Ratings based on 259 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful old Victorian house in great location

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Wonderful staff, lovely, comfy room. Brilliant location. Nothing was too much trouble. We'll be back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, USA

Best stay ever anywhere, in all my travels.

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: The staff, the room, the breakfast, the bedding, the paintings and other art was breathtaking. The care to detail was unparalleled. I loved everything
Cons: I can't think of a single thing.
Location: The location is central to many activities, You can walk to the beach, cycle and get to many places easily. There are many restuarants nearby.
The welcome as you enter, makes you feel at home immediately. Every single member of the staff is a wonderful asset to the business. Within hours of our arrival, I booked another stay for the following month. The food at breakfast was fresh, delicious and varied. Nothing was too much effort for the staff. They went out of their way to make it one's best stay ever, anywhere, and they succeeded. I have lived in four countries, and travelled many more, and I did not want to leave. I felt safe, iit was quiet, and I wanted to make it my home. Every possible need was anticipated and taken care of. My husband, who usually hikes and surfs, did not want to leave our room. He was so relaxed and content. We are already planning next year's stay and want to spend our 20th wedding anniversary there in 2019.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2017
We were recommended by friends. We agreed with them - a very special B&B. Helpful staff to advise on where to go and where to eat. Endless tea, coffee and juice - and cake! Excellent breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely hotel! I really relaxed, slept exceptionall

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: I had room number 7. Really spacious, very comfortable bed and pillows. I really loved it!
Simply fantastic! The team is friendly, the rrom is VERY confortable and specious, the bathroom is spacious and has a bid shower. I loved it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet, close to promenade.

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Lovely back courtyard w pool, nice staff, easy distance to centre of town and sea beach towns. Secure. Rooms off front hall noisy early in the am (the clientele all seem to retire early and rise very early). Small but cosy.
5 out of 5
by Diana

Fantastic Guest House in Sea Point

Posted Mar 1, 2017 on Hotels
We loved everything about Blackhealth Lodge from the moment we arrived until the moment we left. They pay attention to the small details: beverage upon arrival, detailed info on things to do and places to eat, use of a local cell phone with lodge and taxi service pre-programmed, tea/coffe/snacks always available, and fantastic local tours. Will definitely stay there again!
5 out of 5
by Alyce

Amazing

Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Hotels
This place is amazing. Breakfast is to die for, staff is very friendly and attentive, $5 taxi ride to anywhere. I would stay here again in a heart beat!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 1, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

wonderful hospitality and South African generosity

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: The team!
Cons: It is perfect
Location: Perfectly located to all restaurants, shopping, attractions and there is a car park for those who need it.
The hotel is beautifully appointed, with wonderful decor and charming interiors, but this pales in comparison to the excellent service levels, personalised experience and relaxing atmosphere. The owners are ever visible and wonderful hosts, and this filters down into the family-like professional team that caters to your every need. There is so much to see in Cape Town but at the Blackheath Lodge all you want to do is relax by the pool and enjoy this gem of a hotel. I want to go back!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing!