Ratings based on 214 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids Mi

Great place

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Great place rises I had more time toenjoys the calm relaxed feel of the place
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

A wonderful, comfortable place to stay

Posted May 20, 2016
Pros: It's clean, safe, comfortable, and inviting.
Cons: My only complaint was that our shower leaked water in the corner, such that our floor would get wet. But that's easily fixed.
Location: Walking distance to the ocean and loads of great restaurants.
After a week spent on safari camping, my friend and I arrived at Blackheath and were promptly offered plush seats in the lounge, a complimentary drink, and a host of options as to which room we would like. Every morning, breakfast was freshly prepared with a variety of options. A tour of the cape and dinner reservations at The Pot Luck Club were all arranged beforehand so we had little to arrange upon arrival. Even laundry services were provided to scrub us free of the grime from constant travel and camping. An iPad is offered to every room. A South African mobile is made available as well. The owners have a pet cat and dog (the lovely Coco) who roam the grounds and make the place even more adorable. This place is beyond comfortable, inviting, and relaxing. It more than lived up to its positive, glowing reviews. I highly recommend Blackheath Lodge for anyone traveling to Cape Town.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Helpful staff

Posted May 6, 2016
We were warmly welcomed upon our arrival. It is a charming little hotel with a great breakfast. We had asked to hotel to help with some tour arrangements nd they provided a comfortable van and a driver who took the time to understand our tour goals. We had a delightful day as a result. The cost of the private tour was comparable to the group tours offered by the standard operators. We would certainly stay there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Posted Apr 25, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: everything, staff, location, food, pool
Cons: wake up calls were missed... but they were great apologising and sorting it out.
Location: walk to waterfront area about 45 mins, along beach front lovely walk. great bar the duchess nearby on main street
Great hotel staff were so friendly and so helpful about anything you need to do in Cape town, be it climb the mountain, get a taxi, chose a bar, chose a restaurant. Felt safe there good location, not far from main street and the beach front to walk to waterfront was easy too. breakfasts were awesome, so much choice and food. great bar too. great pool
4 out of 5
by Verena

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The service was above and beyond exceptional.

Posted Mar 21, 2016
Pros: Everthing
Location: Nice, long walk to V & A/downtown.
Good location, great food and exceptional guest service.
5 out of 5
by Danielle from London

Amazing & very homely

Posted Mar 21, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing hotel, fantastic service, very warm & friendly. Lovely pool. Great attention to detail in the decor makes you feel like you're at home! Best sun loungers ever.
5 out of 5
by GERRARD from Paris

Posted Mar 16, 2016 on Hotels
Tres sympa
4 out of 5
by Ashley from Bloomington, IN

Stay here, stay here, stay here!

Posted Mar 3, 2016 on Hotels
It is a little quirky (think butter in the shape of Storm Trooper faces at breakfast), but those things are what made it so memorable! This is not a 5-Star, run of the mill, large hotel - which was exactly what we were looking for. Everything about this place was absolutely wonderful and perfect for us. Very accomodating, welcoming and they also provided useful perks like a cell phone to take on day trips, an iPad in the room for surfing, DVDs, free WiFi, great wine and bar options, excellent food, french press coffee in the morning, beach bags, coolers, room service etc etc. The service was by far some of the best that I have ever experienced while traveling globally. This was one of the most amazing places that I have ever stayed, we didn't want to leave on our final day - nor during the days that we were guests! When we return to South Africa someday, we will stay here again. Hands down.
5 out of 5
by Birger Raaballe

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 21, 2016 on Hotels