Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good highly recommended

Posted Sep 12, 2016
We loved our stay at Black Heath Lodge. Very calm, serene, clean and homely. Very friendly staff..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids Mi

Great place

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Great place rises I had more time toenjoys the calm relaxed feel of the place
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

A wonderful, comfortable place to stay

Posted May 20, 2016
Pros: It's clean, safe, comfortable, and inviting.
Cons: My only complaint was that our shower leaked water in the corner, such that our floor would get wet. But that's easily fixed.
Location: Walking distance to the ocean and loads of great restaurants.
After a week spent on safari camping, my friend and I arrived at Blackheath and were promptly offered plush seats in the lounge, a complimentary drink, and a host of options as to which room we would like. Every morning, breakfast was freshly prepared with a variety of options. A tour of the cape and dinner reservations at The Pot Luck Club were all arranged beforehand so we had little to arrange upon arrival. Even laundry services were provided to scrub us free of the grime from constant travel and camping. An iPad is offered to every room. A South African mobile is made available as well. The owners have a pet cat and dog (the lovely Coco) who roam the grounds and make the place even more adorable. This place is beyond comfortable, inviting, and relaxing. It more than lived up to its positive, glowing reviews. I highly recommend Blackheath Lodge for anyone traveling to Cape Town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Helpful staff

Posted May 6, 2016
We were warmly welcomed upon our arrival. It is a charming little hotel with a great breakfast. We had asked to hotel to help with some tour arrangements nd they provided a comfortable van and a driver who took the time to understand our tour goals. We had a delightful day as a result. The cost of the private tour was comparable to the group tours offered by the standard operators. We would certainly stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The service was above and beyond exceptional.

Posted Mar 21, 2016
Pros: Everthing
Location: Nice, long walk to V & A/downtown.
Good location, great food and exceptional guest service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Will always come back. Best ever. **********************
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

A great find in Seapoint

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Pros: Spacious bright clean rooms, sufficient common areas, incredible attentive staff from the owners down.
Cons: Hard to think - maybe it's a bit pricey.
Location: If you don't know Cape Town and surrounds, Anthony will quickly sort out a programme for you.
This is an extraordinary place - B&B seems too prosaic to describe it. From the greeting on arrival, to final departure, the guys made you feel like you were the most important guest, and could not do enough to help with arrangements, bookings etc. I am not much given to superlatives, but this is a top place, one of the best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Greet in every way.

Posted Dec 18, 2015
Location: The hotel is short cab ride or decent walk to the waterfront.
The hotel was even better than advertised. Great staff, room, service and facilities. We only stayed for a night but wished we had spent more time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Posted Dec 8, 2015
We had a wonderful stay at the Blackheath Lodge and would highly recommend it to others. The staff is outstanding! We can't say enough good things - one of our favorite places we've stayed!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bristol, UK.

What a find!

Posted Dec 4, 2015
Found the hotel on Trip Advisor. We normally stay at full service (soul less) chain hotels but Blackheath Lodge sounded so good we decided to risk B&B. Glad we did. And thought it was B&B one night they did serve a local speciality dinner that was excellent. On the other nights the lodge advised about decent local restaurants and made bookings for us. The staff made you feel like family. Charle was particularly helpful. Only mistake we made was to simply book a room. And the standard ground floor room we got was OK (it didn't have an alarm clock but the dog next door made a good job of that around 7.30am every morning). We discovered later there are three grades of rooms and at least one of the others we were shown by guests we knew was "wow". We even hired the lodge's almost new VW convertible. Lovely car. Visiting the Cape was terrific. And so was Blackheath Lodge.