Ratings based on 127 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Carol from chicago

Posted Jul 24, 2016 on Hotels
Staying at this hotel is a throwback to another age of elegance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Absolutely fabulous from start to finish! Beautiful, beautiful hotel and wonderful staff.
5 out of 5
by Jin from Washington

Superb service and beautiful Enlish garden setting

Posted May 22, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is situated in a 118 year historical English garden setting, both beautiful view and excellent services.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Looks like an old style grand hotel

Posted Apr 11, 2016
But really friendly hotel. Two polls one child friendly and one adults only means that you can really relax. Lovely gardens. Short walk from museums and shops.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 29, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 17, 2015
Great stay. Relaxing resort with historical feel, central to main attractions
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel.

Posted Dec 7, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel. Excellent service. Traded well.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful stay in the Nellie

Posted Nov 12, 2015 on Hotels
Our favourite hotel in the whole wide world! The most beautiful room, most comfy bed, amazing breakfast and small little touches that makes your stay that little bit more special. Loved it
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

SECOND VISIT, ANOTHER WONDERFUL STAY

Posted Nov 5, 2015
Pros: The ambience, the friendly staff, the wonderful history and it sits just below the magnificent Table Mountain.
Cons: The level of room service could definitely be improved.
Location: Company Garden. Jewish Holocaust Museum Kloof Street shops & restaurants Turkish Bath & Swimming Pool Open top bus stop opposite
Our second visit to this fabulous historical Hotel and we weren't disappointed. The Hotel is in a lovely location beneath Table Mountain and opposite the peaceful Company Garden which offers a quiet alternative to busy Long Street. Kloof Street is located at the rear entrance to the Hotel and here there are very good restaurants and shops. Kloof Street House has a great atmosphere and fab food. The open top bus stop is outside the main entrance although users need to be aware that a Yellow Route has been introduced this year which goes past the Hotel. Not so good for anyone staying at the Mount Nelson as the last bus leaves the Waterfront at 5.20, not at all convenient. That said, the Red, Blue and Yellow Route buses offer a great way to see the whole of the City. The 2 day ticket is very good value and includes free guided walks and other discounted tours. The reason that I have marked down the room comfort is because the bathroom was cold. The fan was permanently on and when I asked how to turn it off I was told it was either on or off and if we wanted it off an engineer would make an adjustment so this is what we did. The reason that I have marked down the Hotel Staff is that although they are delightful the service can be slow, particularly room service when it was necessary to make two or three requests before whatever we asked for actually appeared. Both points not good for this Hotel but it is Africa! Definitely stay here !!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2015
A wonderful hotel, historic, interesting and luxurious