Hall, as we had no problem in any of our other apartments..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Nice clean place, difficult check-in

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: Good location, quiet facility, lovely old architecture, clean and hot shower.
Cons: Need a better system for checking in.
Found the facility nice and location fine but the owner abrasive and not very helpful. Also, no one there to help with check-in so the codes and keybox all has to be sorted via phone call -- not very reassuring for checking into a place for the first time. Difficult process and not something I'd like to repeat -- though once we settled into the apartment it was a nice facility. A little cold in winter (heat does not work very well), but overall satisfactory.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2016 by Rita Turner, Hotel Management
When driving to Cape Town from another City it is almost impossible to give exact arrival time, we therefor make flexible arrangements with the guest's prior consent. It is unfortunate that this guest found it too difficult.
5 out of 5
by CT from Johannesburg

Awesome!!

Posted Dec 10, 2015 on Hotels
Great. Thank you
4 out of 5
by Arthur from UK

Feel like home!

Posted Oct 29, 2015 on Hotels
It was quite a pleasant stay. We stayed there for 6 nights and really fell in love with the apartment. We had room 1 which was a 3 bedroom on the ground floor. The garden was full of fragrant blooms both in front and back of the house (we stayed there in October). The layout of the apartment and furnishing were good. Kitchen were well equipped and spacious. There were 3 bathroom in total, 1 in the master bedroom, 1 shower only and 1 bath/toilet. However one bathroom door in the common area was difficult to close so it made loud noise every time someone closed/opened that room(esp when someone else was sleeping). Sometimes we heard loud foot steps above our head too. But all in all it is very good experience, good location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

4 days in Sea Point

Posted Mar 19, 2015
The Barry Hall Apartments are in a good location next to Main rd in Sea Point where you can find shops, restaurants and a public swimming pool in walking distance. The rooms were spacious. One problem is the area for car parking. It's hardly enough space to park 4 cars (and if so, the car first in cant get out anymore).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Princeton, NJ USA

A great find and sad to leave

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: Everything I said above - and also the decor is adorable. I also looked at a couple of the larger apartments and they were great too.
Cons: There isn't air conditioning in the cottage which was ok except that with the windows open at night we had problems with mosquitos.
Location: We did so much walking because we could walk/run on the promenade, walk to great coffee shops and just about everything.
We stayed in the cottage at the Barry Hall Apartments. The place is adorable and very well kept. The location is perfect as we could walk to the supermarket, shops, restaurants, and the promenade and pretty much anywhere. It is very centrally located but quiet and peaceful. The staff are terrific and friendly. We rented a car and parking was never a problem, we either parked inside the gate or on the street. I highly recommend this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

FAB APPARTMENT, CLOSE TO CAPE TOWN AND WATERFRONT

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Pros: EVERYTHING
Cons: some confusion about payment but quickly sorted
Location: beach, waterfront, shops, cape town, mountain
spent a weekend therein appartment 1, we had 3 very well presented bedrooms, a large lounge kitchen. A balcony with seating for a sunny breakfast , access to the rear garden for BBQ and 3 bathrooms. very clean and well decorated. We had a great stay. the pizza take away rounf the corner delivers fantastic pizza
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

FIVE STAR!

Posted Dec 6, 2012
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
Location: central, safe, pleasant
This is a 5-star location in my opinion. Loved the place. Comfortable, clean, helpful staff, great location, sfe and secure. Proprietor is a great lady, will do business any day.
4 out of 5
by Jeppe from kerteminde

super apartment

Posted Mar 2, 2015 on Hotels
very pleasant stay, fantastic area, super service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Österreich

Sehr nettes Appartment mit Atmosphäre

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: Die Einrichtung. Schöne afrikanische Gegenstände.
Cons: Der Safe hat nicht funktioniert.
Location: Der Signal Hill/ Lion´s Head und der Tafelberg sowie Camps Bay und Clifton Beach sind mit dem Mietauto schnell erreichbar.
Wir haben uns sehr wohl gefühlt. Die Vermieterin haben wir nur kurz bei der Anreise getroffen.