Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 17, 2015
Great stay. Relaxing resort with historical feel, central to main attractions
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Beautiful stay in the Nellie

Posted Nov 12, 2015 on Hotels
Our favourite hotel in the whole wide world! The most beautiful room, most comfy bed, amazing breakfast and small little touches that makes your stay that little bit more special. Loved it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

einfach nur Traumhaft

Posted Nov 9, 2015
Alles einfach unbeschreiblich perfekt von A bis Z! Top Service, beste Lage, nur toll!!! Empfehlenswert Chefs Table in der Küche! Super Frühstück! Tolle Bar
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

SECOND VISIT, ANOTHER WONDERFUL STAY

Posted Nov 5, 2015
Pros: The ambience, the friendly staff, the wonderful history and it sits just below the magnificent Table Mountain.
Cons: The level of room service could definitely be improved.
Location: Company Garden. Jewish Holocaust Museum Kloof Street shops & restaurants Turkish Bath & Swimming Pool Open top bus stop opposite
Our second visit to this fabulous historical Hotel and we weren't disappointed. The Hotel is in a lovely location beneath Table Mountain and opposite the peaceful Company Garden which offers a quiet alternative to busy Long Street. Kloof Street is located at the rear entrance to the Hotel and here there are very good restaurants and shops. Kloof Street House has a great atmosphere and fab food. The open top bus stop is outside the main entrance although users need to be aware that a Yellow Route has been introduced this year which goes past the Hotel. Not so good for anyone staying at the Mount Nelson as the last bus leaves the Waterfront at 5.20, not at all convenient. That said, the Red, Blue and Yellow Route buses offer a great way to see the whole of the City. The 2 day ticket is very good value and includes free guided walks and other discounted tours. The reason that I have marked down the room comfort is because the bathroom was cold. The fan was permanently on and when I asked how to turn it off I was told it was either on or off and if we wanted it off an engineer would make an adjustment so this is what we did. The reason that I have marked down the Hotel Staff is that although they are delightful the service can be slow, particularly room service when it was necessary to make two or three requests before whatever we asked for actually appeared. Both points not good for this Hotel but it is Africa! Definitely stay here !!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2015
A wonderful hotel, historic, interesting and luxurious
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good old wold experience

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Pros: Old wold charm
Cons: This hotel needs updating Everything is dated
Location: Location poor as everything is happening at the Waterfront
Got the wrong room to start Got worse No room service for 2 days
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Highly Recommend if you are Visiting Cape Town.

Posted Jun 3, 2015 on Hotels
Great hotel, elegant and charming, rooms lovely and extremely comfortable, excellent location, great breakfast. We hated to leave!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Darren from Johannesburg

Wonderful stay

Posted May 20, 2015 on Hotels
Wonderful night in a great hotel. The rooms and service from start to finish was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pros: All staff were extremely pleasant and helpful, as ever
Cons: Could there be a few rooms adapted for those with limited mobility issues, but not fully disabled - eg grab rail next to a toilet?
We returned to our favourite hotel for a 7 night stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lina

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 17, 2015 on Hotels