Ratings based on 252 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, USA

Best stay ever anywhere, in all my travels.

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: The staff, the room, the breakfast, the bedding, the paintings and other art was breathtaking. The care to detail was unparalleled. I loved everything
Cons: I can't think of a single thing.
Location: The location is central to many activities, You can walk to the beach, cycle and get to many places easily. There are many restuarants nearby.
The welcome as you enter, makes you feel at home immediately. Every single member of the staff is a wonderful asset to the business. Within hours of our arrival, I booked another stay for the following month. The food at breakfast was fresh, delicious and varied. Nothing was too much effort for the staff. They went out of their way to make it one's best stay ever, anywhere, and they succeeded. I have lived in four countries, and travelled many more, and I did not want to leave. I felt safe, iit was quiet, and I wanted to make it my home. Every possible need was anticipated and taken care of. My husband, who usually hikes and surfs, did not want to leave our room. He was so relaxed and content. We are already planning next year's stay and want to spend our 20th wedding anniversary there in 2019.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2017
We were recommended by friends. We agreed with them - a very special B&B. Helpful staff to advise on where to go and where to eat. Endless tea, coffee and juice - and cake! Excellent breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely hotel! I really relaxed, slept exceptionall

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: I had room number 7. Really spacious, very comfortable bed and pillows. I really loved it!
Simply fantastic! The team is friendly, the rrom is VERY confortable and specious, the bathroom is spacious and has a bid shower. I loved it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet, close to promenade.

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Lovely back courtyard w pool, nice staff, easy distance to centre of town and sea beach towns. Secure. Rooms off front hall noisy early in the am (the clientele all seem to retire early and rise very early). Small but cosy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 1, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

wonderful hospitality and South African generosity

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: The team!
Cons: It is perfect
Location: Perfectly located to all restaurants, shopping, attractions and there is a car park for those who need it.
The hotel is beautifully appointed, with wonderful decor and charming interiors, but this pales in comparison to the excellent service levels, personalised experience and relaxing atmosphere. The owners are ever visible and wonderful hosts, and this filters down into the family-like professional team that caters to your every need. There is so much to see in Cape Town but at the Blackheath Lodge all you want to do is relax by the pool and enjoy this gem of a hotel. I want to go back!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

A beautiful hotel

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Pros: The staff
Cons: Nothing
Location: The Lodge is located close to the sea and good restaurants. It is a short taxi ride away from the Victoria and Alfred Waterfront Centre.
My wife and I stayed at the Blackheath Lodge for six days in the middle of November 2016. We could not have chosen a better place to stay in Cape Town. The staff are exceptionally friendly and go out of their way to make all aspects of your stay enjoyable. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the garden and pool area quite delightful. I am afraid we ate too much as the cooked breakfasts were irresistible. We were able to have dinner at the Lodge on some evenings. We particularly enjoyed the home cooked bobotie, a traditional South African dish. We have no hesitation in recommending the Blackheath Lodge to others and intend to stay there again next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Very comfortable hotel, very friendly staff, great welcome on arrival.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

An oasis in the city!

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Well located near to the seafront. Easy 30 minute walk to the V &A waterfront. Cheap taxis to other places
A wonderful stay and very sad to leave. Facilities , location etc all lovely but the staff set Blackheath apart. They can't do enough for you and made our stay very memorable. Thanks all and look forward to our next trip!