Ratings based on 242 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

wonderful hospitality and South African generosity

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: The team!
Cons: It is perfect
Location: Perfectly located to all restaurants, shopping, attractions and there is a car park for those who need it.
The hotel is beautifully appointed, with wonderful decor and charming interiors, but this pales in comparison to the excellent service levels, personalised experience and relaxing atmosphere. The owners are ever visible and wonderful hosts, and this filters down into the family-like professional team that caters to your every need. There is so much to see in Cape Town but at the Blackheath Lodge all you want to do is relax by the pool and enjoy this gem of a hotel. I want to go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

A beautiful hotel

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Pros: The staff
Cons: Nothing
Location: The Lodge is located close to the sea and good restaurants. It is a short taxi ride away from the Victoria and Alfred Waterfront Centre.
My wife and I stayed at the Blackheath Lodge for six days in the middle of November 2016. We could not have chosen a better place to stay in Cape Town. The staff are exceptionally friendly and go out of their way to make all aspects of your stay enjoyable. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the garden and pool area quite delightful. I am afraid we ate too much as the cooked breakfasts were irresistible. We were able to have dinner at the Lodge on some evenings. We particularly enjoyed the home cooked bobotie, a traditional South African dish. We have no hesitation in recommending the Blackheath Lodge to others and intend to stay there again next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Very comfortable hotel, very friendly staff, great welcome on arrival.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

An oasis in the city!

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Well located near to the seafront. Easy 30 minute walk to the V &A waterfront. Cheap taxis to other places
A wonderful stay and very sad to leave. Facilities , location etc all lovely but the staff set Blackheath apart. They can't do enough for you and made our stay very memorable. Thanks all and look forward to our next trip!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best staff in South Africa.

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Location: Short walk to a great restraunt the Duchess
The staff cannot do enough to help you. The rooms a comfortable and the complex is excellent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Nearly Perfect

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: We visited Table Rock and took a tour to Cape Good Hope. The RED BUS system is excellent and goes to the most visited areas.
The first impression was the staff. they were very helpful, courteous, and knowledgeable of the area and the things to do.The breakfast was delicious with many choices. The staff cooked a hot breakfast to order for each client. They arranged many of our tourist things according to our wishes. the room was very nice, well kept, and quiet. We could have stayed much longer for sure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Absolutely amazing

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: The hospitality, never made you feel out of place and very homely especially coco.
Location: Great walk into the main town, along the coast. Drive up signal hill for the sunset but miss traffic, park further down and walk the rest.
The staff really made our stay, couldn't do enough for us. Guest house was pristine and gorgeous! Great location and would definitely recommend.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An elegant Victorian boutique home from home

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
My stay at Blackheath Lodge was very enjoyable. The welcome was excellent, Joshua and Charle made me feel at home, and Godfrey took me and my bags to my room which was cool, calm and tranquil, with a lovely courtyard for my two doggies that Anthony, the owner, allowed me to bring, exceptionally, as usually pets are not allowed. They met Coco, the house Jack Russell and as my two are also similar, they seemed to get on fine. Supper was good, and Godfrey prepared and served well, and breakfast super good. All in all a great stay and one to repeat. Thanks to everyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Eclectic hotel close to city and foreshore

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Fabulous staff and excellent attention to detail. Amazing food cooked daily. Favourite hotel I've ever stayed in
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely peaceful stay

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: The bed!
Location: Set in a quiet backstreet about a 45 minute brisk walk from the V&A Watefront.
I must admit I hadn't realised the Blackheath is more of a guesthouse or B&B establishment than a hotel. In my view a hotel offers dinning facilities rather than just a place to sleep. The Blackheath is in a quiet backstreet (up a fairly challenging hill for those who enjoy walking). Not much to look at from the street but lovely inside. All the staff I met were very friendly and helpful. Loved the quirky decor and pleasant, unexpected extras like baskets of beach towels. Highlight was the huge, comfortable bed with luxurious bedding.