Ratings based on 238 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

A beautiful hotel

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Pros: The staff
Cons: Nothing
Location: The Lodge is located close to the sea and good restaurants. It is a short taxi ride away from the Victoria and Alfred Waterfront Centre.
My wife and I stayed at the Blackheath Lodge for six days in the middle of November 2016. We could not have chosen a better place to stay in Cape Town. The staff are exceptionally friendly and go out of their way to make all aspects of your stay enjoyable. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the garden and pool area quite delightful. I am afraid we ate too much as the cooked breakfasts were irresistible. We were able to have dinner at the Lodge on some evenings. We particularly enjoyed the home cooked bobotie, a traditional South African dish. We have no hesitation in recommending the Blackheath Lodge to others and intend to stay there again next year.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Very comfortable hotel, very friendly staff, great welcome on arrival.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bremen

Kleine Oase inmitten von Kapstadt

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Location: Das Hotel liegt sehr ruhig. Es liegt im Stadtteil Three Aanker, die Waterfront kann man zu Fuß gut über die Strandpromenade erreichen (ca. 45 min.).
Das Hotel besteht aus 4 ehemaligen Wohnhäusern, die nun über einen gemeinsamen Innenhof mit kleinem Pool verfügen. Die Zimmer sind gut ausgestattet und sauber. Das Personal ist sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit. Karten z.B. für den Tafelberg wurde uns direkt über das Internet gekauft und ausgedruckt. Für die Zeit es Aufenthalts wird ein Handy mit den wichtigsten Rufnummern zur Verfügung gestellt. Parkplätze standen direkt vor dem Hotel zur Verfügung.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

An oasis in the city!

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Well located near to the seafront. Easy 30 minute walk to the V &A waterfront. Cheap taxis to other places
A wonderful stay and very sad to leave. Facilities , location etc all lovely but the staff set Blackheath apart. They can't do enough for you and made our stay very memorable. Thanks all and look forward to our next trip!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best staff in South Africa.

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Location: Short walk to a great restraunt the Duchess
The staff cannot do enough to help you. The rooms a comfortable and the complex is excellent
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Belgium

Geweldig hotel om Kaapstad te verkennen.

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Location: Blackheath Lodge ligt op enkele minuten wandelen van de Sea point promenade. Waterfront ligt op slecht 5 minuten met de taxi, al kan wandelen kan ook.
Blackheath Lodge is een super gezellig hotel in een rustige stadsbuurt maar toch dicht bij het strand. Het team is zeer attent en behulpzaam en staat altijd klaar om je met raad en daad bij te staan. 's ochtends is er een uitgebreid ontbijtbuffet met o.a. vers fruit, croissantjes, ontbijtgranen,.. en kan je ook eieren of pannenkoeken bestellen. Als je moe maar voldaan terugkeert kan je genieten van een lekker kopje koffie of thee met een koekje of een stukje cake. Op aanvraag wordt zelfs een diner geserveerd, een 3 gangen menu met lokale gerechten voor een heel redelijke prijs. Heerlijk. Maar ook als je buitenshuis wil eten geven ze goed advies. Een aanrader in de buurt is Duchess of Wisbeach. Er is ook een klein zwembad in binnentuin met zonnestoelen; leuk om even na te praten na een drukke dag, het water hebben we niet uitgetest omdat het nog te koel was in oktober. Er is parking voor de deur en een bewaker die een oogje in het zeil houdt.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Nearly Perfect

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: We visited Table Rock and took a tour to Cape Good Hope. The RED BUS system is excellent and goes to the most visited areas.
The first impression was the staff. they were very helpful, courteous, and knowledgeable of the area and the things to do.The breakfast was delicious with many choices. The staff cooked a hot breakfast to order for each client. They arranged many of our tourist things according to our wishes. the room was very nice, well kept, and quiet. We could have stayed much longer for sure.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Absolutely amazing

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: The hospitality, never made you feel out of place and very homely especially coco.
Location: Great walk into the main town, along the coast. Drive up signal hill for the sunset but miss traffic, park further down and walk the rest.
The staff really made our stay, couldn't do enough for us. Guest house was pristine and gorgeous! Great location and would definitely recommend.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sydney

Eclectic hotel close to city and foreshore

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Fabulous staff and excellent attention to detail. Amazing food cooked daily. Favourite hotel I've ever stayed in
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely peaceful stay

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: The bed!
Location: Set in a quiet backstreet about a 45 minute brisk walk from the V&A Watefront.
I must admit I hadn't realised the Blackheath is more of a guesthouse or B&B establishment than a hotel. In my view a hotel offers dinning facilities rather than just a place to sleep. The Blackheath is in a quiet backstreet (up a fairly challenging hill for those who enjoy walking). Not much to look at from the street but lovely inside. All the staff I met were very friendly and helpful. Loved the quirky decor and pleasant, unexpected extras like baskets of beach towels. Highlight was the huge, comfortable bed with luxurious bedding.