Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Terrific Camps Bay stay in Cape Town!

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: I think the best part was that it is just 2 blocks form a selection of restaurants and cafes along the waterfront in which one is better than the next
Location: This place turned out to be the perfect staging place to plan and visit everywhere in and around Cape Town.
I had 8 days to spend in Cape Town and chose Beachside in Camps Bay as my stay. That choice turned out to be the best choice of my trip! An incredible place to stay in an incredible town. Wonderful people working at Beachside, so very helpful and willing to answer all of my questions. My room was named The Atlantic, and as a corner room had breathtaking view of of the Atlantic up the center of Camps Bay beach and of the 12 Apostles mountains. The room was clean and well kept and very comfortable. Sitting on my large balcony having morning coffee looking out over Camps Bay will be missed very much! Thank you to Gift and the rest of the staff at Beachside for making my stay a memory of a lifetime.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 28, 2016
Great location and excellent staff DIY catering has all the things you need Great outdoor pool and terrace Shared balcony area needs more seclusion
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Good location

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Location
Thought was a little expensive in relation to hotels previously stayed in during this trip along the garden route, but guess you paying to be near the city of Cape Town. Was clean and spacious, with a balcony - however the people staying in the room next door were unaware they were sitting on our part of the balcony i.e. outside our balcony door. Large shared kitchen and lounge (which were lovely) came as a surprise to me - I obviously did not read the room description adequately! And for that reason would not stay again - but other people could well be really happy with that kind of set up, but not for me. Overall good place to stay in Camps Bay and close to the bus stop for the red tour bus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by O from Pretoria, SA

Great location; Superb View

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: Location, view
Cons: Beginning to show age. Needs to be updated in order to justify top of the market pricing.
We stayed in the Beachside Penthouse Suite. The view was superb and the three bedrooms suited our family well. It's proximity to restaurants and the beach was also a huge plus. Beachside staff was helpful and available whenever we needed them. The property is starting to show some age and needs to be updated before it gets too far out of condition.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by J from Alaska

Posted Nov 22, 2013
Pros: 5 minute walk to Camps Bay restaurants/beach. Very large rooms, had A/C and staff was quite friendly. Awesome kitchen/common area.
Cons: A bit difficult to find (no fault of hotel). Our Garmin GPS did not take us there the first time. No real complaints.
Location: Eat at Hussar Grill (~$60 USD for an awesome dinner). Sample some of the restuarants along the beach. Drive to Simon's Town/see penguins. Visit V&A.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but hotel disorganised

Posted Nov 16, 2013
Great location and very helpful initially. I was a little disappointed they forgot to book my taxi on arrival to Cape Town although at least they were honest about this fact. Upon arriving late they could have at least had the room prepared for me to stay in (I arrived at 20:00)
2 out of 5
by Alex from Africa

Old apartments situated above a shopping a mall.

Posted Nov 8, 2013
Pros: The shopping mall downstairs was convenient. The old lady at the reception was very sweet.
Cons: I think the apartments need to be refurbished and brought into this century.
Location: Could not establish if there was anything worth doing nearby. It's nowhere near the beach, I did not spot any nice restaurants nearby...
I like charming old, but this was just old old. 70s or maybe 80s style deco. I don't think these apartments have been refurbished since then. I checked in, tried to take a shower, went downstairs to get an internet voucher from reception and immediately searched for another hotel in Cape Town and left within an hour of checking in. There is no point in being miserable in a place as beautiful as Cape Town to save a few bob.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic (better than our) home away from home

Posted Sep 21, 2013
Pros: The high quality and modern decor, the feeling of staying in a home and not a hotel, and the fact the air con unit in the room also acted as a heater!
Cons: Nothing. When a place is five stars there is very little room for improvement.
Location: The location is great - it takes a few minutes to walk to the beach and there are a number of good quality restaurants nearby. Cape Town is close too!
After a long and tiring road trip from Pretoria down to Cape Town, we arrived in Camps Bay just as the sun was setting. We were shown around the entire guesthouse, which is actually more like a celebrity house you'd see on 'Cribs'. Everything was clearly explained to us and the communal kitchen, lounge and dinning rooms were all spotless, spacious and stunning. We were then shown to our room, which overlooked the ocean and mountains - fantastic! The fact that we were planning to eat out every night and be out during the day doing the usual Cape Town tourist activities, meant that this self catering guesthouse was perfect for our needs. Unfortunately we only stayed for four nights and so we didn't make full use of the kitchen - but you could easily fill up the fridge and cook a big breakfast every morning if you wanted. When we save up to visit Cape Town again, we will certainly try to get a room at Beachside again! I only wish the weather was warmer so we could have enjoyed the pool!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, Honest staff

Posted Jun 4, 2013
Great location close to beach with ample parking. Nice views from the 2 rooms we used. The large kitchen is part of the shared common area with dining tables and a sitting lounge. Great for self catering and groups and families. Good security and honest staff. We left a bag behind and called back in a panic that night only to find that staff had locked it up for us, safe and sound. The owner and manager live elsewhere in town but came to meet us when we came back after hours.
3 out of 5
by vida from West Midlands, UK

great location,facilities just okay

Posted Mar 27, 2013
Pros: location
Cons: pool location
Location: excellent
the villa is in a great location for camps bay however it needs investment to upgrade the outside. the rooms are clean and staff very good. however the bedrooms are easily overlooked by others on common balconies.